-
-
Recently found tat no matter wat expressway u use will always jam in no matter wat timing. Wats the problem? i find it funny as the speed limit at least will be 80km/h, but how come the expressway can jam til u totally stop ur vehicle...even the extreme right lane also. Wondering if everyone travel at 80km/h, i assume the flow should be smooth leh... n driver like to slow down alot while approaching the ERP gantry, wats up? There got speed camera meh?
-
-
-
wat i notice on the road is old uncle n auntie drive slow but still hog centre lane.n i also hate one thing about singapore driver is go accident only all slow down see car plate worst case,people accident in front he accident behind.saw this few times in pie last 2 month 7 accident in the night all at p.i.e between paya lebar n eunos
-
-
-
btw many "careful" driver out there lah.sorry if got ladies here they suka suka turn without signal they thinking wat ladies first is it.or we must gif way to them.than accident push blame to people wat liao not fair.come across turn out never signal than knock them than on signal call police say our fault damn na bei de
-
-
-
Originally posted by funnypig:
btw many "careful" driver out there lah.sorry if got ladies here they suka suka turn without signal they thinking wat ladies first is it.or we must gif way to them.than accident push blame to people wat liao not fair.come across turn out never signal than knock them than on signal call police say our fault damn na bei de
yea, i simply hate lady drivers.
-
-
-
So if you see a female driver trying to turn into the lane, even with signal on, you still will not give way. But if a male driver were to do the same, you would?
In the end, on seeing they're about to miss the turn, these drivers male, or female get anxious, anyhow 'give pattern' resulting in accidents. Live and let live can? If you're in heavy traffic, wouldn't you want others to give way? You want to run the risk of having a car bump you at your tail for jutting out in the middle of nowhere?
Give me a break, given the kind of posts you're typing, I doubt you're the courteous type on the road.
One funny thing I notice though, drivers are generally friendlier in the mornings, they get really nasty in the evenings and on the weekends.
Edited by soleachip 07 Mar `08, 2:13AM
-
-
-
Originally posted by soleachip:
So if you see a female driver trying to turn into the lane, even with signal on, you still will not give way. But if a male driver were to do the same, you would?
In the end, on seeing they're about to miss the turn, these drivers male, or female get anxious, anyhow 'give pattern' resulting in accidents. Live and let live can? If you're in heavy traffic, wouldn't you want others to give way? You want to run the risk of having a car bump you at your tail for jutting out in the middle of nowhere?
Give me a break, given the kind of posts you're typing, I doubt you're the courteous type on the road.
One funny thing I notice though, drivers are generally friendlier in the mornings, they get really nasty in the evenings and on the weekends.
nowadays drivers think signalling is a powerful tool/light - once signal must give way.drivers like to chiong on the fastest lane which is usually the extreme right, then at the very last min signal, cut multiple lanes and in between safe gaps to exit. if every driver does that and i have to give way then i don't know i'll have to brake how many times. furthermore what if zun zun the front car jam brake? it becomes my fault if i lang ga into their backside. they should learn to plan and change beforehand, doesn't mean the driver signal i have to give way. also they like to signal at the moment they turn the wheel and not a few seconds before.
unless the lane is closed or blocked ahead or the traffic condition forced them to be in a difficult position, i won't give way.
edit: grammatical error.
Edited by alwaysdisturbed 07 Mar `08, 2:45AM
-
-
-
Originally posted by digicharat:
because singapore drivers are too stupid to not prepare before hand for filtering into small roads and inconsiderate as not to let filtering car in and out.
cant blame anyone except for those stupid drivers who cause it.
I agree with you, lots of the time the problem comes from driver's not preparing to get in the correct lanes to exit the expressways and only doing it at the very last instance
-
-
-
Originally posted by Elysium7:
I agree with you, lots of the time the problem comes from driver's not preparing to get in the correct lanes to exit the expressways and only doing it at the very last instance
It depends on the situation, especially at peak hour.
What happens outside of the expressway?
When you travel from a 2 left turn lane and enter the next junction to a single left turn lane, signaling your intention way in advance and observe the kind of consideration on the road.
Take the 3 lane wide road yesterday, my signal (along with 2 other cars behind mine) had been blinking for more than 5 minutes, and not a single vehicle gave way and I had to move along further up front to avoid blocking traffic going straight. Until the very tip of the left filter lane, nobody gave way as well. 3 minutes later one taxi driver finally relented and I gestured thanks.
More than 30 or 40 cars must've passed by.
I could've just chosen some smaller car and jutted in abruptly and very rudely, leave it to the reflex of the unfortunate driver I'm cutting. Afterall I signaled. Traffic is fucking slow. And he probably turned into this road a lot later than I did.
