I rather believe that a few tailgaters are in a rush of time.. Maybe an emergency??
I would let them overtake and after they overtake i would proceed with my normal speed..
This way.. Both parties won't have any grudge against each other..
I know of a few people that will overtake the 'slow' car in front and then jam brakes.. So yup.. Beware..
If I can give way, I will do so.
If I cannot give way, then I'll use my left leg to lightly step on the brake.
Very often I wish there was this device to flash messages on the rear windscreen ... ie. press a button and then the driver behind sees "stop tailgating me" :P
Originally posted by catinthehat:If I can give way, I will do so.
If I cannot give way, then I'll use my left leg to lightly step on the brake.
Very often I wish there was this device to flash messages on the rear windscreen ... ie. press a button and then the driver behind sees "stop tailgating me" :P
there is such device around. always see it when the unmarked policecar is escorting a minister's vehicle.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:there is such device around. always see it when the unmarked policecar is escorting a minister's vehicle.
sg being sg....that thing is probably controlled item.![]()
come on, lane 1 is overtaking lane. if u travel at 90 or 100, doesn't mean u got the right to stay at the lane. u r suppose to give way to more faster cars as tats lane 1. unless u at lane 3, pple do tat, i dun noe wat to say. or, if u felt they r trying to challenge u, just press hard ur acceleration n run w him/her lor. wats so hard giving way, who knows it might be real emergency.
Originally posted by haruhatsu:come on, lane 1 is overtaking lane. if u travel at 90 or 100, doesn't mean u got the right to stay at the lane. u r suppose to give way to more faster cars as tats lane 1. unless u at lane 3, pple do tat, i dun noe wat to say. or, if u felt they r trying to challenge u, just press hard ur acceleration n run w him/her lor. wats so hard giving way, who knows it might be real emergency.
TS had already said (which I also believe) people who usually tailgate are people with heavily modded cars or sports cars like Evos, Subies, Lancers, blah blah blah. I don't believe these people are in an "emergency".
An emergency to go meet Satan maybe?
Originally posted by alleggerita:TS had already said (which I also believe) people who usually tailgate are people with heavily modded cars or sports cars like Evos, Subies, Lancers, blah blah blah. I don't believe these people are in an "emergency".
An emergency to go meet Satan maybe?
only people driving nissans/etc can have emergencies ar?
just give way. unless ur fragile ego does not allow the though that someone might really be on the way to something urgent.
in which case, i will just overtake u from the 2nd lane.
i would filter into lane 2 from 1 and switch on my HID and filter back into lane 1, blind em.
Originally posted by :: sun chaser :::Ooooh .. just a question for singapore drivers , how do you deal with tailgaters? They are really pissing me off .
fucking road-hogger, just give way.
Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:just give way. unless ur fragile ego does not allow the though that someone might really be on the way to something urgent.
in which case, i will just overtake u from the 2nd lane.
That's it, you've helped me answer Xcert's question.
If someone really has an emergency, he will simply go to lane 2 to overtake me.
Originally posted by Xcert:
only people driving nissans/etc can have emergencies ar?
That's not what I'm implying. I'm just saying if you were to OBSERVE. You will realise 80 to 90% of tailgaters are simply boyracers looking for thrill.
And if you are really in an emergency, DON'T tailgate. You are only putting yourself and other road users in grave danger. You can overtake and drive fast, but don't tailgate.
typical singaporeans ah i tell you... they always asume lane 1 is the real expressway, maintain at at speed limit and stay there. And when someone behind who is going faster comes up, they won't budge cos 1)they are at the "fastest" lane and 2) fastest lane is according to speed limit so, they find no reason to move aside. this is very evident in the N-S highway... some stay at 110 at the first lane and dun wanna move aside to let the faster ones through, until the 2nd lane is totally clear for them to change.. or they kena nighbeamed until buay tahan. ![]()
actually hor.. i only tail gate if the person is damn slow.. a lot of ppl think they have the right of way in lane 1 even when they are very slow.. then u can see this whole convoy of cars following this slow car.. and sometimes other lanes too many cars to overtake
Originally posted by alleggerita:That's not what I'm implying. I'm just saying if you were to OBSERVE. You will realise 80 to 90% of tailgaters are simply boyracers looking for thrill.
I dont tailgate...of the times I need to drive someone to the hospital...I will just switch on my headlights with fog lights and flash once or twice from behind far far away....
the problem is some drivers will persist in keeping at the speed limit on the right-most lane...
yes I can overtake from the left....but if U remember ur lessons...it can be more dangerous than speeding to overtake from the left...so I hope U are comfortable with the idea that U are making someone overtake from the left just because U are not a believer that emergencies can indeed happen to people(driving any type of car).
I am not saying anyone driving over the speed limit is someone with an emergency...but I dont see anything wrong with giving people the benefit of the doubt....in face...sometimes ambulances with siren on may not be conveying emergency cases...I presume U will still give way to them?
While we all know that SCDF ambulances can take pictures of a car blocking them to fine them...I still would like to take it that U wouldnt want to impede a real emergency.
Why not apply the same thinking to a private sedan coming up fast behind ur rear mirror?
and just to add on...a joyride driver will find it more fun to weave in and out of traffic than to high-beam U from behind.
Originally posted by Xcert:I dont tailgate...of the times I need to drive someone to the hospital...I will just switch on my headlights with fog lights and flash once or twice from behind far far away....
the problem is some drivers will persist in keeping at the speed limit on the right-most lane...
yes I can overtake from the left....but if U remember ur lessons...it can be more dangerous than speeding to overtake from the left...so I hope U are comfortable with the idea that U are making someone overtake from the left just because U are not a believer that emergencies can indeed happen to people(driving any type of car).
I am not saying anyone driving over the speed limit is someone with an emergency...but I dont see anything wrong with giving people the benefit of the doubt....in face...sometimes ambulances with siren on may not be conveying emergency cases...I presume U will still give way to them?
While we all know that SCDF ambulances can take pictures of a car blocking them to fine them...I still would like to take it that U wouldnt want to impede a real emergency.
Why not apply the same thinking to a private sedan coming up fast behind ur rear mirror?
and just to add on...a joyride driver will find it more fun to weave in and out of traffic than to high-beam U from behind.
Of course with high beam flashing, I will know it's an emergency.
I'm not saying I won't let tailgaters pass, why play along with them and let them endanger my life?
There was once I saw a TP WRX tailgating a cab on the first lane... is it okay to do that even for TP?? It really looked like it was dangerously close to the cab in front, like.. maybe half or less than half a car length.
when i was in primary school this bus driver tailgated a motorcycle. he jammed the accelerator and was barely a few inches from the motorbike. bloody dangerous.
Originally posted by :: sun chaser :::Ooooh .. just a question for singapore drivers , how do you deal with tailgaters? They are really pissing me off .
i never notice them.
Originally posted by alleggerita:That's it, you've helped me answer Xcert's question.
If someone really has an emergency, he will simply go to lane 2 to overtake me.
Bro, thats just me. And it would have to be possible to overtake from the left for me to do so. Learn to give way if u see ppl on ur tail or if u see coming quickly close to ur ass. It would make driving on the roads here a lil more pleasant.
Originally posted by tinuviel07:actually hor.. i only tail gate if the person is damn slow.. a lot of ppl think they have the right of way in lane 1 even when they are very slow.. then u can see this whole convoy of cars following this slow car.. and sometimes other lanes too many cars to overtake
what car do u drive? can i come test test ur backside? xD