-
-
Hi guys... just wanna share my painful traumatising experience..and I hope to receive any valuable advice from the experienced drivers in here...thanks!
I finally got my licence recently, on 29th Jan 08 after failing my TP test four times. I was so excited and happy. Who wouldn't right? I spent so much money on my practical lessons and the TP tests itself..so it was a bittersweet feeling when I finally got it.
Anyway sorry to stray from the point..and to cut a very long story short, I got into an accident while driving a friend's car last month. It's totally my fault lah. My niece who was in the car with me said that I wasn't concentrating because I was distracted by something? (Till this date, whenever I tried to rewind back what happened, I really can't think of anything that might have distracted me) somehow I swerved and hit a taxi on my left. Stupid me, instead of hitting on e-brake, I go and step on the accelerator all the way, causing a huge dent and scratches to the rear of the taxi!
My friend's car also jia lat lah. The signal indicator broken and the left headlight too. And the car doors, hiaz...scratched like nobody's business.
Anyways, I dunno how I summoned the courage, but I drove on and signalled to the cabbie to follow me. We exchanged numbers, I called my friend, he came over, and he settled with the cabbie on the damages etc.
That accident taught me a lesson, albeit a very painful one. I almost ruined our friendship. And also,even though the accident was not a serious one and we settle it amongst ourselves, I can never forget the look on my niece's face. She was so frightened. :'( I will never forgive myself if anything were to happen to her.
I've been thinking about the accident non stop and it's been haunting me. I feel like giving up on driving... but a part of me tells me not to because of the time and efforts I've put in to get my licence in the first place. I'm human after all right?
What do you think should I do? Hiaz...
-
-
-
Originally posted by SheilaSarahRae:
Hi guys... just wanna share my painful traumatising experience..and I hope to receive any valuable advice from the experienced drivers in here...thanks!
I finally got my licence recently, on 29th Jan 08 after failing my TP test four times. I was so excited and happy. Who wouldn't right? I spent so much money on my practical lessons and the TP tests itself..so it was a bittersweet feeling when I finally got it.
Anyway sorry to stray from the point..and to cut a very long story short, I got into an accident while driving a friend's car last month. It's totally my fault lah. My niece who was in the car with me said that I wasn't concentrating because I was distracted by something? (Till this date, whenever I tried to rewind back what happened, I really can't think of anything that might have distracted me) somehow I swerved and hit a taxi on my left. Stupid me, instead of hitting on e-brake, I go and step on the accelerator all the way, causing a huge dent and scratches to the rear of the taxi!
My friend's car also jia lat lah. The signal indicator broken and the left headlight too. And the car doors, hiaz...scratched like nobody's business.
Anyways, I dunno how I summoned the courage, but I drove on and signalled to the cabbie to follow me. We exchanged numbers, I called my friend, he came over, and he settled with the cabbie on the damages etc.
That accident taught me a lesson, albeit a very painful one. I almost ruined our friendship. And also,even though the accident was not a serious one and we settle it amongst ourselves, I can never forget the look on my niece's face. She was so frightened. :'( I will never forgive myself if anything were to happen to her.
I've been thinking about the accident non stop and it's been haunting me. I feel like giving up on driving... but a part of me tells me not to because of the time and efforts I've put in to get my licence in the first place. I'm human after all right?
Well, accidents happen, so don't take it too hard, it's part and parcel of growing up and driving on the roads.
Don't mind if i ask, what is the purpose of you trying so hard to get your license? Because I'm assuming unless your family has a family car waiting for you to drive, or your parents give you a car for your birthday present etc etc, you won't be driving your friend's car right? If that's the case, then you have to consider whether your preferred choice of transport would be driving a not. There are a lot of people who get their licenses but do not fully understand what it's all about. When you drive, you are responsible for the lives of those in your car, and it's also a personal responsibility that you don't look at chiobu or etc when you are driving.
That said, I believe that everyone should be given a chance. What you have to do is to walk out of this shadow. I believe that this incident only led to cosmetic damages but remember, don't ever be distracted! Today you scrape the side of a taxi, you'll never know when you might rear end a bus or a lorry or truck. How long you'll take to regain back your confidence, is up to you.
