<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Dangerous Roads' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/2/topics/315467</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by SexFrenzy @ Sun, 18 May 2008 02:35:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;there are no dangerous roads only dangerous drivers&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 18 May 2008 02:35:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8094125</guid>
      <author>SexFrenzy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by JJxJJ @ Sat, 10 May 2008 16:41:25 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Neo Tiew Road&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 16:41:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8075963</guid>
      <author>JJxJJ</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Sat, 10 May 2008 15:30:01 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Elysium7:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Speaking of other dangerous roads, I am genuinely scared of the
roundabout at just outside Newton Circus there, off
Bukit&amp;nbsp;Timah and close to Newton MRT on Scotts Road. It would
be a nightmare in terms of congestion, but I still think they
should install traffic lights there because so many people don't
know how to properly use a roundabout and what lane they should be
in etc.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yeah totally bonkas, that roundabout. The lanes should be wider.
:(&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 15:30:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8075861</guid>
      <author>soleachip</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Sat, 10 May 2008 15:29:21 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;That really curvy road, I think its South Buona Vista road?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Travelled along south buona vista road for the first time today,
which one sharper ar? devils bend or this one? Going slow is fine
but oncoming traffic travels pretty quickly.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 15:29:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8075860</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by Ferrari_RoXz @ Sat, 10 May 2008 15:17:06 +0800</title>
in etc.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
There is indeed a traffic light there, BUT it's only operational
during peak hours, The rest of the day, you are on your own.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 15:17:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8075843</guid>
      <author>Ferrari_RoXz</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by sbst275 @ Sat, 10 May 2008 11:08:51 +0800</title>
in etc.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
even if you've traffic lights it wun solve the prob esp if the
traffic light goes red very very fast&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 11:08:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8075308</guid>
      <author>sbst275</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by Elysium7 @ Sat, 10 May 2008 09:28:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Speaking of other dangerous roads, I am genuinely scared of the
in etc.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 09:28:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8075100</guid>
      <author>Elysium7</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by Dan_on_MonsterTruck @ Sat, 10 May 2008 02:31:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Boonlay&#8230; always see accidents around that area.. i think its
eerie.. eeyer!!!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 02:31:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8074898</guid>
      <author>Dan_on_MonsterTruck</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Sat, 26 Apr 2008 19:52:58 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Drove past the junction earlier on, no wonder the jam from all
four corners. I think it was a light blue Chevy, no idea which
model though.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yeah drainage needs to be improved, especially along Paya Lebar
area of the PIE. Always see vehicles pulled up along the road
shoulder during heavy downpour. It's impossible to see beyond the
windscreen. Even wipers are not fast enough.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 26 Apr 2008 19:52:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8040890</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by caleb_chiang @ Sat, 26 Apr 2008 19:48:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;if raining, all road seems dangerous&#8230; Especially expressway
where sudden ponding is there&#8230;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 26 Apr 2008 19:48:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8040883</guid>
      <author>caleb_chiang</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by Naughtius Maximus @ Sat, 26 Apr 2008 19:38:32 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;There are no "dangerous" roads, just tricky ones. Only dangerous
drivers.... Some exceptions though, inherently slippery roads and
landslide prone. But give a reckless driver a straight road; he'll
find a way to crash his ride one way or the other. South Bouna
Vista Rd is pretty dope when u driving at night. But hey, it's all
fun and games till someone dies...&amp;nbsp; &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/set1/wink.png" alt=
"wink.png" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;By the way there was a crash between a Chevy and
a mobile crane of all things today, at the Bedok North/ Chai Chee
junction. Straight road.., just couldn't wait for the right turn
arrow I guess... case in point... there's no point.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 26 Apr 2008 19:38:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8040861</guid>
      <author>Naughtius Maximus</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Fri, 25 Apr 2008 00:56:11 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;And come to think of it nothing beats this: &lt;strong&gt;North Yungas
Road, aka &#8220;Road of Death&#8221;, Bolivia&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=
"http://travellingboard.net/wp-content/uploads/2007/10/death-road.jpg"
height="344" alt="" width="500" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 25 Apr 2008 00:56:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037541</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Fri, 25 Apr 2008 00:53:57 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
i hate that place. jam like mad on peak hours.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it's always empty during the hours i drive by the area!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 25 Apr 2008 00:53:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037533</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:57:42 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by soleachip:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yah for me also. actually taking the ecp rochor exit need to be
cautious also because it comes to a rather abrupt traffic junction
after the downward slope. always take extra care around that
area.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
i hate that place. jam like mad on peak hours.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:57:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037377</guid>
      <author>alwaysdisturbed</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:53:09 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i have to know then i can avoid mah. somemore if i have to use
it i will exercise more caution.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yah for me also. actually taking the ecp rochor exit need to be
cautious also because it comes to a rather abrupt traffic junction
after the downward slope. always take extra care around that
area.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:53:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037362</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:51:31 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Pitot:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Dont get me wrong. Road designs and surface do require
consideration. That is why the rest of us have been saying its all
common sense.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It is precisely why most drivers make it thru safely and why
some end up crashing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That is because most of them took the parameters into
consideration and drove within the safe limit. While some chose not
to and end up in the ditch. This has to be determined by the road
user. Which is why human errors are formed = accident.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;very true. i agree. you're spot on dude.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:51:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037358</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:48:36 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;You siao ar. People try avoiding accident prone areas you on the
other hand want to find them. &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/BoxedEmoticonSet/confused.png" alt=
"confused.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i have to know then i can avoid mah. somemore if i have to use
it i will exercise more caution.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:48:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037344</guid>
      <author>alwaysdisturbed</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by Pitot @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:43:47 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;If you believe road accidents are only caused by human and
mechanical errors, then bo bian up to you lah. Everyone has
different opinion mah. If you think road designs, surface, wet and
dry conditions don't require consideration, then nevermind lah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Dont get me wrong. Road designs and surface do require
consideration. That is why the rest of us have been saying its all
common sense.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It is precisely why most drivers make it thru safely and why
some end up crashing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That is because most of them took the parameters into
consideration and drove within the safe limit. While some chose not
to and end up in the ditch. This has to be determined by the road
user. Which is why human errors are formed = accident.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:43:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037326</guid>
      <author>Pitot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:37:26 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I don't know leh. From your previous posts, it seems that you
are directing the problem towards the road surface and weather.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If not, the rest of us wouldnt try to explain to you what is
going on already.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Same logic again. Why do you see signs asking you to drive
safely? Common sense like the others said what.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nicholl highway has nothing to do with what we are talking
about, which is road surface and weather in the first place.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Heh, open to all kinds of discussion lah. Public forum mah.
