Originally posted by tetsumi:wah bro... ur altis is heavily modded izzit?
my altis hor... 1/2 tank can clock abt 400 - 420km leh wif 40 city 60 highway.
if travel up north lagi best, use slightly less than 3/4 tank from sg to ipoh, clocking abt 680km, no need stop for refuel, travelling at 110km/hr to 130km/hr.
how come ur altis like that ah?
errm.. when i jus bought it.. it still can go max till 480km..
i onli mod e exhauster and Auto trans cooler..
when goin north south my dad drive worst.. keep rumpin.. 1/2 tank 180km..
Originally posted by kuan89:
errm.. when i jus bought it.. it still can go max till 480km..i onli mod e exhauster and Auto trans cooler..
when goin north south my dad drive worst.. keep rumpin.. 1/2 tank 180km..
wah bro, ur altis is v6 engine izzit?
my altis if pump full tank, can clock 120 - 130km b4 it starts to drop to the top bar of the fuel meter.
wah bro, ur altis is v6 engine izzit?
my altis if pump full tank, can clock 120 - 130km b4 it starts to drop to the top bar of the fuel meter.
Bro Kuan89,
Most Altis owners I talked to complained about the unlike Toyota consumption they are getting on the Altis. I think the engine they use is not so efficient. Although driving patterns do have major impact on the consumption, the efficiency of the engines also matters. Toyota wins hands down on reliability and durability. But the Altis engine is a drinker for sure compared to the old Toyota Corolla although it was 1.5.
Originally posted by md:Bro Kuan89,
Most Altis owners I talked to complained about the unlike Toyota consumption they are getting on the Altis. I think the engine they use is not so efficient. Although driving patterns do have major impact on the consumption, the efficiency of the engines also matters. Toyota wins hands down on reliability and durability. But the Altis engine is a drinker for sure compared to the old Toyota Corolla although it was 1.5.
the corolla altis and the previous corolla uses the same type of engine?
So what kind of fuel consumption does the current Altis have?
bro.. my friend driving 2.0l camry improve his fc by another 7% and power increase also by installing a simple e-power system. anyone hear of e-power system? any one else try that?
Originally posted by md:Bro Kuan89,
hmmm.. last tym i drove e old corolla tt is AE 121 if u noe e model.. 01 model..
my FC is not bad.. can clock up to 500 - 520km.. but my recent altis cannot..
last sunday i went to malacca my FC not bad.. i tried not to rev too much..
and constant 150 - 170km/h.. half tank 400km.. tis is my best i ever drove..
Very ex for a tomyam car, that's 10k extra at least can pump 5 yr of petrol. Same engine with 1.2ton body confirm FC goes up. I duno wat's the selling point?
Axio 1.8 is DVVTI ? but how about this Altis?
Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:Very ex for a tomyam car, that's 10k extra at least can pump 5 yr of petrol. Same engine with 1.2ton body confirm FC goes up. I duno wat's the selling point?
Axio 1.8 is DVVTI ? but how about this Altis?
hmm... i oso dunno wat's the selling point of this altis?
perhaps the new body ba. the "proven n efficient" 7 yr old engine is definitely not a selling point! not all axio 1.8 r dual vvti. all altis sold in South East Asia will be using the same old single vvti engine. countries like china n australia will be enjoying the dual vvti.
hmm.. if i not wrong.. e current selling new model altis is Dual VVT.. ( 1.8 model )
cos i read e specs they wrote it.. but i not too sure for e 1.6
Originally posted by kuan89:hmm.. if i not wrong.. e current selling new model altis is Dual VVT.. ( 1.8 model )
cos i read e specs they wrote it.. but i not too sure for e 1.6
u mean overseas market?
like wat i've said, singapore is getting single vvti for both its 1.6 n 1.8 variants.
Newer cars seems to be heavier than the older ones.
the new corolla altis retails at S$67K, i can get a Renault megane sedan at S$60k, it is cheaper, safer (6 airbags, Euro Ncap 5 stars) and better equipped, it also has a better engine (110hp vs 109hp, 151Nm vs 145Nm), better transmission. Lastly, it is also BIGGER inside.