If he is one second too slow on his accelerator or brake, that is his problem.
If he bumps into my side door, that's his goddamn problem.
Looks like I should be adopting this habit soon, after all, most Singaporeans drive like this.
It really speaks about the local culture here.
Edited by soleachip 07 Mar `08, 1:40PM
-
-
-
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:
nowadays drivers think signalling is a powerful tool/light - once signal must give way.drivers like to chiong on the fastest lane which is usually the extreme right, then at the very last min signal, cut multiple lanes and in between safe gaps to exit. if every driver does that and i have to give way then i don't know i'll have to brake how many times. furthermore what if zun zun the front car jam brake? it becomes my fault if i lang ga into their backside. they should learn to plan and change beforehand, doesn't mean the driver signal i have to give way. also they like to signal at the moment they turn the wheel and not a few seconds before.
unless the lane is closed or blocked ahead or the traffic condition forced them to be in a difficult position, i won't give way.
edit: grammatical error.
Signal for more than 3 seconds, then turn in when it's safe.
If they chiong at night, I can understand. No cars on the road so go chiong the right lane, who cares. Drive between 2 lanes markings also can.
But lane cutting dangerously at peak hour traffic is another matter, then no need to give face. If got time to spare, then tail gate and high beam all the way until he turn blue.
Edited by soleachip 07 Mar `08, 1:42PM
-
-
-
Signal for more than 3 seconds, then turn in when it's safe.
If the chiong at night, I can understand. No cars on the road so it's safe. Drive between 2 lanes markings also can.
Lane cutting dangerously at peak hour traffic, then no need to give face. I
a lot of drivers are doing that. so annoying.
of course if the road is clear, do whatever you want and ensure that i'm not at danger, i also won't care.
nowadays also a lot of drivers cannot drive at high speed during bends and like to eat a bit of the lanes beside. females drivers like to give allowance on the curb side at bends and forget about the lane on the other side and eat a bit also. i really don't know what they want to do.
edit: my colleague once had this experience after rochor exit along ecp at the short flyover where it always jam at peak hours. this car signalled and wanted to cut in my colleague's lane and he gave way, then behind came another vehicle tailgating the overtaking vehicle and cut in also. my colleague almost knocked into him. so he high beamed the car and the driver in front pointed middle finger. arseholic man these drivers.
Edited by alwaysdisturbed 07 Mar `08, 1:54PM
-
-
-
a lot of drivers are doing that. so annoying.
of course if the road is clear, do whatever you want and ensure that i'm not at danger, i also won't care.
nowadays also a lot of drivers cannot drive at high speed during bends and like to eat a bit of the lanes beside. females drivers like to give allowance on the curb side at bends and forget about the lane on the other side and eat a bit also. i really don't know what they want to do.
My policy is, if the driver signal in advance I will let them pass.
In heavy traffic situation, they signal and gesture, it's just a matter of being polite.
You can judge for yourself in varying situation. If the fellow didn't even do anything wrong, why not give way? If that fellow multiple lane cutting and driving in a guai lan manner, by all means, be as inconsiderate as you can.
Edited by soleachip 07 Mar `08, 1:52PM
-
-
-
My policy is, if the driver signal in advance I will let them pass.
In heavy traffic situation, they signal and gesture, it's just a matter of being polite.
You can judge for yourself in varying situation. If the fellow didn't even do anything wrong, why not give way? If that fellow multiple lane cutting and driving in a guai lan manner, by all means, be as inconsiderate as you can.
certainly, it varies in situation. from the look at their front wheels, may tell how much they wanna cut. those a bit a bit, i will give way cause they might be planning to exit somewhere ahead. those turn a lot, most likely gonna do multiple lanes change, standing by to shoot out one arh, then no way.
-
-
-
Frankly speaking, for turning bends, I'd rather travel at slower speed and keep within my own lane but delay traffic behind me, than go at higher speed and risk brushing the sides of vehicles (especially huge lorries) next to me.
It's a series of bends on public roads and not F1 after all, how fast do you want to go?
Problem is some drivers cannot wait to overtake even before the bends are over. What is the point of overtaking before you even merge with the main traffic on the expressway? How much time can you possibly save?
-
-
-
Frankly speaking, for turning bends, I'd rather travel at slower speed and keep within my own lane but delay traffic behind me, than go at higher speed and risk brushing the sides of vehicles (especially huge lorries) next to me.
It's a series of bends on public roads and not F1 after all, how fast do you want to go?
Problem is some drivers cannot wait to overtake even before the bends are over. What is the point of overtaking before you even merge with the main traffic on the expressway? How much time can you possibly save?
exactly. to weave in and out of lanes nowadays doesn't make any more sense with the number of vehicles on roads.