Though simple responses akin to the south buona vista road, old
tampines road (that i know liao) and upper thompson area as
mentioned by some others are more or less what I'm looking for&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you believe road accidents are only caused by human and
mechanical errors, then bo bian up to you lah. Everyone has
different opinion mah. If you think road designs, surface, wet and
dry conditions don't require consideration, then nevermind lah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I listed the nicoll highway as an example of how transport
engineering can play an inconspicuous role in accidents as
well.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:37:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037302</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by Pitot @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:26:53 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;nnb no one is blaming the goddamn road lah wah lao eh. why the
drama?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;on the topic of road accidents, yeah sure human factors
(drivers/speed etc) and mechanical (vehicles) factors play a big
part, but to say roads and traffic design/engineering are things
you should not question and consider is a sweeping statement
lah.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;nicoll highway leh?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't know leh. From your previous posts, it seems that you
are directing the problem towards the road surface and weather.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If not, the rest of us wouldnt try to explain to you what is
going on already.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Same logic again. Why do you see signs asking you to drive
safely? Common sense like the others said what.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nicholl highway has nothing to do with what we are talking
about, which is road surface and weather in the first place.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:26:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037276</guid>
      <author>Pitot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by soleachip @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:22:08 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;They play a part to make our roads safer. But to avoid
accidents, its the driver who is at fault.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't see how we can blame the road. Or weather it just doesnt
work that way in insurance or court.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This is really absurd. If its a accident, it means something
unatural happened.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Roads and weather are dead fixtures which we cant change. When i
say roads i am talking about paved roads in singapore which you are
asking about in the first place.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Like stella said earlier, if so many other drivers can drive
safely why cant the rest? The ones who got thru safely were
lucky?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Absurd! haha.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;nnb no one is blaming the goddamn road lah wah lao eh. why the
drama?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;on the topic of road accidents, yeah sure human factors
(drivers/speed etc) and mechanical (vehicles) factors play a big
part, but to say roads and traffic design/engineering are things
you should not question and consider is a sweeping statement
lah.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;nicoll highway leh?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:22:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037257</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by Pitot @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:18:53 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Hmmm... this was what came up:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: x-small;"&gt;Reduction of speed
limit for South Buona Vista Road:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: x-small;"&gt;South Buona Vista Road is a
winding two-lane, two-way, stretch of road. We received feedback
from motorists that they find it dangerous to negotiate the bends
at high speeds. Speed-related accidents accounted for about 60% of
accidents in 2003 and 2004 along this stretch of road. LTA and TP
will reduce the road speed limit from 50 km/h to 40km/h for the
safety of motorists.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That is why you excercise control when driving.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Cause of accidents at this stretch of the roads 60% are speed
related which means human error.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:18:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037247</guid>
      <author>Pitot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by sbst275 @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:18:50 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Sometimes we need to feedback also mah. Keeping to speed limits
don't guarantee absolute road safety. Sometimes the speed limit may
need adjustments and revisions as well.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
speeding is usually the main factor for accidents&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if you feel 50kph too fast, you've your own freedom to go
slower&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:18:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037244</guid>
      <author>sbst275</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by kopiosatu @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:18:50 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by sbst275:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;only thing i sometimes cannot blame drivers is over jaywalkers
esp those who just dash across the road&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;somemore just beside there's a overhead bridge&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;common sense lacking from the jaywalkers.&amp;nbsp; lol~&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it all leads to accidents&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:18:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037245</guid>
      <author>kopiosatu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Dangerous Roads replied by kopiosatu @ Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:17:59 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;its a speed limit&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;not a "must go at that speed" number plate&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it is the drivers descretion whether to go slower than the speed
limit.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Apr 2008 23:17:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2:315467:8037238</guid>
      <author>kopiosatu</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>