can u pls define what u meant by cheapo cars....Originally posted by spadeTwo:got lah. some cheapo cars red line is @ 6k rpm, very easy can reach...
Ya hor..didn't thought about big turbos and small turbos..my bad..So that's why now got twin turbos where there are different sizes ma..one smaller and one bigger..smaller one boost low revs, bigger one kicks in at high revs..like BMW's 3.0-litre I6 twin-turbo? Correct me if wrong..Originally posted by n0x:tt is if u r talking abt those huge turbos.. but the lag will be damn obvious cos it needs more exhaust pressure to spool.....
on the other hand... a small turbo has lesser lag but it is not effective at high end...
so in sg.. practical cars use small turbos to achieve a very flat torque curve... look at saab... one of the torqueist and an underated car in sg....
or do it the vw golf gt way... supercharger plus turbocharger....
Is the altis redline really 5600? I seem to have remembered that I've gone furthur than thatOriginally posted by n0x:can u pls define what u meant by cheapo cars....
u meaning to say the cheaper the car, the lower the redline???
then altis has a redline of 5600 rpm... so u saying altis is cheapo??? now... u will offend a lot of pple... owners and neutrals....
oops...i got it wrong... its 6k.... but i seldom venture anywhere near the region... no balls..Originally posted by nightsky87:Is the altis redline really 5600? I seem to have remembered that I've gone furthur than that![]()
where u get ur source... u sat in one b4??/Originally posted by alleggerita:Ya hor..didn't thought about big turbos and small turbos..my bad..So that's why now got twin turbos where there are different sizes ma..one smaller and one bigger..smaller one boost low revs, bigger one kicks in at high revs..like BMW's 3.0-litre I6 twin-turbo? Correct me if wrong..
Golf GT's TwinCharger works in the same principle..except that it has both a super- and turbocharger..
And Saab is underrated for a reason I guess..it's beautiful I grant..and their turbocharged engines are a gem..but their interior quality just can't match most continental cars leh even though Saab is considered a conti car..Edit: typo..
I find it interesting you would compare the RX-8 with the M3. The E46 M3 is already running on a 3.2litre straight 6 engine vs the rotary 1.3litre RX-8, not to mention the E90 M3 which has a 4 litre V8 engine version. And even more interesting how you claims the M3 would give better fuel consumption than the RX-8!Originally posted by AE86tofu:the RX8 is not that fast and consumes petrol with a fearsome thirst....in fact the BMW M3's FC is way better....but of course u save a HELL lot of $$ on road tax but still its being offset by the FC which i think in the long run makes u lose out instead of savings
i got a friend who has an RX8 and i did have the E46 M3 for some time so these claims are not baselessOriginally posted by Jagged:I find it interesting you would compare the RX-8 with the M3. The E46 M3 is already running on a 3.2litre straight 6 engine vs the rotary 1.3litre RX-8, not to mention the E90 M3 which has a 4 litre V8 engine version. And even more interesting how you claims the M3 would give better fuel consumption than the RX-8!
You must have owned these 2 cars before to know?
yea but the merc 5.5L V8 has 475BHP....thats still quite ALOT....170BHP from a 5L V8?? C'mon!!! thats not BELOW average already...thats appalling!!!Originally posted by n0x:u can have a big engine with below avg bhp but huge torque.....
look at merc amg engine...
he is asking abt acceleration not top speed...![]()
I know Saab's interior is very intuitive and ergonomical..but you never read my post properly..I say the quality of the plastics used in the interior of the car is quite bad..I'm not saying their interior not intuitive..Originally posted by n0x:where u get ur source... u sat in one b4??/
according to enthusiasts... saab's interior is the most driver orientated.... modeled after an airplane cockpit due to saab's aviation roots...
and a good use of turbo ensures that the torque curve is flat throught a large rpm range...
the BMW 3.0 twin turbo features 2 small turbos.. not 1 big 1 small..Originally posted by alleggerita:Ya hor..didn't thought about big turbos and small turbos..my bad..So that's why now got twin turbos where there are different sizes ma..one smaller and one bigger..smaller one boost low revs, bigger one kicks in at high revs..like BMW's 3.0-litre I6 twin-turbo? Correct me if wrong..
Golf GT's TwinCharger works in the same principle..except that it has both a super- and turbocharger..
And Saab is underrated for a reason I guess..it's beautiful I grant..and their turbocharged engines are a gem..but their interior quality just can't match most continental cars leh even though Saab is considered a conti car..
Edit: typo..
rolls royce cars generally have a red line of about 4k rpm leh... must be damn cheap...Originally posted by n0x:can u pls define what u meant by cheapo cars....
u meaning to say the cheaper the car, the lower the redline???
then altis has a redline of 5600 rpm... so u saying altis is cheapo??? now... u will offend a lot of pple... owners and neutrals....
My bad..Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:the BMW 3.0 twin turbo features 2 small turbos.. not 1 big 1 small..
hello, he's just trying to compare and contrast the FC of a large displacement cylinder engine with the FC of a small displacement rotary engine.Originally posted by Jagged:In this case perhaps there is basis for your claims. But surely a person who could afford a BMW M3 would normally not be looking at an RX-8 (i'm talking brand new cars here)? Afterall they both belong to different racing class, do they not?
grow up, you're supposed to be 10 years older than me.Originally posted by Jagged:You know you're right
thanks for taking my point across....and the RX8 and the E46 M3 are in the same class of "sports coupes" no offense I'd rather take the Rex over the RX8...more reliable,better FC and its faster....More spacious and practical too...Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:hello, he's just trying to compare and contrast the FC of a large displacement cylinder engine with the FC of a small displacement rotary engine.
Ya lor..RX-8 drinks petrol like nobody's business..Originally posted by AE86tofu:btw i think with the current petrol price hikes in the long run the BMW M3 is mroe economical than the RX8![]()