-
-
-
One last thing on this **** thread.
Want fast, go fly aeroplane.
Out.
ur lack of intelligence amuses me.
it's 2am in the morning and you want to KEEP to the speed limit on Lane 1??? no wonder there are more and more jams! must be idiot drivers like you!
soleachip, to put it simply, the reason why you have such tremendous difficulty changing lanes(or should i say, driving in singapore) is because you are not a good driver. anyone agrees with me?
i've not had much problems driving. the only problem i see is road-hogging & people who dont plan their journey well hence making last minute lane changes, often endangering other road users like motorcyclists on their blindspots.
if you need to switch to a lane on your left, DO NOT SLOW DOWN. what you should do is just speed up, find an opening, signal & go in smoothly. some may have difficulty doing this smoothly due to cock-up nervous system and brain activity. you, maybe?also, there are a lot of people who cannot keep to their own lanes. this, i say, is due to the more relaxed testing for the driving test. people drive lousy, they still gotta let them pass. quota to fulfill. govt want to push for car growth. car growth good indicates a healthy, developing country. so you see more fickle-minded, indecisive drivers on the road.
if you are changing lanes in a jam, signal, inch slowly & carefully to the lane, switch lanes in fully & wave to say thanks lah. if you dont do these simple, friendly gestures to others, how would you expect people to return such gestures to you? karma, ever heard of it?
you should be out of this forum. and out of self-driven vehicles for good for you're a hazard.
switching on your signal till 30-40 cars passes by you on your left is not a sign of "people not wanting to give way to you" soleachip. it's an obvious, no-brainer sign of your indecisive nature of your inability to make split second decisions as to when you want to execute your lane changing! people look at you signal, but never change lane... so they just go forward lah! probably they thinking you forgot to cancel signal.
-
-
-
Originally posted by sinicker:
ur lack of intelligence amuses me.
it's 2am in the morning and you want to KEEP to the speed limit on Lane 1??? no wonder there are more and more jams! must be idiot drivers like you!
soleachip, to put it simply, the reason why you have such tremendous difficulty changing lanes(or should i say, driving in singapore) is because you are not a good driver. anyone agrees with me?
i've not had much problems driving. the only problem i see is road-hogging & people who dont plan their journey well hence making last minute lane changes, often endangering other road users like motorcyclists on their blindspots.
if you need to switch to a lane on your left, DO NOT SLOW DOWN. what you should do is just speed up, find an opening, signal & go in smoothly. some may have difficulty doing this smoothly due to cock-up nervous system and brain activity. you, maybe?also, there are a lot of people who cannot keep to their own lanes. this, i say, is due to the more relaxed testing for the driving test. people drive lousy, they still gotta let them pass. quota to fulfill. govt want to push for car growth. car growth good indicates a healthy, developing country. so you see more fickle-minded, indecisive drivers on the road.
if you are changing lanes in a jam, signal, inch slowly & carefully to the lane, switch lanes in fully & wave to say thanks lah. if you dont do these simple, friendly gestures to others, how would you expect people to return such gestures to you? karma, ever heard of it?
you should be out of this forum. and out of self-driven vehicles for good for you're a hazard.
switching on your signal till 30-40 cars passes by you on your left is not a sign of "people not wanting to give way to you" soleachip. it's an obvious, no-brainer sign of your indecisive nature of your inability to make split second decisions as to when you want to execute your lane changing! people look at you signal, but never change lane... so they just go forward lah! probably they thinking you forgot to cancel signal.
Not so sure how much time it took you to craft the above entry but thanks for the effort.
I was citing an example of lane changing outside of the expressway.
Now read my post again.
Just remember: Twice the effort could be done by doubling the amount of time taken to think.
Originally posted by soleachip:It depends on the situation, especially at peak hour.
What happens outside of the expressway?
When you travel from a 2 left turn lane and enter the next junction to a single left turn lane, signaling your intention way in advance and observe the kind of consideration on the road.
Take the 3 lane wide road yesterday, my signal (along with 2 other cars behind mine) had been blinking for more than 5 minutes, and not a single vehicle gave way and I had to move along further up front to avoid blocking traffic going straight. Until the very tip of the left filter lane, nobody gave way as well. 3 minutes later one taxi driver finally relented and I gestured thanks.
More than 30 or 40 cars must've passed by.
I could've just chosen some smaller car and jutted in abruptly and very rudely, leave it to the reflex of the unfortunate driver I'm cutting. Afterall I signaled. Traffic is fucking slow. And he probably turned into this road a lot later than I did.
If he is one second too slow on his accelerator or brake, that is his problem.
If he bumps into my side door, that's his goddamn problem.
Looks like I should be adopting this habit soon, after all, most Singaporeans drive like this.
