24 Jul, 08:59PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

Lorry knock onto you and you have to pay for your repairs. .

Subscribe to Lorry knock onto you and you have to pay for your repairs. . 25 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,656 posts since Jan '05
    • A lorry knock onto my car. The driver came out and give me his particular and say report insurance. He didn’t even asked for my particular. After taking pictures of my car and the lorry, I proceed to report, pay my access and proceed to claim. 6 months down the road, my insurer AIG, say the driver didn’t report the accident so I have to bear everything. Now, cannot claim access, lose NCB somemore … SO you people out there, be smart , involved in any accident, just don’t report … .. ..

1,155 posts since Jul '07
    • Yesterday spoke to AIG claim dept.. that what they say … now I am renewing my road tax and worst of all …instead of 20% is taken away from my 40%, I am left with 10% ( as with all new entrance ) ... angry !!!!!

73 posts since Dec '99
    • Do you have the lorry's license plate no, driver's IC no etc? If so, you should make a police report. I am not sure whether it's too late, but not making a report doesn't mean that the other driver gets away scott free. If you have a witness, then better still.

Next, you should call up your insurance company and demand that they take action against the driver. Unless it's a malaysian registered vehicle, your insurance company should be able to commence legal action to claim back the damages instead of taking the easy way out of making you pay for it.

• Originally posted by Turtle:
      Do you have the lorry's license plate no, driver's IC no etc? If so, you should make a police report. I am not sure whether it's too late, but not making a report doesn't mean that the other driver gets away scott free. If you have a witness, then better still.

Next, you should call up your insurance company and demand that they take action against the driver. Unless it's a malaysian registered vehicle, your insurance company should be able to commence legal action to claim back the damages instead of taking the easy way out of making you pay for it.

I give all the particulars to the insurance company with photos. I even wrote to the police. As there was any injuries and damage to public property, police don't care. Merely advise me to take civil suit againt the driver.. How much is the lawyer going to cost against the repair cost of over $2k.. . . not worth right ... that idiot in AIG somemore say look like 50/50 fault. They don't even call to check or ask and assumme I am at 50% fault !!!!

15,683 posts since Aug '01
    • One lorry incident also happened to my gf. AIG just plain sucks.

Another incident is while driving, a car suddenly dashed out from a minor lane without stopping. Then my gf cannot stop in time. It is obvious that the other driver is at fault; he didn't stop at the stop line to give way to major lane at all.
      But both cars are insured under AIG. After refusing a 60% liability by the other driver, it was subsequently increased to 70% and then 80%. After that, there was suddenly no news, then a letter came from AIG saying the case has been closed. Yet the matter was not settled!

My dad's advice was, quit AIG and go to some other insurance company. And my conclusion is, AIG sucks

216 posts since Jan '08
    • Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
      A lorry knock onto my car. The driver came out and give me his particular and say report insurance. He didn't even asked for my particular. After taking pictures of my car and the lorry, I proceed to report, pay my access and proceed to claim. 6 months down the road, my insurer AIG, say the driver didn't report the accident so I have to bear everything. Now, cannot claim access, lose NCB somemore ... SO you people out there, be smart , involved in any accident, just don't report ... .. ..

then buy insurance is like no point..
      may i ask:
      in the end, you pay only the excess in hard cash and no NCB next year only?

edit typo

Edited by mh2 10 Jan `08, 8:48PM
    • Originally posted by mh2:
      then buy insurance is like no point..
      may i ask:
      in the end, you pay only the excess in hard cash and no NCB next year only?

edit typo

ya lor, for nothing I pay for the excess and now without NCB .. !!! This is the first time using AIG, really sucks !!!!! Mad

73 posts since Dec '99
    • Oh no, sounds like AIG gives really horrible service. Perhaps u should write in to the ST forum or somthing, that might prompt AIG to take a more pro-active role in fighting for their client’s rights. Good luck in trying to get justice bro.

Oh no, sounds like AIG gives really horrible service. Perhaps u should write in to the ST forum or somthing, that might prompt AIG to take a more pro-active role in fighting for their client's rights. Good luck in trying to get justice bro.

I intent to call them up again ... if nothing else work, me going to their office to knock doors... I am very angry now . . .

