23 Nov, 04:40PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

weekend car or normal car?

Subscribe to weekend car or normal car? 18 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    76 posts since Aug '04
    • as per the above topic, is it more economical to buy a normal car vs a weekend car? does having a weekend car really saves a lot more money? the only thing holding me back from weekend car is that weekend car cannot be driven on normal days unless i pay that $20 coupon and hence quite inflexible. anyone can comment on the economical value of weekend car?

8,287 posts since Jul '06
    • personally, normal car is better.
      since u wan to get a car, why restrict urself to a certain timing only?
      just my 0.0000002 cents worth.. Mr. Green

164 posts since Apr '06
    • depends whether u need the car so often anot lor

if u drive to work or running about.. better to get a normal plate car

if u dun drive to work...
      its better to get a OPC?
      17k rebate and cheaper road tax

1,838 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by paperx:
      depends whether u need the car so often anot lor

if u drive to work or running about.. better to get a normal plate car

if u dun drive to work...
      its better to get a OPC?
      17k rebate and cheaper road tax

x2, normal car if u drive around, dun forget got ERP. tt's a real killer. parking, petrol.. think twice. u can convert opc to normal. but i dun think u can covert normal to opc. correct me if i'm wrong.

65 posts since Oct '05
    • Carsharing beats both weekend car & normal car Very Happy coz don't own the car but still own the drive Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

1,920 posts since Sep '02
    120 posts since May '07
    • I'm thinking it makes more sense for cheaper (~$50K) car,... for $70K+ cars might as well pay the additional since you're paying so much for the car anyway? Well, unless it's your 2nd car and you don't drive it much? Rolling Eyes

7,710 posts since Aug '06
    • The only good reason to get an OPC is when you are going to get a cheap car and you only really use it during off-peak times..like you go to work before 7am in the morning and go home only after 7pm in the night and you use it to ferry your family for a day out during weekends, THEN opc will make lots of sense.. Mr. Green

342 posts since Aug '05
    • TO Ts,

its called OPC off peak car, monday - friday 7pm to 7am can use only.
      correct me if i wrong.

got pro n cons.

btw can opc buy coupon then can use normal timming?
      i dont think so.

if u got family day = sure use opc one.

7,710 posts since Aug '06
    • Originally posted by rainhawk87:
      TO Ts,

its called OPC off peak car, monday - friday 7pm to 7am can use only.
      correct me if i wrong.

got pro n cons.

btw can opc buy coupon then can use normal timming?
      i dont think so.

if u got family day = sure use opc one.

OPC can only be used from monday to friday 7pm onwards to 7am..on saturday, 3pm onwards then can use..sunday is whole day and public holidays also whole day..

If want to use OPC on normal days also can..buy the S$20 coupon and put it at your windscreen there where TP can see then can use liao.. Very Happy

108 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by alleggerita:
      The only good reason to get an OPC is when you are going to get a cheap car and you only really use it during off-peak times..like you go to work before 7am in the morning and go home only after 7pm in the night and you use it to ferry your family for a day out during weekends, THEN opc will make lots of sense.. Mr. Green

Agreed.., this OPC is to whom it applies to. That $20 coupon, is just-in-case-shyte happens. Wife giving birth, father go dating for new/younger wife etc etc.. Laughing Laughing Laughing

342 posts since Aug '05
    193 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by rainhawk87:
      the 20 dollar is per day or per week or per month?

per day .? (:

7,804 posts since Jul '05
    • Depends on your working hours... if you work from early till evening or late night. take cab. it is cheaper.

Save parking, petrol, road tax, insurance and many more.

Unless you really need the car for your job or if you can afford to throw the money into the big sea, then get a normal car.

120 posts since May '07
    • Do your sums lor,... other than the $17K, u save on the insurance and road tax,... if u generally don't need to use your car during the weekdays, it may be worth it,... Confused

25 posts since Jun '07
    • Unless you work in town (8 to 5) cos driving there would cost a lot for parking (at least 300) and ERP ( another 300) OPC is ideal cos you leave at home and take public transport to work .

otherwise 17 K is not worth the hassle after you already paid so much

117 posts since Jan '03
    • depends alot on usage...

in my opinion...buying an OPC = might as well don't buy considering the restrictions...don't "gian png" and get an OPC.

be wise and set budget for maintaining and car fuel, ERP and parking usage...hope this helps for all car-owners-to-be Smile

yes, normal car can downgrade to OPC but no rebate...for the other way, you have to top up the $17k to make it a normal car.

441 posts since Jan '03
    • ok la opc…trains ur discipline haha….. get a car dat saves fuel n get opc…nt a bad thingy….road tax cheaper…... – 17k…dat’s all ….

Please Login or Signup to reply.