Edited by nightsky87 03 May `08, 10:06AM
-
-
-
(Till this date, whenever I tried to rewind back what happened, I really can't think of anything that might have distracted me) somehow I swerved and hit a taxi on my left. Stupid me, instead of hitting on e-brake, I go and step on the accelerator all the way, causing a huge dent and scratches to the rear of the taxi!
good tt u admitted that your are wrong...
but this passage in particular hit me the most...
somehow u cannot pinpoint the cause of your accident which means u haven really learnt your lesson....
either that or you have involuntary muscle spasms.. which i dun think is the case...
if you dun go and rectify this problem.. there will be a lot of future cases whereby u involuntary do this or press wrong peddle... and it wun juz be scratches anymore..
-
-
-
well, they say the most painful lesson will have the most effect on you...
but something bugs me, shudnt the TP completely disqualify/bar someone from driving once he fails a 2nd/3rd or multiple times?
taking multiple times and yet not passing more or less would say, he/she just cannot drive. it's like having a student retain and take the O levels 3/4 times. what say you all?
-
-
-
Originally posted by sinicker:
well, they say the most painful lesson will have the most effect on you...
but something bugs me, shudnt the TP completely disqualify/bar someone from driving once he fails a 2nd/3rd or multiple times?
taking multiple times and yet not passing more or less would say, he/she just cannot drive. it's like having a student retain and take the O levels 3/4 times. what say you all?why should TP ban someone from taking driving test should he/her fail several times? tats an immature thinking.
-
-
-
life goes on. never drive anyone else's car unless its a rented one or ur own one. most pple who drives accident before.
-
-
-
Originally posted by so_nice:
why should TP ban someone from taking driving test should he/her fail several times? tats an immature thinking.
Because maybe he believe driving, while experience can improve, a big part thats important is also your innate abilities.. like own SA, estimation, judgement, etc..
It's not like driving you can 'study', I believe in between the test also got alot of practice and revision lessons, but if you keep failing despite multiple tries, then something might be really wrong leh?
Just like cycling, some people die die also cannot cycle, some people no need to teach intuitively can cycle.
-
-
-
Actually,u can sort of pay your friend some extra compensation money in one way.
That method is,as explained in the newspaper you can over-claim the insurance cost from the cab's insurance...try to fake heavy trauma damage and whiplash injury and u can get quite a few thousand bucks extra.
Edited by ceecookie 03 May `08, 2:32PM
-
-
-
Hi guys!
Thank you for your contributions...I really appreciate it!
However, I would like to reply to the following. Let me first begin with HolySniper and sinicker.
HolySniper said: ''sighs.. when someone fails his/her TP so many times, it speaks about their driving skills and judgements.."
sinicker said: ''well, they say the most painful lesson will have the most effect on you...
taking multiple times and yet not passing more or less would say, he/she just cannot drive. it's like having a student retain and take the O levels 3/4 times. what say you all?''I am sorry, but that is absolutely ridiculous. How can someone's repetitive failure of his/her TP test be the basis of his or her driving skills and judgements? I believe whether you're a school or private student, what you learn from the school or the private driving instructors are the basics and whatever's necessary for you to obtain your driver's licence. You can only improve your driving, reaction and judgement skills when you start driving on your own. Practice makes perfect.
It seems to me that both of you are perfectionists and have no regards to such a thing called a mistake, and the human ability to learn from it.
However let me digress. I somewhat agree with nightsky87 comments:
''It's not like driving you can 'study', I believe in between the test also got allot of practice and revision lessons, but if you keep failing despite multiple tries, then something might be really wrong leh?''
I do not have the luxury of time due to my busy work schedule, I only managed to squeeze in 2 practical lessons per week 2 months before my TP test date.
I was a student with SSDC, and failed during those four times with them. I got really frustrated, cancelled my student account with them and enrolled with a private instructor. I passed under his guidance.
I admit that I could have gone for more practice lessons while I was with SSDC. Then again I don't proclaim to be a good driver. In time and with a lot of practice, I'm sure I can.
