13 Oct, 04:41PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

2008 Corolla Altis

Subscribe to 2008 Corolla Altis 92 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    167 posts since Aug '07
    16,704 posts since Nov '03
    • It's more cohesive than the current model, except when it comes to those rear fog lights. Rolling Eyes

Edited by Kuali Baba 02 Dec `07, 4:19PM
    248 posts since Jan '04
    • quite nice leh.. i agree tt the rear end sux..lol.. looks too much like the current one..

Edited by KLZW 02 Dec `07, 4:15PM
    9,629 posts since May '04
    213 posts since Apr '07
    16,450 posts since Nov '06
    11,458 posts since Oct '05
    230 posts since Mar '05
    34,693 posts since Nov '04
    1,039 posts since Apr '05
    • BM taking orders now with 1K deposit.

Anybody seen the specs on the brochures? Can comment and share the data?

If just below 70K, Civic will be very attractive...

Edited by hmsg 22 Dec `07, 5:45PM
    4,278 posts since Jan '06
    • Originally posted by gd4u:
      Look heavy in design... will it reduce the FC ??

will need to check up the Kerb weight & GVW to be sure... if to complete against civic, then FC can reduce a bit for more room...

• source: http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/Motoring.html

A new version of Singapore's most popular car should shake up the moribund market very soon. The new Toyota Corolla Altis will be launched in early March and orders have been pouring in even though the price has not been confirmed yet - though sources say it will start from $67,000. Prospective buyers are no doubt encouraged by the promise of a $1,000 early-bird discount. The new model is the 10th generation Corolla and the second to bear the Altis suffix. Like the one before - the last of which was sold less than two weeks ago - it will be assembled in Thailand. Also as before, two engine sizes will be available - 1.6 and 1.8 litres - and both are only available with a four-speed automatic transmission.

The new model will look like a mini-Camry with so-called dynamic design. It incorporates the bigger model's 'sweeping cuts' to the front section, from the bonnet to the headlamps. The wheelbase is the same but the car is longer and wider, benefiting the interior space with more shoulder room. In the cabin, one striking difference is the flush centre console, with climate control aircon buttons instead of the erstwhile big knobs. The backlit Optitron meters for the instrument cluster now come standard on the 1.6-litre model, whereas once this was only available on the 1.8-litre version.

4,278 posts since Jan '06
    • Hmm, my dad ordered the new Altis, our delivery is slated at end April ... I guess my dad is still abit wary of PIs (he was comparing Airwave and Altis)

Anyway, here are some specs for reference ...

Transmission: 4 -speed Automatic

Overall Length: 4540 mm
      Overall Width: 1760 mm
      Overall Height: 1465 mm
      Ground Clearance: 150 mm
      Kerb Weight: 1195 - 1255 Kg (1.6) ,  1210 - 1270 Kg (1.8)
      Gross Veh Weight: 1630 Kg (1.6),  1645 Kg (1.8)

Fuel Tank Capacity: 55 Litres

Engine:  4 cylinders in-line, 16 valve DOHC with VVT-i
      Max Output  (kW/rpm):  80/6000  (1.6) ,    97/6000 (1.8)
      Max Torque  (Nm/rpm): 145/400  (1.6) ,    170/4200 (1.8)

Anyway, on test drive, the 1.6 model felt alittle underpowered ...

9,374 posts since Sep '05
    12,453 posts since Apr '03
    323 posts since Jan '08
    452 posts since Jan '04
    • Features:
      - Dual VVT-i 1.8L engine delivering 100kW
      - European Inspired Styling
      - 6 speed manual transmission or 4 speed auto with sporty gated shift
      - Intelligent AB-i braking
      - MP3 compatible 6 speaker audio with Audio Input
      - 6 disc CD changer
      - Smart Entry and Start System
      - Bluetooth™ handsfree compatibility^
      - HID & auto headlamps
      - Rain-sensing windscreen wipers
      - 16” alloy wheels
      - Dual front SRS airbags standard

check out the above features, seems gd.
      but not available for the SG market!!!
      time to jump ship over to honda liao for this kind of pricing
      seriously, wat BM is giving is really crap.
      even the HU is not factory fitted, is the aftermarket 2DIN HU.

48 posts since Feb '08
  • i spy with my night vision eyes.
    11,430 posts since Dec '04
    • Originally posted by baby hunter:

sound insulation = f**k !! sometimes i tot am driving a tank.

Shiok what!icon_lol.gif

2 posts since Mar '08
    • I checked this out before the test drive was available. The price quoted then in early Feb was 64K.The SE said that the engine used in 1.6 is the same as the current one. That put me off as the current one is a drinker. I did not like the backside either. So I booked a Civic for 7K more :).

452 posts since Jan '04
    • yup... exactly! it's the same old 7 yr old engine!!! they only changed the gear ratios to make it "feel powerful" but end of the day, at the expense of ur petrol cos u will be at higher rpm than the previous altis.

current altis i feel that it's not really a drinker leh, i've clocked quite gd mileage wif it. but this new altis is totally screwed, the features that i've posted in my previous post r not available in singapore. no wonder honda took over as the top selling company in Jan n Feb.

BM oso literally shot their foot when they announce they r going to sell the Wish in April. haha! that's 5 yrs after PIs started selling Wish in singapore. tokking abt laggards... LoL!

48 posts since Feb '08
    • @md - u booked e civic is 1.6?

my altis quite a drinker.. dunoe izzit e way i drive or wad..

pumped full tank and max i can go is 370km on small roads..

and 400 - 430km on high ways..

1,037 posts since Sep '03
    • its look not very cool, whereas i think for fuel consumption, i guess toyota is still the top few choices.... Normally people like my father age, old fasion kind.... 40+ 50+ yo... op for toyota then honda's car.... But for me, youngster mindset, i would op for Mazda 6 or a Honda accord...

452 posts since Jan '04
    • Originally posted by kuan89:

@md - u booked e civic is 1.6?

my altis quite a drinker.. dunoe izzit e way i drive or wad..

pumped full tank and max i can go is 370km on small roads..

and 400 - 430km on high ways..

wah bro... ur altis is heavily modded izzit?

my altis hor... 1/2 tank can clock abt 400 - 420km leh wif 40 city 60 highway.

if travel up north lagi best, use slightly less than 3/4 tank from sg to ipoh, clocking abt 680km, no need stop for refuel, travelling at 110km/hr to 130km/hr.

how come ur altis like that ah? 

Please Login or Signup to reply.