-
-
depends on what you define as good. Some people like their tyres to be quiet. I dun care. My requirements are simply. Try to keep it below $100 per tyre, must have reasonably good grip on both wet and dry then I do my research. My first tyres were BF GOODRICH forgot what liao...good tyres for just 75 per tyre. Recently did some research and found good reviews on Falken Ziex 921 and when go and ask, only around 70 per tyre at Soh Brothers. It is noisy, but i dun care one cos i always on music loud loud so cant hear much tyre noise anyway haha
-
-
-
Originally posted by alleggerita:
Expensive doesn't mean very good also. Like the Michelin Pilot Primacy that came with my uncle's S40. The first 1yrs 6months very quiet, very grippy in wet and dry conditions. But after about 2yrs of usage, it's hardening and becoming very noisy. The size is 205/55/R16. I think one tyre about $200.
fren, most of the drivers i noe, recommend that u change ur tyres @ 40k km or 2 yrs, whichever comes first. thats when the best performance of the tyres will have been used.
the tyres can still be used tho.. just that they will not be performing at their best.
anyway to TS, hankook, falken, bf goodrich would prolly have decent tyres in ur price range. u would have to go recce and research a bit on what u wan from ur tyres. u would need to ask more detailed questions for clearer answers.
-
-
-
Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:
fren, most of the drivers i noe, recommend that u change ur tyres @ 40k km or 2 yrs, whichever comes first. thats when the best performance of the tyres will have been used.
the tyres can still be used tho.. just that they will not be performing at their best.
anyway to TS, hankook, falken, bf goodrich would prolly have decent tyres in ur price range. u would have to go recce and research a bit on what u wan from ur tyres. u would need to ask more detailed questions for clearer answers.
But I have encountered tyres that remained quiet even into it's 3rd year.

-
-
-
Originally posted by soleachip:
how come off road tyres will consume more petrol?
Increase in friction = Increase in fuel needed to set tyres in motion?
piang... then best to stick to those falken and micheline types?
Yeah..that's why it consumes more petrol. And yeah, stick with tyres like Michelin Energy. Tyres with low rolling resistance and special silicon compounds can help cut down petrol consumption.
-
-
-
Originally posted by alleggerita:
Yeah..that's why it consumes more petrol. And yeah, stick with tyres like Michelin Energy. Tyres with low rolling resistance and special silicon compounds can help cut down petrol consumption.
Ok just received the AA magazine today. They provided a list of so called "reliable"workshops. Will try them out. So generally speaking Michelin is more reliable lah. Thanks mate.
-
-
-
Originally posted by soleachip:
Ok just received the AA magazine today. They provided a list of so called "reliable"workshops. Will try them out. So generally speaking Michelin is more reliable lah. Thanks mate.
No la. Michelin's price is a killer man. You can get tyres of near similar quality and functionality at lower prices.
Edit: Typo
Edited by alleggerita 22 Apr `08, 11:26PM
-