<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]-->
And nightsky87, the reason why I tried so hard to get a licence was because of this job offer I got which requires me to have my own transport. I’ll be on the move all the time you see, visiting clients etc.
I totally agree 100% with you when you said that when you drive, you are not only responsible for the lives of those in your car, but other road users and pedestrians as well.
My friend loaned me his car as he was driving his dad’s that day. I have paid him in full for the damages I’ve caused to his car. Even though I know he has accepted my apologies, but somewhat, I just feel that I have ruined our friendship. That accident shook me up badly.
And to answer your question, truth be told I wasn’t looking at any hunks at all. I really can’t quite place what had distracted me. Hiaz….
-
-
-
Hey Sheila, I can totally relate to your post!
Yeah take it easy, after my first minor accident some friends said the same thing. Mount the kerb at 70 or 90km, both of them screamed.
It’s natural for new drivers to be involved in minor disasters. And hey that wasn’t even a close brush; everyone’s hands and legs are still intact.
Start with an orientation session with an experienced driver next to you and try it during off peak hours. You’ll surely regain confidence.Maybe your friend’s car’s design is different from that of your instructor’s and the ones in SSDC, takes some time getting used to different designs. Where I used to take auto lessons in CDC, the Toyota Vios had smaller brake pedals, often had to take extra care in pedalling the right one. So you’re not the only one with occasional disorientation!
Passing TP at first or second try doesn’t make anyone a good driver. Some have the luxury of time and money to go for lessons a few days before the test, hence more preparation time.I made it a point not to drive my family members around during the first 2 months. Not a good idea imho. As for friends it's ok. Hehehe...
Hunk ogling is alright as long as you do it during the red light. Think of it as a chance to practice sense of co ordination.
Edited by soleachip 03 May `08, 4:40PM
-
-
-
Hi guys!
Thank you for your contributions...I really appreciate it!
However, I would like to reply to the following. Let me first begin with HolySniper and sinicker.
HolySniper said: ''sighs.. when someone fails his/her TP so many times, it speaks about their driving skills and judgements.."
sinicker said: ''well, they say the most painful lesson will have the most effect on you...
taking multiple times and yet not passing more or less would say, he/she just cannot drive. it's like having a student retain and take the O levels 3/4 times. what say you all?''I am sorry, but that is absolutely ridiculous. How can someone's repetitive failure of his/her TP test be the basis of his or her driving skills and judgements? I believe whether you're a school or private student, what you learn from the school or the private driving instructors are the basics and whatever's necessary for you to obtain your driver's licence. You can only improve your driving, reaction and judgement skills when you start driving on your own. Practice makes perfect.
It seems to me that both of you are perfectionists and have no regards to such a thing called a mistake, and the human ability to learn from it.
However let me digress. I somewhat agree with nightsky87 comments:
''It's not like driving you can 'study', I believe in between the test also got allot of practice and revision lessons, but if you keep failing despite multiple tries, then something might be really wrong leh?''
I do not have the luxury of time due to my busy work schedule, I only managed to squeeze in 2 practical lessons per week 2 months before my TP test date.
I was a student with SSDC, and failed during those four times with them. I got really frustrated, cancelled my student account with them and enrolled with a private instructor. I passed under his guidance.
I admit that I could have gone for more practice lessons while I was with SSDC. Then again I don't proclaim to be a good driver. In time and with a lot of practice, I'm sure I can.
<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]-->
And nightsky87, the reason why I tried so hard to get a licence was because of this job offer I got which requires me to have my own transport. I’ll be on the move all the time you see, visiting clients etc.
I totally agree 100% with you when you said that when you drive, you are not only responsible for the lives of those in your car, but other road users and pedestrians as well.
My friend loaned me his car as he was driving his dad’s that day. I have paid him in full for the damages I’ve caused to his car. Even though I know he has accepted my apologies, but somewhat, I just feel that I have ruined our friendship. That accident shook me up badly.
And to answer your question, truth be told I wasn’t looking at any hunks at all. I really can’t quite place what had distracted me. Hiaz….
