Originally posted by kuan89:they now advertising on TV le..
heard abt 2k ppl booked it..
Originally posted by tetsumi:
i dare say out of this 2k pple, most of them r new to altis. those current existing altis customers will not want the same old engine (detuned somemore) wif a larger bodyframe n this cheapo interior is a far cry from its predecessor. current altis owners will only purchase this new altis if they want a slightly larger car n dun care abt performance or FC.
i beg to differ.. i felt tt the interior has improved.. from what i saw.. they have included the gate shift for the auto transmission.. and the radio is now flushed with the console... i am talking about the 1.6 litre model here...
and further more... they have included 15 inch as standard... previously was 14 inch....
its a pretty car considering its a scaled down version of the camry... and i am quite a fan of the camry...
what do u mean by detuned engine... can u explain...
Originally posted by n0x:
i beg to differ.. i felt tt the interior has improved.. from what i saw.. they have included the gate shift for the auto transmission.. and the radio is now flushed with the console... i am talking about the 1.6 litre model here...and further more... they have included 15 inch as standard... previously was 14 inch....
its a pretty car considering its a scaled down version of the camry... and i am quite a fan of the camry...
cant believe that u are a fan of the camry...the camry's suspension is so soft that it makes riding a boat across a choppy sea more comfortable....brakes are so efficient that u might as well use your shoes to try and stop the car...steering dosent even give u any indication whether are you on the road or not...who knows i mgiht not even know if i have a slow puncture??
Originally posted by AE86tofu:cant believe that u are a fan of the camry...the camry's suspension is so soft that it makes riding a boat across a choppy sea more comfortable....brakes are so efficient that u might as well use your shoes to try and stop the car...steering dosent even give u any indication whether are you on the road or not...who knows i mgiht not even know if i have a slow puncture??
paiseh... my sentence incomplete...
i am a fan of the camry... only in terms of looks...![]()
interior wise... still quite normal though they try to incorporate some lexus features...
suspension soft is trademark of toyota cars...
as for brakes and steering.. though i have test driven one... i nv really pushed it cos its a friend's car...so no comments..
Originally posted by n0x:
i beg to differ.. i felt tt the interior has improved.. from what i saw.. they have included the gate shift for the auto transmission.. and the radio is now flushed with the console... i am talking about the 1.6 litre model here...and further more... they have included 15 inch as standard... previously was 14 inch....
hmm... i guess 1 man's meat is another man's poison. when i went to leng kee to take a look at altis, 20 secs was all i needed for me to stop considering this car. i still prefer the woodgrain pattern of the old altis. they have the gate shift for 1.6? tot is only available for 1.8? yeah, i do like the physical looks of this new altis that's y i went to take a look. like u, i'm quite a fan of the physical look of the camry too! this new 2008 altis has shortened gear ratios to let drivers "feel" more powerful, however, u will realise that ur rpm is higher than when driving the old altis at a particular speed, say 100km/hr. "detuned" engine refers to the reduced power o/p of this 2008 altis so that it can meet the euro emission standards. this problem is overcame by dual vvti in other countries. since we do not have dual vvti, the solution was to reduce the power o/p. of cos, BM wont state this in their marketing efforts.
u mean u cannot specify wooden grain pattern for the interior??
and the power output now is???
i walked pass a 1.6 altis and when i peeped inside.. it is the gate shifter...
hmmm interesting stuff u have pointed out... i din know they tweak the gear ratios... where u got the info from??
Originally posted by n0x:u mean u cannot specify wooden grain pattern for the interior??
and the power output now is???
i walked pass a 1.6 altis and when i peeped inside.. it is the gate shifter...
hmmm interesting stuff u have pointed out... i din know they tweak the gear ratios... where u got the info from??
Woodgrain for 1.8model only ...
Whats the price for the 1.8 variant?
I forgot liao, jugding from the current COE prices, it should be juast around 75k ???
Originally posted by Oxide:
after i saw the butt, i can agreed totally
Tomyam suspension r lousy, but still it's engine and gear box r from Jap. So to consider buying a car, main point is still the engine and gear box cos those 2 will stay with the car.
Altis II look ugly on the outside, but still it can be mod. It's the interior that seldom ppl do up. So if down the road the 1.8 still a good buy if the price is right.
i want to buy the new altis. since 2k people have already booked the altis, delivery of the car will be quite long? if i book one now, how long do i have to wait for the car?
Originally posted by gd4u:I forgot liao, jugding from the current COE prices, it should be juast around 75k ???
errm.. jus now went over to Leng Kee BM..
their price has gone up for 1.8.. now is $78,488..
and Honda civic is $79,500..
quite funny is tt.. i asked e sales man.. wheather is there LSD they dunoe..
Originally posted by gd4u:I forgot liao, jugding from the current COE prices, it should be juast around 75k ???
double post
sry~
Originally posted by xunmeng:i want to buy the new altis. since 2k people have already booked the altis, delivery of the car will be quite long? if i book one now, how long do i have to wait for the car?
Hmm, when my dad pre-ordered at the end of Feb, the car is said to come at end of May. But I guess since the stock arrive in mid-april, if u order now, i guess, late may/early june ba ...
Erm, LSD???
i wonder if i trade in my old toyota corolla got discount or not?
They got Orlando Bloom to be in the new ads!! :D
Originally posted by kuan89:
errm.. jus now went over to Leng Kee BM..their price has gone up for 1.8.. now is $78,488..
For that price range, Civic seems to be a better deal overall.
errm.. jus now went over to Leng Kee BM..their price has gone up for 1.8.. now is $78,488..
quite funny is tt.. i asked e sales man.. wheather is there LSD they dunoe..
Huh? LSD? Do you mean Limited Slip Differential?
Originally posted by alleggerita:
Huh? LSD? Do you mean Limited Slip Differential?
yup.. limited slip Differential..
cos on webbie they comes wif it.. but on BM they dun hav..
yup.. limited slip Differential..cos on webbie they comes wif it.. but on BM they dun hav..
Wow..a 1.8-litre car with LSD? Is that really necessary? ![]()
saw the new altis on the expressway. followed behind it.
ugly butt.