any1 saw the typ RR b4 i saw 1 in my camp but dun noe real 1 or not
dont think the type RR is a production car ba..
all i read about it.. that it is really fast..
Originally posted by vertmonyet:kentheman has explained it. when you're a car enthusiast, spotting a fake type R from a real one is like telling the difference between a cat and a dog.
3 doors (1 including rear)- UK built type R. which looks like a hatchback.
4 doors - JDM built (japan) type R. mostly you see on the roads are white with white rims, black and white spoiler, fujitsubo exhaust, brembo brakes.
Where did you find out its a Fujitsubo exhaust? Can you give me the source? I thought it was just a regular honda "made for type R" exhaust.
For the FD2 Type R Owners Out there, there is a recall on the ECU by Honda JP.
http://www.honda.co.jp/recall/campaign/080208_civic_typeR.html
Google translation:"Engine control computer-controlled air-fuel ratio correction program is inappropriate for a certain deceleration engine revolutions (2100) following declutch state, or idling rotational instability, it might stop engine. The engine can restart."
ECU must be reflashed to solve the problem
The Follow VINs are affected:
FD2-1200011~FD2-1203565 (20th March 2007 - 19th Sep 2007)
FD2-1400003~FD2-1402320 (13th Sep 2007 - 28th Dec 2007)
edit :typo
Originally posted by ah_wei83:hi guys, pardon me for my ignorance with HONDA cars
i manage to differential UK honda civic type r from JDM honda civic type rBut i observe alot of CIVIC hybrid or ordinary CIVIC type r on the road.I understand that JDM CIVIC type r are “mostly you see on the roads are white with white rims, black and white spoiler, fujitsubo exhaust, brembo brakes.” but does it comes in different colours like black or red or blue colour ? like Integra type r they have alot of colour,as well but i can differential btw an Integra type r and GSR Integra type r…
i've seen gunmetal grey, white and blue. only got these 3. and sorry, wrong info then. i thought it had a factory fujitsubo exhaust all along.
exhaust. brembo brakes. most fake type Rs has fake brembo brake covers.
easy lah, pry the hood open. if you see the engine make your pants wet, then type R lor.
Originally posted by dare2kill:Where did you find out its a Fujitsubo exhaust? Can you give me the source? I thought it was just a regular honda "made for type R" exhaust.
For the FD2 Type R Owners Out there, there is a recall on the ECU by Honda JP.
http://www.honda.co.jp/recall/campaign/080208_civic_typeR.html
Google translation:"Engine control computer-controlled air-fuel ratio correction program is inappropriate for a certain deceleration engine revolutions (2100) following declutch state, or idling rotational instability, it might stop engine. The engine can restart."
ECU must be reflashed to solve the problem
The Follow VINs are affected:
FD2-1200011~FD2-1203565 (20th March 2007 - 19th Sep 2007)
FD2-1400003~FD2-1402320 (13th Sep 2007 - 28th Dec 2007)
edit :typo
Is it the Air-flow sensor got problem?
The jdm ctr type r engine sound also quite distinctive one. You know it, when it is roaring. ;)
If you happen to walk by a real type r, its tachometer has the word "type r"
Side mirrors has no lights.
Both sides in front of front door there is a signal light.
Brembo brakes.
Exo is Single not dual pipes like the 1.8 and 2.0 civics.
There is a black diffuser at the bottom back.
Dont depend on ur hearing to differentiate, although it is true that the engine sound is different.
cheers
i would like some advise :
1. the price of a honda civic type r seems comparable if not more expensive than a WRX ?
if so, is it true that type r is more a sports car than wrx?
the impression i have is wrx is the more sports car than civic or am i wrongly impressed?
Originally posted by ah_wei83:hi dare2kill,thanks alot for the info…greatly appreciated…..nw i knw hw to differential…..
cheers!
Sure, no prob!
To Reddressman:
1. the price of a honda civic type r seems comparable if not more expensive than a WRX ?
CTR is more expensive than a WRX 5dr version. But is cheaper than a 4 dr (sedan) STI tuned WRX.
WRX has a notorious image as a ah beng car. But what is your definition of sports car? A CTR is more a track ready car than a WRX. That means that a stock CTR can do well on a track, whereas a stock wrx needs better performing aftermarker parts to make it more track-friendly. Its all personal preference.
CTR is a NA whereas a WRX is Turbocharged.
Originally posted by dare2kill:Sure, no prob!
To Reddressman:
CTR is more expensive than a WRX 5dr version. But is cheaper than a 4 dr (sedan) STI tuned WRX.
WRX has a notorious image as a ah beng car. But what is your definition of sports car? A CTR is more a track ready car than a WRX. That means that a stock CTR can do well on a track, whereas a stock wrx needs better performing aftermarker parts to make it more track-friendly. Its all personal preference.
CTR is a NA whereas a WRX is Turbocharged.
thanks Dare2Kill :)
you seem well informed. As for me, i am just a layman.
what i meant was, WRX is known for its world rally championship and its abilities. As for Honda, even it may also be doing something like that, the impresssion to layman is that its not really a world rally famous car right?
its common on the roads but to me , a pure layman, my impression is that it is a common category kinda sporty car but not the real sports car. like when u see a WRX, u cannot say it is not a sports car. whereas Honda seems like a family car with a bit of sporty look.
So i wanted to find out why the price I see on newspaper seems comparable between the 2. specifically, why people would pay so much for honda when WRX is clearly the more real sports car? with no offence intended to Honda luvers. just being direct and honest.
Originally posted by Reddressman.:thanks Dare2Kill :)
what i meant was, WRX is known for its world rally championship and its abilities. As for Honda, even it may also be doing something like that, the impresssion to layman is that its not really a world rally famous car right?
its common on the roads but to me , a pure layman, my impression is that it is a common category kinda sporty car but not the real sports car. like when u see a WRX, u cannot say it is not a sports car. whereas Honda seems like a family car with a bit of sporty look.
So i wanted to find out why the price I see on newspaper seems comparable between the 2. specifically, why people would pay so much for honda when WRX is clearly the more real sports car? with no offence intended to Honda luvers. just being direct and honest.
hmmm some prefer NA while others prefer FI. thus y some like my friend chose CTR than Evo X. hope i answer ur qn
Originally posted by Reddressman.:thanks Dare2Kill :)
Thanks for the honest feedback. CTR and WRX are seen as 2 different types of "sports cars" Wrx is more of a rally car and CTR has always been more track focused. So it depends of what kinda of look you want, although honestly the WRX has been labelled ah beng qia in singapore whereas the new CTR is seen as more grown up and not beng.
Its all down to personal preferance. Some people think that CTR is sporty and others dont. Personally, i think the sedan WRX looks sportier than the hatchback one and the new CTR is sporty.
Price is usually determined by performance in the sports car sector.
The CTR has a different engine from the other civics on the road. and has a different ECU, Suspension, brakes, a whole redone chassis and different exhaust. Tyres are Potenza RE070 vs Turanzas on other civics. Interior is also different
In layman terms: you are paying for performance items .
So why does CTR cost as much as WRX? Because you probably are comparing the normal civic to a WRX w/o knowing the difference between a CTR and a normal civic. No offence =)
I hope my feedback answers your qns.
Cheers!
BTW, here are pics of a bodykitted CTR with an aftermarket exhaust, not a normal civic.
(taken from S'pore Honda Civic Type-R Club)