roll back jus a little is okay ba.. just be mindful the distance of the car behind u.. buses lovess to stick straight up ur ass..Originally posted by joyanz:yep i agree manual more fun. juz gotten licensei not much problem with clutch... but hor... i tend to roll back abit when on slope leh... hate it when i have to stop and go off at slope who face the same problem with me?
lol u really lut hor yi chui?Originally posted by HolySniper:as for redlining, it wont do much damage as ecu limiter prevents that.. when i rented a manual lancer, i on music loud loud den rev and speed.. den music too loud i couldnt hear the engine note to change gear den bounced off the limiter twice on gear 3 and gear4..![]()
hmm.. rent car is to play de mah..Originally posted by so_nice:lol u really lut hor yi chui?
nothing beats going to 3rd gear and cornering out on high rpm. something probably a auto can't.
fast in fast out.
OMFG you are like my friend..Originally posted by HolySniper:hmm.. rent car is to play de mah..![]()
I thought left foot for brake pedal and right foot for accelerator is the correct way? If the right foot control both brake and accelerator, reaction time in an emergency will be much slower isn't it?Originally posted by soleachip:Just a curious question for those who drive auto cars, do you use only the right foot for brake and accelerating pedals and leave the left foot idle?
I know that is supposedly the correct position when driving but I tend to use both and have been told it's dangerous.
Started a thread on this due to no response to my query in this thread.Originally posted by alleggerita:I thought left foot for brake pedal and right foot for accelerator is the correct way? If the right foot control both brake and accelerator, reaction time in an emergency will be much slower isn't it?
during emergency, some c0ckster will depress both the brake n accelerator pedal..Originally posted by alleggerita:I thought left foot for brake pedal and right foot for accelerator is the correct way? If the right foot control both brake and accelerator, reaction time in an emergency will be much slower isn't it?
Dun think u noe about manual.Originally posted by n0x:how fast can u change an auto gear... is juz a nudge... dun tell me u can nudge faster than most pple??? by how much?? 1picoseconds???![]()
i am NOT referring to manual...Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:Dun think u noe about manual.
Yap sorry ,my bad to confuse u. For sure manual switching faster with short clutch and gear swifting and manual car have higher gear ratio.Originally posted by n0x:i am NOT referring to manual...
clearly u are juz mentioning about auto... so i went along the line of discussing abt auto....![]()
but then again... switching faster alone does not constitute to a faster lap time...Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:Yap sorry ,my bad to confuse u. For sure manual switching faster with short clutch and gear swifting and manual car have higher gear ratio.
Heard that it's possible to shift a manual car till the point that the upshifts can't be felt..like in an auto car..but you need to be freakin' experienced..to quote a cliche, practise makes perfect..Originally posted by nyox:how to shift smoothly for manual cars under hard acceleration? i rented a manual car that day to play with, under hard acceleration 1st to 2nd gear progression quite jerky.
Optimal shift up point..Originally posted by n0x:but then again... switching faster alone does not constitute to a faster lap time...
knowing when to shift is also equally important
and manual car does not necessarily have higher gear ratios...
the first 2 gears are the hardest to upshift smoothly...Originally posted by alleggerita:Heard that it's possible to shift a manual car till the point that the upshifts can't be felt..like in an auto car..but you need to be freakin' experienced..to quote a cliche, practise makes perfect..![]()