216 posts since Jan '08
    • actually if you claim third party, you cannot claim your own insurance .

so TS, do you claim third party, ?? or your own insurance?
      cos claiming third party u will not suffered the NCB actualy.

a bit blur le.
      pls explain, thks

actually if you claim third party, you cannot claim your own insurance .

so TS, do you claim third party, ?? or your own insurance?
      cos claiming third party u will not suffered the NCB actualy.

a bit blur le.
      pls explain, thks

The thing is, when I reported to Tan Chong ( the reporting centre), I told them, that I was 100% not at fault and want to claim third party. My stand was very clear, I do not intent to pay access and also to have NCD affected. There were so many document to sign.. the car was repaired and nobody called us about the accident. I had to call so many time to check and each time they say, processing la or cannot get the other driver to report etc...

Last week received letter from AIG and they say case closed. When I want to renew my insurance than find out my NCD affected so realised they claim against myself. When approached, AIG say because the other party did not report to insurance and so cannot claim !!! can you belive that ?!! Then they say it was a 50/50 case, meaning I am half at fault. I told them to look at the photo I submitted and explain how I can be at 50% fault. Beside, even if I am at fault shouldn't they call and informed. Six months and no word from them ... what the hell they think they are doing !!!!! Just want us to insure and don't want to do work.. I wouldn't had use AIG if not the the Tan Chong bundle when I bought the Latio from them ! Evil or Very Mad

15,683 posts since Aug '01
      Oh no, sounds like AIG gives really horrible service. Perhaps u should write in to the ST forum or somthing, that might prompt AIG to take a more pro-active role in fighting for their client's rights. Good luck in trying to get justice bro.

Yes, their service is really horrible.

But should complain to ST forum or CASE? Same case for my fren lor... Suddenly closed without saying much... Cuz she kenna 2 accidents, and from the way it looked, not really her fault... And case closed without saying much.... Have to call and scold and complain, then they say open the case to take another look... All the photos so evident of the other driver's mistake... I can even post the photos out...

Either AIG just want more money, or just lazy...

216 posts since Jan '08
    • Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
      The thing is, when I reported to Tan Chong ( the reporting centre), I told them, that I was 100% not at fault and want to claim third party. My stand was very clear, I do not intent to pay access and also to have NCD affected. There were so many document to sign.. the car was repaired and nobody called us about the accident. I had to call so many time to check and each time they say, processing la or cannot get the other driver to report etc...

Last week received letter from AIG and they say case closed. When I want to renew my insurance than find out my NCD affected so realised they claim against myself. When approached, AIG say because the other party did not report to insurance and so cannot claim !!! can you belive that ?!! Then they say it was a 50/50 case, meaning I am half at fault. I told them to look at the photo I submitted and explain how I can be at 50% fault. Beside, even if I am at fault shouldn't they call and informed. Six months and no word from them ... what the hell they think they are doing !!!!! Just want us to insure and don't want to do work.. I wouldn't had use AIG if not the the Tan Chong bundle when I bought the Latio from them ! Evil or Very Mad

now that ppl know AIG suck, at least it did some public good.

cannot be .. your accident report should be claiming as other party. how can AIG make the decision to claim 'own insurance'?

what do AIG mean the third party did not report.? what the sh.it is happening? the 'third party have to come out with his/her own accident story by right cos you are claiming against him/her.

they song song dun need to defend or put up a case 1 meh?

AIG really did not follow up properly... very strange..i suspect AIG simply heck care your third party claim and process the report as if you are claiming own insurance..

Go to CASE and fu.ck them proper if this is real.

216 posts since Jan '08
      TS stay cool pls.

Thanks. .. trying hard to cool down but difficult when ever I talk about AIG.. they are just plain lazy and out to earn money without give any service ..

2,932 posts since Dec '04
    • i would like to hear more about AIG, i had been insured by AIG for 2 years and comments was positive so far.

but if i were u, i would go all out to fcuk AIG upside down and make sure they do their work, writing in to the press if i have to, with the photos.

44,273 posts since Apr '05
    216 posts since Jan '08
    • Originally posted by stellazio:
      write to the press best.

they're very image conscious.

maybe they enjoy good image, thus slack in their job.

73 posts since Dec '99
    • Actually for all insurance claims it works like this. If you make a 3rd party claim, your insurance company will go by your statement and talk to the insurance company of the other guy, who of course will have the other side of the story.

If both guys tell the truth, with one car at fault, then swee swee, your claim settle no prob. But

If the other guy keep quiet, then your insurance company will report it to the TP, and then take legal action against the other car owner etc.

If the insurance company find that actually your story was not accurate and you were at fault, then your 3rd party claim will fail, and you will have to pay for the repairs yourself. However, they will usually pay for half of the repair costs with the other half paid by you. In a way, this turns into a claim against your own insurance with your NCD premiums affected.

