i hav no choice as my relatives stay dere.Originally posted by Vigelic:In light of the recent news regarding the rapes etc.
It seems that even after the police have arrested 14 people, rapes continue.
(Refer to chit chat for the articles or NST online)
singapore registered cars entering JB over the weekend has already dropped but many are still risking it by entering JB.
Guys will be whacked and girls will be raped.
For your own safety, pls avoid JB for the time being as even the malaysians themselves can't control the situation.
The police are apparently not much of a deterrance.
Anyone here still going into JB in the near future?
Then you may give an impression that you are BeggarChiefOriginally posted by tomsss:wear very worn clothes, no watches or anything shiny and tethered slippers when you go there.![]()
There is this mistaken belief that by taking the above action, will save you from being robbed. To them, as long as you can afford to go to JB to shop or eat, you are fair game.Originally posted by iceFatboy:I don't think these buggers just target anyone.. they must have observe you for quite a while. in short, why waste effort?
for me, if I were to go, maybe, I will try to bend in by wearing non-branded, and maybe having just small changes in my wallet so anyone taking a quick look when I am paying will realize that I am not a worthwhile target lor.
didnt u read the articles?Originally posted by iceFatboy:I don't think these buggers just target anyone.. they must have observe you for quite a while. in short, why waste effort?
for me, if I were to go, maybe, I will try to bend in by wearing non-branded, and maybe having just small changes in my wallet so anyone taking a quick look when I am paying will realize that I am not a worthwhile target lor.
JB had became a rape town.Originally posted by Vigelic:In light of the recent news regarding the rapes etc.
It seems that even after the police have arrested 14 people, rapes continue.
(Refer to chit chat for the articles or NST online)
singapore registered cars entering JB over the weekend has already dropped but many are still risking it by entering JB.
Guys will be whacked and girls will be raped.
For your own safety, pls avoid JB for the time being as even the malaysians themselves can't control the situation.
The police are apparently not much of a deterrance.
Anyone here still going into JB in the near future?
Have you visited Taman Sutera Utama? It, and the new Horizon Hills, may be two of the best places to live in. I have not heard of any serious crime in the residential area of the former yet, while the latter is still under construction, but the recent track record of the developer indicates it can probably match the former.Originally posted by codename4:everytime i go johor, 100% of the time i receive news of crimes in my relative's house and neighbourhood.
There is no one taman ( town ) which are spared. even towns with guards and gated community are known to have thieves and house-breakers in the middle of the night.
The security guards there cannot be trusted. many work together with the robbers. The police are worse. They are working toether with the robbers.
Horizon hills is really good. Have been to the showoffice opposite Bestmart a few times.Originally posted by hannwei:Have you visited Taman Sutera Utama? It, and the new Horizon Hills, may be two of the best places to live in. I have not heard of any serious crime in the residential area of the former yet, while the latter is still under construction, but the recent track record of the developer indicates it can probably match the former.
Hmmmm...... I use that route (Gelang Patah to Bukit Indah) almost every night. Of course, I seldom traveled at 22:30. I still have problem figuring out where exactly she was robbed, since there isn't any dead-end along the way she took as reported in newspapers.Originally posted by codename4:Horizon hills is really good. Have been to the showoffice opposite Bestmart a few times.
However, dont forget H.hills is situated near Bukit Indah and many robberies take place on public road esp in the morning when many motorists are coming to Singapore to work using 2nd link.
The recent gang-rape cum robbery of the poor girl happened near Bukit Indah that side actually.. not that near.. probably 5-10km away and she was brought to a deserted shopping centre in Tampoi ( facing main road ) and raped repeatedly. Think singaporeans should have seen that deserted huge buliding along the main road.
I have been considering getting the cheapest cluster home over there, but the rather long distance from the second link highway, the congestion along Jalan Danga, the lack of parks and the short distance from a river that has the potential to cause floods are concerns.Originally posted by codename4:hi maybe u can tell me more about Horizon hills? When u talk about half a million Singapore dollars for a 22x70 house in Johor, its quite impossible leh.
[/quote]
You can check the Horizon Hills website at http://www.horizonhills.com.my/. 22x70 is the lot size of my current zoo-like house. If I have half a million Sing dollars, I might move to a 2.5 story unit without grilles at Horizon Hills............Expected to be similar to Taman Sutera Utama. You can see some of the past housing areas built by the developer at http://www.gamuda.com.my/gamuda03/competencies_township.htm. Bandar Botanic might have had some bad publicity (which can be found on the Internet) in the past, but the others looked good. The monthly security fee should be about 200 ringgit, similar to that of Taman Sutera Utama.
Is it 24-hour gated and guarded by Taman Sutera Utama? If the concept is the same, I think Horizon Hill could take off, being in a location near to 2nd link. Sutera is a bit further in although Sutera is quite near to both 2nd link and JB custom and supported by Temasek Holdings.Car.
When u talk about using gelang patah roads to bukit indah, do u use bikes or car?
[quote]
p/s: dont buy horizon hill. if got spare cash, buy a lot at sutera utama. by next year this time u will know why.
If you are from the second link highway, upon reaching the first traffic light, go straight. You will pass a Bukit Indah 2 security booth. Continue to go straight. You will see the big Horizon Hills sign. It should be about three minutes of drive from the highway. In the satellite image below, it is the empty space at the bottom. You can see several show houses in the image.Originally posted by codename4:can u advise me on the route to horizon hills? i just want to confirm even though i roughly know where it is.
we reach a trafffic light from bukit indah. Turn left is go highway and come to singapore.. turn right or turn straight is go where? I know nusa idaman is somewhere nearby too.