Ok, first let me state that eventually, you have the right to decide whether you want to drive or not, no one else can take that right away from you since you already have gotten your license and because we live in a free country. And I was only joking about the hunks statement, please don't take any offense!
Anyway, like you said, since you've paid your friend in full, then maybe it's time to move on, since what has happened has already happened. Since I presume you'll be doing a lot of driving in future, don't let this minor incident be a burden for you forever. In fact, treat it as a lesson, because at least next time if anything (touch wood) happens, then you'll more or less know the right things to do, etc, so you won't be totally panicked. As you drive, driving will more or less become a natural thing to do and I guess what's important is to enjoy the driving instead of thinking of it and doing it like a chore.
-
-
-
Originally posted by nightsky87:
Ok, first let me state that eventually, you have the right to decide whether you want to drive or not, no one else can take that right away from you since you already have gotten your license and because we live in a free country. And I was only joking about the hunks statement, please don't take any offense!
Anyway, like you said, since you've paid your friend in full, then maybe it's time to move on, since what has happened has already happened. Since I presume you'll be doing a lot of driving in future, don't let this minor incident be a burden for you forever. In fact, treat it as a lesson, because at least next time if anything (touch wood) happens, then you'll more or less know the right things to do, etc, so you won't be totally panicked. As you drive, driving will more or less become a natural thing to do and I guess what's important is to enjoy the driving instead of thinking of it and doing it like a chore.
haha. wat i think is nobody is born to know everything. some are inclined towards driving, some are not. driving defensively doesnt mean one does not haf the abilities to chiong either.i've got into worse off accident as compared to threadstarter and u also know it bro. but then again it is important to pick up ur courage at where u lost it. i'm confident to say that i a much better driver then i was a year back.
dun let this accident be a burden. be glad tat there was nothing serious. let this experience make u a better driver. practise defensive driving!
-
-
-
Why I see some of you mofos have a freaking problem with people who take more than one attempt to pass is it? I took 3 attempts but let me tell you, passing once doesn't make you a better driver. It's like saying every person with a PhD is very smart. In actual fact, they are just better than many of us in terms of taking exams and doing research. Watch a Top Gear episode, a PhD holder can't even get a manual car to move.
After passing your TP, the real driving scene is way off the situation one is in during his L-plate period. If anyone still thinks it is ok to drive like an L-plater after getting his/her license, that fella better go jump off a cliff or something lah. Crude but it is the cold hard truth.
In truth, passing TP is more than just preparation. I refuse to believe anyone that says that there is no quota thingy going on and testers do not show preference to school students. I feel luck plays an important part as well. It's impossible to prepare for everything in anything, one can only hope to prepare enough. The rest is up to luck.
Besides, I have many capable driver friends that did not clear their TP on the first attempt. Sinicker, I believe many of them, even perhaps me, can own the crap out of you on the roads. So don't think you pass first time very li hai. For all we know, you may just be one of the ah kuas that dare not to go beyond 70kmh in any point of your driving lifetime.
-
-
-
Hello soleachip, nightsky87 and so_nice!
Thank you very much for your comments. I must say it's very heartwarming. I guess what I need right now is understanding rather than criticism huh? :)
To soleachip, you're totally spot on! I also took auto lessons at SSDC and they use Honda Accords over there. I must say I found the car slightly too big and always found it a challenge to do my vertical parking and directional change. It was only after I changed to a private instructor (his car is a Toyota Vios, and I have to agree the brake pedals are indeed small!) that I realised that it was such a breeze doing the parkings, directional change, etc in the circuit compared to using the Honda!
I dunno lah, maybe it's because the Vios is smaller, hence it was so much easier when it comes to the parking. And my private instructor also gave me a lot of very good pointers and tips which unfortunately none of the SSDC instructors ever did.
And you know soleachip, after what happened the first time, I'm never driving my family members again. At least not for a very long time.
Hunk ogling? Erm.. usually I tend to gawk at nice cars lah..always imagining how it's like driving it... :P
To nightsky87, no offence taken. :) And again I have to totally agree with you. If everyone has the same mindset as you, I'm sure singapore roads would be a pleasant ride for everyone. :)
And so_nice, thanks for being so kind and understanding. I guess the key point here is to learn from this mistake, move on, and be a better and careful driver. And hey, sorry if I sound ignorant, but what is defensive driving? Can you please enlighten me? Thanks in advance!
