-
-
Erm.. i seen on dashboard.. there is a warning at the Odometer.. do not rev to this bla bla . 8000 rpm -9000Rpm.
Just askin around cause my pop also dunno.I've seen it in his car.
What happens if ppl rev to the RPM stated above? Engine will malfunction?
Sorry, just a car noob around..
btw , another qn, When shifting to a higher gear, do you have to press on the clutch, let go of the acclerator and push the knob (eg from 1-2).Wont there be a loss of speed due to acclerator release momentarily.?
Thanks if anyone could reply me.
Cheers.
-
-
-
Haha, from your questioms, its obvious you don't know much about car. But we will help you ans ur questions, dont worry.
Its advisable not to redline the engine as an engine roatating at very high speeds may pose some problems. Parts may disintegrate in the engine as the crank/piston is moving too fast. The high amount of friction generated may also cause a fire.
For your gears question. When you step on the clutch, you are DISCONNECTING power from the engine to the transmission. When the clutch is depressed, no power whatsoever is being transmited from the engine to the wheels. So even you are reving at redline, with the clutch depressed the car will not move an inch. So this will explain why people release their accel when shifting gears. By releasing the accel, you save fuel and prevent engine over-reveing (if clutch is depressed for too long).Edited by Ferrari_RoXz 14 Feb `08, 11:15PM
-
-
-
reving into redline will increase wear and tear to your engine internals significantly. repeated attempts or maintaining rev at that level will cause serious damage to the engine.
At speed when you engage the clutch, yes the engine power is disconnected from the transmission, but you will not lose speed because of forward momentum.... you will maintain that speed right before point where the clutch is engaged... the duration of that speed will depend on what the vehicle is travelling on... upslope, downhill, rough terrain etc.
-
-
-
Originally posted by Nickyzsim:
Hmm So safest way to maintain engine life is to keep at 2000rpm?
I have heard from ppl who rev their cars to 5000rpm once in a while to make sure thier engine can tahan high rev.. ?
2000rpm is seriously quite low for normal driving...keep it within 5k rmp and you will be safe. I don't think you drive right? If you drive you would know how the clutch works and what effect it will have on the car.
-
-
-
IF u wanna save oil.. its the best to keep RPM level to 2 - 2.5K RPM when u shift the gear.
higher RPM will take more fuel than normal..
Try this.. TRy to drive like a mad man with RPM till 4 or 5K RPM for every gear u shift..
See it in a week compare to your normal drive.. u can see a GREAT difference
Driving with high RPM can accelerate your engine wear and tear. Soon, it will consume even your engine oil. Which is why some ppl have their engine oil decresed so significantly due to their mad man driving skill.
Get engine oil with Friction Modifier. it can help reduce the friction between moving parts and save your fuel compared to normal engine oil.
-
-
-
More problems with the internal parts.Some parts may malfunction and require replacement.
U can,of course,replace them but since there's so much parts inside the engine,replacing them may be heavy on your wallet.Thats why some people opt to overhaul(replace) the engine.Of course,the latter is more expensive but its all up to you which way you want to go by - Short or long term solution
Anyway,forget about revving past redline for automatic cars(with exception of sports cars of course).The ECU will shift to the next gear whether you want or not.Even in semi-manual mode(Porsche's Tiptronic),the ECU will also kick in at redline.
For some "cheap" japanese automatic(i.e Nissan Sunny etc),forget about trying with the single mode selection(Gear 1,Gear 2).It wont upshift automatically(since its at that mode) and instead you will feel the speed-limiter effect as the ECU cut off fuel.
Edited by ceecookie 15 Feb `08, 9:12PM
-
-
-
Originally posted by Ferrari_RoXz:
2000rpm is seriously quite low for normal driving...keep it within 5k rmp and you will be safe. I don't think you drive right? If you drive you would know how the clutch works and what effect it will have on the car.for all i know... 2rpm is quite optimal in most cases and is usually what people drive at... 1k plus rpm to 2kplus rpm....
mr driver.... u mean u drive at 3-4k rpm?? or do u drive at all???

-
-
-
Originally posted by Nickyzsim:
I see
So manual cars dont have ECU or whatever?
So in manual car, how does the car let you know when is the time to change ?upshift?
Nope.There IS a ECU for all cars.Its impt as it controls various aspect of the engine - much like the brain in our body.
Manual will also face fuel cut-off at redline.the only difference is of course,u cant play with tiptronic and the like in a manual car
-
-
-
Originally posted by n0x:
for all i know... 2rpm is quite optimal in most cases and is usually what people drive at... 1k plus rpm to 2kplus rpm....
mr driver.... u mean u drive at 3-4k rpm?? or do u drive at all???

excuse me, do u noe that sometimes too low a rpm can cause higher fuel consumption due to not enuff torque and u have to step harder? u understand the word , inefficient? normal i listen to the engine sound when it's smooth den i change gear which is ard 3k+ rpm.. and i only rent car to play, so i dun bother too much about fuel for now.. =]and my fren's dad drivin auto car, it shifts at 3k+ too.. my uncle drove his sunny and another on vios and another on matrix shifts at that range too. so wat usually u talkin about..
Edited by HolySniper 16 Feb `08, 12:31AM
-
-
-
Originally posted by HolySniper:
excuse me, do u noe that sometimes too low a rpm can cause higher fuel consumption due to not enuff torque and u have to step harder? u understand the word , inefficient? normal i listen to the engine sound when it's smooth den i change gear which is ard 3k+ rpm.. and i only rent car to play, so i dun bother too much about fuel for now.. =]and my fren's dad drivin auto car, it shifts at 3k+ too.. my uncle drove his sunny and another on vios and another on matrix shifts at that range too. so wat usually u talkin about..

ah tofu, come, share your car's efficiency's experience

-
-
-
Originally posted by HolySniper:

erm.. i dun think u know what u are talking about....

too low rpm WUN cause higher fuel consumption... too low rpm u buay tahan cause u to step harder WILL increase fuel consumption... so the inefficiency stems from ur right foot not from the engine.. wtf u talking about???

u listen to ur engine smooth?? what are u talking about...i din know smooth is a word to describe an engine at high revs... means what... ur engine is machiam from a mustang??? at low revs... gonna die car one but at high revs then can sustain the engine combustion??? those rented car of urs engine will feel smooth only at low rpm...above 2 plus reaching 3 the engine will start to sound like a person struggling to breath...

yah sure.. burn a hole in ur pocket and then earn some bragging rights about how u flushed ur money through the exhaust pipe of ur rented car which is not even meant to rev in the first place....
there is an optimal range for an engine... all the cars u listed above are 1.5 and 1.6 litres... their optimal range is around 2 if u are talking about fuel efficiency...
yes sure.. their max torque is around 3 plus... but u sure u need that much torque??? which is like a few more Nm than if u shift up at 2???
why are ur uncle and friend shifting up at 3 +... cos they stepping on the accelerator like no tmr.. like u loh... yes they are shifting up at peak torque... but their FC is going down the drain....
and from the way u speak... i can tell u are an immature driver.. what traffic light F1... pls get a life... u can shift up at the redline to boost ur oversized ego and listen to ur engine get breathless with asthma but ur car will still be slow...

-