It really speaks about the local culture here.
-
-
-
Not so sure how much time it took you to craft the above entry but thanks for the effort.
I was citing an example of lane changing outside of the expressway.
Now read my post again.
Just remember: Twice the effort could be done by doubling the amount of time taken to think.

you are very much welcome indeed.
if you could be more precise, inform us forum users where you were driving at so we can see if we have faced similar problems? we wouldnt understand any balls if you dont specifically tell us where it is, you-who-think-you're-oh-so-smart.
if traffic is fucking slow, like you said, all the more you should be inching and cutting in lane. out of curiosity, for how long have you been driving? and for how long have you had your driving license?
you see, to those who always think that "i drive at 90, i own lane 1".. i urge you to please look at a fellow driver's dilemma rushing his wife to the hospital. quoted from mazdaclubsg forum,
"Will you give way to others on the expressway when you're driving on the extreme right lane (lane 1) when you see them...
1) Not high beam but keep flashing their head lights followed by...
2) Having their right signal light on all the way despite already on the extreme right lane (which you know by now its likely an emergency)
3) still ignore him then he started to sound his horn
4) followed by winding down his window and start waving his hand signal you to give way to him....
5) or die die dont give way to him....
last night was rushing my wife to hospital due to some emergency and come across a young lady driving her old 95 model merc at average speed of 70-80km/h on lane 1
I did all the above mention praying that she can
give way to me or go slightly faster but she just simply ignore
plus all the lorry, bus and van taking up lane 2, i
almost wanted to push her away outta my lane but i cant do that
with my wife in the car

some might say "why not call an ambulance"???
My wife was at the risk of having a miscarriage due to serious bleeding and this is the 4th time rush to the hospital except this round condition is much worst than all the previous and calling an ambulance will end up sending her to the nearest hospital NUH instead of KKH which already have all her past history.
I just dont understand why cant she just give way to me or go slightly faster but to road hog at that kind of speed when i've done all i can???
Shall anything happened to my wife or my baby....I will never forgive her!!!!
"so to those who wouldnt want to give way to such you-think-they're-rude drivers, please think again. because i too have been in such a situation & there's just way too many road-hoggers on our expressways, roads, bend or no bend. lane 1 is the overtaking lane. not a strictly 90km/h lane.
-
-
-
Originally posted by sinicker:
you are very much welcome indeed.
if you could be more precise, inform us forum users where you were driving at so we can see if we have faced similar problems? we wouldnt understand any balls if you dont specifically tell us where it is, you-who-think-you're-oh-so-smart.
if traffic is fucking slow, like you said, all the more you should be inching and cutting in lane. out of curiosity, for how long have you been driving? and for how long have you had your driving license?
you see, to those who always think that "i drive at 90, i own lane 1".. i urge you to please look at a fellow driver's dilemma rushing his wife to the hospital. quoted from mazdaclubsg forum,
"Will you give way to others on the expressway when you're driving on the extreme right lane (lane 1) when you see them...
1) Not high beam but keep flashing their head lights followed by...
2) Having their right signal light on all the way despite already on the extreme right lane (which you know by now its likely an emergency)
3) still ignore him then he started to sound his horn
4) followed by winding down his window and start waving his hand signal you to give way to him....
5) or die die dont give way to him....
last night was rushing my wife to hospital due to some emergency and come across a young lady driving her old 95 model merc at average speed of 70-80km/h on lane 1
I did all the above mention praying that she can
give way to me or go slightly faster but she just simply ignore
plus all the lorry, bus and van taking up lane 2, i
almost wanted to push her away outta my lane but i cant do that
with my wife in the car

some might say "why not call an ambulance"???
My wife was at the risk of having a miscarriage due to serious bleeding and this is the 4th time rush to the hospital except this round condition is much worst than all the previous and calling an ambulance will end up sending her to the nearest hospital NUH instead of KKH which already have all her past history.
I just dont understand why cant she just give way to me or go slightly faster but to road hog at that kind of speed when i've done all i can???
Shall anything happened to my wife or my baby....I will never forgive her!!!!
"so to those who wouldnt want to give way to such you-think-they're-rude drivers, please think again. because i too have been in such a situation & there's just way too many road-hoggers on our expressways, roads, bend or no bend. lane 1 is the overtaking lane. not a strictly 90km/h lane.
I smell red herring loaded with grudge.

The discussion was lane changing in slow traffic. You're citing severe examples on the highway. Different principles apply.
As for you, so much so for tapping on that key without a second thought.
Sorry to hear about the wife though, did they make it in time to the hospital?
What happened to that right lane hogging punk in the end?
Edited by soleachip 07 Mar `08, 9:11PM
-