Wishing all of you a nice weekend! Stay indoors, the weather's really crazy! :S
-
-
-
To TS, there is no room for mistake while driving on road. People say its part and parcel of life and learning experience!
What happen if yr next mistake result a whole bus flip and killed more than a dozen people??? Are we going to say that is a learning process too???
For TS, I find that u are not the road smart type. It is better for u not to drive! Just for a small moment of convenient result in someone's death is very very evil.
U mention yr niece is so scare... I hope u can always remember that moment of her face and deter yrself from driving.
-
-
-
wah. my suggestion to make our roads safer somehow got lambasted big time.
looks like i have to address a few issues tonight.
firstly is by, so_nice.
why should TP ban someone from taking driving test should he/her fail several times? tats an immature thinking.
i think mine was a rational thinking. if you cannot pass after multiple times, something is really wrong. like nightsky87 added, maybe one's abilities just cannot make it. judgement of situations all plays an important part. cycling, swimming, driving... i feel it's all the same. if you cannot, then you really cant. i admit i cant swim for nuts & dont bother to learn coz' i simply cant!
next is by TS herself.I am sorry, but that is absolutely ridiculous. How can someone's repetitive failure of his/her TP test be the basis of his or her driving skills and judgements? I believe whether you're a school or private student, what you learn from the school or the private driving instructors are the basics and whatever's necessary for you to obtain your driver's licence. You can only improve your driving, reaction and judgement skills when you start driving on your own. Practice makes perfect.
because when you fail numerous times, it's a clear indication that something is just wrong. well, that's what i feel. of course we all learn from mistakes. confirm every driver whether pass 1st, 3rd, 5th, nth time all commit mistakes on the road. :) whether it only resulted in a near-miss or an accident that's another different matter altogether and it isnt important whether the driver was a 1st, 3rd, 5th or nth attempt student when you're in an accident coz' it aint matter. the license to drive is. i hope you understand where i'm coming from.
what i'm trying to bring up is, if a person fails numerous times, something must be really wrong right?
next, last gung-ho reply by bizzkit0102.
Why I see some of you mofos have a freaking problem with people who take more than one attempt to pass is it? I took 3 attempts but let me tell you, passing once doesn't make you a better driver. It's like saying every person with a PhD is very smart. In actual fact, they are just better than many of us in terms of taking exams and doing research. Watch a Top Gear episode, a PhD holder can't even get a manual car to move.
Besides, I have many capable driver friends that did not clear their TP on the first attempt. Sinicker, I believe many of them, even perhaps me, can own the crap out of you on the roads. So don't think you pass first time very li hai. For all we know, you may just be one of the ah kuas that dare not to go beyond 70kmh in any point of your driving lifetime.
ahh. on a rampage. take a break. have a kit-kat will you. or maybe a biscuit.
what made me pass on first attempt is guidance by my father from young age of 13(i would sit in the front passenger seat and he would talk to me on how to drive properly, what to watch out for all), my motivation to pass on 1st attempt so i dont need to waste a lot of $$ on driving & also the guidance of instructors. if i was inclined to drive, then maybe i am.
i drive to make myself more mobile when i need to or when i gotta carry heavy loads/shopping bags from place to place. not to "own the crap out of other drivers". it sickens me to see you type like that. you must've a huge ego when you're on the wheel. but nevertheless, i wont interrupt your "own the crap out of other motorists" escapade while you're still able-bodied. good luck.
and as for your last sentence.......
i just did twice that speed today. so i guess i do not belong in the said category. :)
to TS, was the TP called in when you had your accident or you settled it all with exchanging phone numbers & that's it?
-
-
-
Originally posted by bizzkit0102:
Sinicker, I believe many of them, even perhaps me, can own the crap out of you on the roads. So don't think you pass first time very li hai. For all we know, you may just be one of the ah kuas that dare not to go beyond 70kmh in any point of your driving lifetime.
Actually, I won't be too sure if I were you.
-