08 Sep, 05:52PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

Very noob Question From P plate.

Subscribe to Very noob Question From P plate. 14 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    786 posts since Jun '04
    • hi all hope u all still rmb me. i passed my TP already but now i am very worried about something.

"how to park without poles ?"

i ask this question to my instructor b4 he didn't reply to me.

now that i passed, when i park there won't be poles , so am i suppose to "agar agar" when parking ? i scare become lousy parker then my car take up 2 lots. give ppl curse and swear.

i wanna ask for some tips, ty for reading ^^.

718 posts since May '03
    • vertical parking just position ur car 45 deg and reverse in. sch teach one all cock one.

5,864 posts since Apr '03
    767 posts since Jun '06
    • I recommend sometime you go to the upper level of an HDB carpark where there are a few parked cars and just practice. At first its tricky, but you will slowly master it. Also in real life situations, try not to feel too pressured by people waiting for you

7,661 posts since Aug '06
    • When instructor teach, they want us to keep our car parallel to the lane (90deg perpendicular to the lot) and reverse into the lot with the help of the poles. And you can only do it in one try.

But in real life, things are different. You don't have to be 90 degs perpendicular to the lot and turn in in one try. You can position your car at an angle from the lot, it will be a lot easier to turn in. And you can also have multiple tries.

22 posts since Apr '08
    • The best is you drive a car with reverse sensor. I think most cars have it now. And also fix the blindspot mirror. Its very useful really. You would thank the blindspot mirrors alot to come.
      Practice makes perfect and think of your P plate as a privilege to make other cars wait. Take your time. Don't worry. Other drivers will understand if they see a P plate. Actually parking is pretty much guessing, judgement, trial and error.

969 posts since Sep '03
    • Reverse sensor is a "must thing" for me... most of my friend had installed the camera behind...

Aga aga if cannot just drive in out few times... after few months you will be pro liao..

17,682 posts since Jul '06
    5,497 posts since Jun '07
    • Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:

hi all hope u all still rmb me. i passed my TP already but now i am very worried about something.

"how to park without poles ?"

i ask this question to my instructor b4 he didn't reply to me.

now that i passed, when i park there won't be poles , so am i suppose to "agar agar" when parking ? i scare become lousy parker then my car take up 2 lots. give ppl curse and swear.

i wanna ask for some tips, ty for reading ^^.

hey congrats on passing your TP.

had problems trying to reverse park shortly after getting my license as well (you can only dive head in this many times!).

my solution:

drove to an empty car park during off peak hours (east coast car park for me)

enlist the help of a friend, very slowly try to reverse park beside a stationary car.

try parking on the left hand lot first.

in driving schools, there were markings on the rear windscreen to help indicate when we should turn, when to full lock and when to return the steering etc.

just use various marks on the stationary car to help as an indicating guide, for example, headlights, side mirror.

every car has different dimension, so you'll need to figure out the methods you can use to gauge distance.

Edited by soleachip 14 Apr `08, 2:15AM
    44,661 posts since Apr '05
    • for me vertical i go in 45 degrees about 1.5 - 2 vehicles beside the lot i want to park.

for parallel, its about 30-40 degrees coming in at an angle before steering the other way..just practice and it should be fine. if u have a back sensor then u can relax. also learn how to estimate how near you are to the curb when doing paralle, get used to your side mirrors.

1,511 posts since Oct '07
    • about  50 - 55 degrees is good.. the angle smooth to go in.. position your car in front of the car beside you then slot in using the mirrors lor.. go slow.. in case you miss a spot

108 posts since May '07
    • First of all, CONGRATS!! Welcome to the club..

Anyways, u don't need to be afraid la bro. Which ever way, 45deg or according to school method.., u gotta find a comfortable position that suits u. Die die follow school instructions oso no use if u tend to forget or uncertain. Just be sure to align ur car, 1/2 metre on both sides. Straighten out foward, check mirror and see the line demarking the lot. U'll get the hang of it... all the best to u. Drive safe dude... wink.png Oh here's a tip, when parallel parking I recommend remembering ur sighting points when to full clock and straighten.. u should be okay from there... Luck!!

6,889 posts since Jul '05
    136 posts since Jul '05
    • i park my vehicle using the rear view thru the sides mirror. as the side mirror, u got to adjust whereby u r able to c the marking. if entering side by side to cars, should be more easier as can use them as guide. thru the mirror, u just turn in as long as u dun hit the car beside is ok liao. best u go some carpark whereby most lots r empty n practice using the parking marking on every lot. another method is just open ur door n check bk lor.

Please Login or Signup to reply.