Originally posted by Pitot:Yea! Then how to blame road or weather? It doesnt work that way in insurance also anyway.
You mean only human and mechanical errors contribute to most accidents. Then traffic engineers kum lan one issit?
Road and environment deficiencies play a part as well k.
Not all accidents come down to human and mechanical error k.
Like I said what they taught us in school and what they list down in fine prints on insurance policy are theories k.
This one is practical driving discussion around the island k.
i still don't see any reason to blame the road.
u know its really winding, u jolly well slow down.
ur not sure of the road, don't go so fast.
better late than never.
Originally posted by soleachip:You mean only human and mechanical errors contribute to most accidents. Then traffic engineers kum lan one issit?
Road and environment deficiencies play a part as well k.
Not all accidents come down to human and mechanical error k.
tat's why they set diff speed limits on diff roads depending on road condition
if you still insist on speeding, dun blame others
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:wah, w/o streetdirectory working, damn hard to find.
You siao ar. People try avoiding accident prone areas you on the other hand want to find them. ![]()
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:wah, w/o streetdirectory working, damn hard to find.
its near the casuarina prata there, the winding road near the carpark.
Originally posted by Elysium7:That really curvy road, I think its South Buona Vista road?
Hmmm... this was what came up:
Reduction of speed limit for South Buona Vista Road:
South Buona Vista Road is a winding two-lane, two-way, stretch of road. We received feedback from motorists that they find it dangerous to negotiate the bends at high speeds. Speed-related accidents accounted for about 60% of accidents in 2003 and 2004 along this stretch of road. LTA and TP will reduce the road speed limit from 50 km/h to 40km/h for the safety of motorists.
They play a part to make our roads safer. But to avoid accidents, its the driver who is at fault.
I don't see how we can blame the road. Or weather it just doesnt work that way in insurance or court.
This is really absurd. If its a accident, it means something unatural happened.
Roads and weather are dead fixtures which we cant change. When i say roads i am talking about paved roads in singapore which you are asking about in the first place.
Like stella said earlier, if so many other drivers can drive safely why cant the rest? The ones who got thru safely were lucky?
Absurd! haha.
Originally posted by sbst275:
tat's why they set diff speed limits on diff roads depending on road conditionif you still insist on speeding, dun blame others
Sometimes we need to feedback also mah. Keeping to speed limits don't guarantee absolute road safety. Sometimes the speed limit may need adjustments and revisions as well.
only thing i sometimes cannot blame drivers is over jaywalkers esp those who just dash across the road
somemore just beside there's a overhead bridge
its a speed limit
not a "must go at that speed" number plate
it is the drivers descretion whether to go slower than the speed limit.
Originally posted by soleachip:Sometimes we need to feedback also mah. Keeping to speed limits don't guarantee absolute road safety. Sometimes the speed limit may need adjustments and revisions as well.
speeding is usually the main factor for accidents
if you feel 50kph too fast, you've your own freedom to go slower
Originally posted by sbst275:only thing i sometimes cannot blame drivers is over jaywalkers esp those who just dash across the road
somemore just beside there's a overhead bridge
common sense lacking from the jaywalkers. lol~
it all leads to accidents
Originally posted by soleachip:Hmmm... this was what came up:
Reduction of speed limit for South Buona Vista Road:
South Buona Vista Road is a winding two-lane, two-way, stretch of road. We received feedback from motorists that they find it dangerous to negotiate the bends at high speeds. Speed-related accidents accounted for about 60% of accidents in 2003 and 2004 along this stretch of road. LTA and TP will reduce the road speed limit from 50 km/h to 40km/h for the safety of motorists.
That is why you excercise control when driving.
Cause of accidents at this stretch of the roads 60% are speed related which means human error.
Originally posted by Pitot:They play a part to make our roads safer. But to avoid accidents, its the driver who is at fault.
I don't see how we can blame the road. Or weather it just doesnt work that way in insurance or court.
This is really absurd. If its a accident, it means something unatural happened.
Roads and weather are dead fixtures which we cant change. When i say roads i am talking about paved roads in singapore which you are asking about in the first place.
Like stella said earlier, if so many other drivers can drive safely why cant the rest? The ones who got thru safely were lucky?