Note that the amount that you pay will be the insurance report price, and not the workshop price that the mechanic quotes you. Also, the other car owner can then turn around and do a 3rd party claim on you, so the cost might go up even higher.

This is why sometimes when you go to workshops for insurance claims, they would advise you that it's actually not worth it to do it as perhaps the claim is not so strong etc.

235 posts since May '05
    • Originally posted by stellazio:
      write to the press best.

they're very image conscious.

i can assure you that threatening by writing to the press, lodging with CASE AND getting a lawyer's letter if you do not get what you want, that is assuming you are 100% not at fault, will solve the problem since you believe you cannot be faulted.

Actually for all insurance claims it works like this. If you make a 3rd party claim, your insurance company will go by your statement and talk to the insurance company of the other guy, who of course will have the other side of the story.

If both guys tell the truth, with one car at fault, then swee swee, your claim settle no prob. But

If the other guy keep quiet, then your insurance company will report it to the TP, and then take legal action against the other car owner etc.

If the insurance company find that actually your story was not accurate and you were at fault, then your 3rd party claim will fail, and you will have to pay for the repairs yourself. However, they will usually pay for half of the repair costs with the other half paid by you. In a way, this turns into a claim against your own insurance with your NCD premiums affected.

Note that the amount that you pay will be the insurance report price, and not the workshop price that the mechanic quotes you. Also, the other car owner can then turn around and do a 3rd party claim on you, so the cost might go up even higher.

This is why sometimes when you go to workshops for insurance claims, they would advise you that it's actually not worth it to do it as perhaps the claim is not so strong etc.

The bloody problem is AIG is not doing all these.. After I kpkb, they called and explained that they are now waiting for the lawyer to recover my excess.. if they succeed at at least 80% claim, then they will refund me the NCD.. I scold them for not doing their work as they never bother do to anything until I make noise .. . .. ...

• Originally posted by vulpes macrotis mutica:

i can assure you that [b]threatening
      by writing to the press, lodging with CASE AND getting a lawyer's letter if you do not get what you want, that is assuming you are 100% not at fault, will solve the problem since you believe you cannot be faulted.[/b]

I give up writing to the press as they never publish my letters all these years ... what I did was to write to GIA, Police and the stupid AIG ... that got them on the toes and they started calling me . . . Twisted Evil

66 posts since Dec '04
    • Bro,

U r not the only one here Very Happy My car collected less than a month suffered a severed left ear all thanks to an arsehol lorry driver. We were both turning right at a T junction, this bloke in Lane 2 (center lane) oversteer into my lane at Lane 1 (right-most lane). Unable to stop in time, my car's left ear snapped. Luckily enuf that I managed to evade body contact so repair cost wise didn't suffer too much.

In his right wing mirror, I saw him issuing the apologizing signal when he was stuck in between 2 lanes. After I alerted him of the accident that he had already caused, he stepped out accusing me of swerving into his lane when we both pulled to a corner and stepped out for settlement. Because that is his company's lorry, he basically told me that he will not do anything, ask me to go n claim my own insurance. I got so mad that I called his boss to discuss, the most infuriating thing was that, I didn't take any photo of the accident scene. In my mind I was only trying to ascertain if there were any injuries to motorists around me and quick make way to the corner in order not to obstruct the traffic flow. Luckily I've managed to secure a witness who's also my colleague. If we didn't plan to go meet our customer that day and so happened that I dunno the way, I wouldn't have followed his tail closely and he wouldn't be able to witness my accident. Hmmm....maybe put it another way, if I never agreed to go meet that customer with him that day, I might have evaded the whole accident all in total haha... Laughing

The sight of that truck driver trying to reverse the entire story makes me so mad that I wouldn't hesitate to make his life miserable if I have the money to. I have since repaired and paid, now waiting for the claim result against his insurance. Now I'll stay far far from company trucks and goods vehicles man, 1 lesson is enuf. Another point learned is to be selfish and go ahead obstruct the traffic until I get my photos and witnesses ready before I free up the lanes. Else, seriously in SG, no one will step out of their cars and offer their help to your cause. I'm utterly disappointed. Crying or Very sad

134 posts since Jan '08
    • AIG is not a good company for claim seriously.... my friend had accident and it takes months and months to process.. and doesnt seems to can get claim...

anyone in AIG and claimed before? I think will be very less?

Twisted Evil

Please Login or Signup to reply.