Originally posted by TIB1213D:the new corolla altis retails at S$67K, i can get a Renault megane sedan at S$60k, it is cheaper, safer (6 airbags, Euro Ncap 5 stars) and better equipped, it also has a better engine (110hp vs 109hp, 151Nm vs 145Nm), better transmission. Lastly, it is also BIGGER inside.
Renault Megane Sedan only $60K? You buy from where? I also interested. The last I checked was about $75K.
Originally posted by TIB1213D:the new corolla altis retails at S$67K, i can get a Renault megane sedan at S$60k, it is cheaper, safer (6 airbags, Euro Ncap 5 stars) and better equipped, it also has a better engine (110hp vs 109hp, 151Nm vs 145Nm), better transmission. Lastly, it is also BIGGER inside.
yes me also want to know where to get at 60k...
erm and 1 hp diff and 6 Nm diff means better engine???
and kindly explain why it is of better transmission...
Originally posted by onlooker123:Renault Megane Sedan only $60K? You buy from where? I also interested. The last I checked was about $75K.

From The Straits Times, 15 March 2008, classified C19
maybe engine wise it is just a little advantage, but transmission wise, the megane sedan has a 4 speed proactive transmission with manual selection, where else for the corolla altis it is only a 4 speed Super ECT without manual selection
Originally posted by TIB1213D:
From The Straits Times, 15 March 2008, classified C19
maybe engine wise it is just a little advantage, but transmission wise, the megane sedan has a 4 speed proactive transmission with manual selection, where else for the corolla altis it is only a 4 speed Super ECT without manual selection
what advantage has the engine got?? can u explain??? looking at juz figures and saying that the engine having higher bhp and torque is better is juz simply superficial....
and having manual selection means having a better transmission??
i seriously wonder if ur basis of comparison is just....
Nowadays cars without Porsche's Tiptronic are not worth it,since its rather handy in certain situation
Originally posted by ceecookie:Nowadays cars without Porsche's Tiptronic are not worth it,since its rather handy in certain situation
u mean all cars with manual override are using porsche's tiptronic???
and so those not using this system are not worth it.. cars like altis sunny vios lancer all are not worth it lah???
Originally posted by n0x:
u mean all cars with manual override are using porsche's tiptronic???and so those not using this system are not worth it.. cars like altis sunny vios lancer all are not worth it lah???
Manual override is actually Porsche's Tiptronic.Porsche licensed the technology to most car makers but they have to use their own names(except a few like Audi,who can use "Tiptronic")
Well,to each his own if a car w/o tiptronic is worth it.I feel it's not because most car(even middle level and some entry) nowadays are coming with Tiptronic.And its very useful in case u wanna control it like a manual.
Sunny,Lancer etc is rather dated as well.
Originally posted by ceecookie:Manual override is actually Porsche's Tiptronic.Porsche licensed the technology to most car makers but they have to use their own names(except a few like Audi,who can use "Tiptronic")
Well,to each his own if a car w/o tiptronic is worth it.I feel it's not because most car(even middle level and some entry) nowadays are coming with Tiptronic.And its very useful in case u wanna control it like a manual.
Sunny,Lancer etc is rather dated as well.
so u saying ALL manual override stems from porsche tiptronic??
may i know where u get your information from....
and a car w/o tiptronic is not worthy to drive and dated?? dude.. with this statement u are gonna be pissing off a lot of pple around here....
most of the time.. drivers of this type of car juz wanna put in D and cruise...
and its not really useful... the kick in of gear is laggy... and at the heart of the transmission is still a torque convertor.. who are u kidding...
if u want to play.. juz get the manual...
The pricelist on sgcarmart.com from Wearnes Automotive puts the Renault Megane Sedan at $75K. Why is there a discrepancy with the newspaper advert?
so will this corolla altis be as popular as its predecessor?
they now advertising on TV le..
heard abt 2k ppl booked it..