Absurd! haha.
nnb no one is blaming the goddamn road lah wah lao eh. why the drama?
on the topic of road accidents, yeah sure human factors (drivers/speed etc) and mechanical (vehicles) factors play a big part, but to say roads and traffic design/engineering are things you should not question and consider is a sweeping statement lah.
nicoll highway leh?
Originally posted by soleachip:nnb no one is blaming the goddamn road lah wah lao eh. why the drama?
on the topic of road accidents, yeah sure human factors (drivers/speed etc) and mechanical (vehicles) factors play a big part, but to say roads and traffic design/engineering are things you should not question and consider is a sweeping statement lah.
nicoll highway leh?
I don't know leh. From your previous posts, it seems that you are directing the problem towards the road surface and weather.
If not, the rest of us wouldnt try to explain to you what is going on already.
Same logic again. Why do you see signs asking you to drive safely? Common sense like the others said what.
Nicholl highway has nothing to do with what we are talking about, which is road surface and weather in the first place.
Originally posted by Pitot:I don't know leh. From your previous posts, it seems that you are directing the problem towards the road surface and weather.
If not, the rest of us wouldnt try to explain to you what is going on already.
Same logic again. Why do you see signs asking you to drive safely? Common sense like the others said what.
Nicholl highway has nothing to do with what we are talking about, which is road surface and weather in the first place.
Heh, open to all kinds of discussion lah. Public forum mah. Though simple responses akin to the south buona vista road, old tampines road (that i know liao) and upper thompson area as mentioned by some others are more or less what I'm looking for
If you believe road accidents are only caused by human and mechanical errors, then bo bian up to you lah. Everyone has different opinion mah. If you think road designs, surface, wet and dry conditions don't require consideration, then nevermind lah.
I listed the nicoll highway as an example of how transport engineering can play an inconspicuous role in accidents as well.
Originally posted by soleachip:
If you believe road accidents are only caused by human and mechanical errors, then bo bian up to you lah. Everyone has different opinion mah. If you think road designs, surface, wet and dry conditions don't require consideration, then nevermind lah.
Dont get me wrong. Road designs and surface do require consideration. That is why the rest of us have been saying its all common sense.
It is precisely why most drivers make it thru safely and why some end up crashing.
That is because most of them took the parameters into consideration and drove within the safe limit. While some chose not to and end up in the ditch. This has to be determined by the road user. Which is why human errors are formed = accident.
Originally posted by soleachip:You siao ar. People try avoiding accident prone areas you on the other hand want to find them.
i have to know then i can avoid mah. somemore if i have to use it i will exercise more caution.
Originally posted by Pitot:Dont get me wrong. Road designs and surface do require consideration. That is why the rest of us have been saying its all common sense.
It is precisely why most drivers make it thru safely and why some end up crashing.
That is because most of them took the parameters into consideration and drove within the safe limit. While some chose not to and end up in the ditch. This has to be determined by the road user. Which is why human errors are formed = accident.
very true. i agree. you're spot on dude.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:i have to know then i can avoid mah. somemore if i have to use it i will exercise more caution.
yah for me also. actually taking the ecp rochor exit need to be cautious also because it comes to a rather abrupt traffic junction after the downward slope. always take extra care around that area.
Originally posted by soleachip:yah for me also. actually taking the ecp rochor exit need to be cautious also because it comes to a rather abrupt traffic junction after the downward slope. always take extra care around that area.
i hate that place. jam like mad on peak hours.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:
i hate that place. jam like mad on peak hours.
it's always empty during the hours i drive by the area!
And come to think of it nothing beats this: North Yungas Road, aka “Road of Death”, Bolivia

There are no "dangerous" roads, just tricky ones. Only dangerous drivers.... Some exceptions though, inherently slippery roads and landslide prone. But give a reckless driver a straight road; he'll find a way to crash his ride one way or the other. South Bouna Vista Rd is pretty dope when u driving at night. But hey, it's all fun and games till someone dies...
By the way there was a crash between a Chevy and a mobile crane of all things today, at the Bedok North/ Chai Chee junction. Straight road.., just couldn't wait for the right turn arrow I guess... case in point... there's no point.