Originally posted by onlooker123:It is in Toyota's business strategy to first develop platforms for the Lexus model before pushing them down to the Toyota line. Through this strategy they reap huge economies of scale.
That's the info I get from talking to Toyota people, not just here but in the USA.
The Camry model in Singapore is slightly different from the one in the USA though.
I'm mistaken about the Camry on the IS250 platform. It should be the ES series platform, which I understand is not sold by Borneo in Singapore for the simple reason that it looks just like the Camry.
Try checking out these links:
http://us.lexusownersclub.com/forums/lofiversion/index.php/t29142.html
http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.f123a70/0
http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/showthread.php?t=496440
Common knowledge in the US that Lexus and Toyota share platforms. But that's the same for many other auto manufacturers. Problem with Lexus ES and Toyota Camry is that the two cars look almost identical.
yes u are right.... this is what toyota is doing all along...
the camry is based on the es
harrier on the rx
mark x on the gs
but definately the camry is not based on the is250.... ![]()
How about the Ford Mondeo???
A car that can move. And not a toy car. A man-size one please.
Originally posted by n0x:yes u are right.... this is what toyota is doing all along...
the camry is based on the es
harrier on the rx
mark x on the gs
but definately the camry is not based on the is250....
Yes Camry on the ES and not the IS. You're right.
100k can buy alot of car nia
for example:
Mitsubishi evo X, Honda civic 2.0, 2008 Mitsubishi lancer GT, Subaru WRX or WRX STI, Honda Odessey, Toyota Camry or the fortuner, Mini Cooper, Volvo S40, Lexus IS, Volvswagen Golf GTI, Opel astra, Nissan Cefiro, Murano and the Presage, Ssangyong rexton, Mitsuoka Viewt
Like that just buy a Hybrid can lah, or else you can burn your pocket every time you pump petrol for your car
How bout a BMW M3 (the old one) then u get ur konig rims and maybe minor engine upgrades and a carbon lip, muffler tip???
Think accord would be best. Good compromise between engine performance and space. Ford Mondeo is voted the best car of the year 07. So that may be a good choice. Though i don't really like the Ford's styling.
But whatever it is. Buy within these 2 months. Before the stupid LTA go reduce COE quota then jia lat liao. No amount of road tax or ARF reduction is going to compensate the rise on COE prices. The govt damn sly de - Give u 2 sweets, but tommorow become Ah long ask for a whole box of chocolates.
Originally posted by Ferrari_RoXz:Think accord would be best. Good compromise between engine performance and space. Ford Mondeo is voted the best car of the year 07. So that may be a good choice. Though i don't really like the Ford's styling.
But whatever it is. Buy within these 2 months. Before the stupid LTA go reduce COE quota then jia lat liao. No amount of road tax or ARF reduction is going to compensate the rise on COE prices. The govt damn sly de - Give u 2 sweets, but tommorow become Ah long ask for a whole box of chocolates.
lol, govt stated clearly want to cut down the traffic liao
bad news... sigh... cant change the fact liao la...
suck thumb give $ to support your 2nd laopo ba..
Volvo S80.. with teh dynaudio multi speaker sound system
Have to control car population what.
You want the roads to become parking lot?
i would probably get the bmw M5 or probably a lexus IS350
Originally posted by SBS7484P:Volvo S80.. with teh dynaudio multi speaker sound system
The S80 would be a good car to own![]()
Just asking only, did any one saw Jamie Teo white Toyota Mark X, SJA****Y
100k.
Got some nice choices.. if i were u, id take a 2nd hand newer BMW, not 520i but a 320i. Smaller but worth the $$. you can use the remainder to extend the warrenty and repair watever needs to be repaired. Performance Motors quite okay for servicing.
But if you really really want a thrill, haha, i would try to up my budget by about 20k, and go and buy a 2nd hand, super old porsche 993 convertible..^^
Originally posted by n0x:
eh?? how bout go for lamborghini gallardo superlegerra???pls stay relevant to the post...
to T.S.:
are u restriciting urself to this 2 models...
if u are i would go for mark x...
Q: "what car would you get?"
A: mini cooper
got wrong meh? ![]()
looks like a F1 or A1 clone... haha
Originally posted by noopi:
Q: "what car would you get?"A: mini cooper
got wrong meh?
So TS... What car have u bought?
yes but u nv read fully the question.. from his intial post.. u can tell that he is clearly looking for a family 4 door jap sedan of around 100k.... so please stick to cars of the same range... if not cocksters like u who started with mini cooper.. then bmw 6 series.. then another cockster will say why not lambroghini and then finally the ultimate cockster whcih suggests an ariel atom... and the thread leads to nowhere...
Why you self appointed thread police is it?
TS himself said, "Not restricting myself to anything. Just that these 2 have caught my eyes. I prefer executive cars though i welcome any suggestion".
Originally posted by Bloop...:
Why you self appointed thread police is it?TS himself said, "Not restricting myself to anything. Just that these 2 have caught my eyes. I prefer executive cars though i welcome any suggestion".
TS says he is not restricting himself to anything AFTER i asked him... prior to that and when noopie replied to this thread... he din mention about this...
Actually, if you read his first post he said, "currently considering MarkX or a second hand BMW 520" which implies he had other cars in mind before... he also mentioned Alfa and asked for suggestions. So he did allude to being open to other makes and models…
Having said that, of course I was just kidding about the Ariel. It would be cool as hell to see one of those on our roads though.
Originally posted by Bloop...:
Actually, if you read his first post he said, "currently considering MarkX or a second hand BMW 520" which implies he had other cars in mind before... he also mentioned Alfa and asked for suggestions. So he did allude to being open to other makes and models…
Having said that, of course I was just kidding about the Ariel. It would be cool as hell to see one of those on our roads though.
but from his initial post u can tell he is looking for a sedan... other makes and models yes... but looking at sedan... not some lifestyle cars such as minicooper... and precisely bcos of jokers like u who doesnt stick to topics that most threads in this forum lead to nowhere with people recieving unconstructive replies...
I've been trying to be civil till now, but you need to watch how you speak to people. This is an open forum, you want to have a serious discussion look elsewhere.
Who the hell do you think you are to go around calling people cocksters and jokers?
You don't like the way things are going, go start your own forum and you can speak anyway you want to anyone you want. You can even ban people if they stray more than you decide is allowed.