is ur niece ok ?
take it as a lesson
bros to cars
i should be getting my first car next week.... god bless everyone .. including myself........ i plan to only drive from my place to office which is only around 3.5K for at least 1 or 2 mth first b4 going further....
v
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):i should be getting my first car next week.... god bless everyone .. including myself........ i plan to only drive from my place to office which is only around 3.5K for at least 1 or 2 mth first b4 going further....
v
wow.. can bring your lovers back to your home fast and get on with the action!!!![]()
Alamak sorry lah bizzkit0102... dunno why I scroll up and down but didn't see your comments only after I have posted my reply! Think getting stony eyed liao. :)
Anyways, I appreciate your comments. Again, another one who is spot on. HolySniper and sinicker comments are downright immature and absolutely foolish.
Let me reiterate my point. I believe whether you're a school or private student, what you learn from the school or the private driving instructors are the basics and whatever's necessary for you to obtain your driver's licence.
If you manage to pass on your first attempt, I say, congrats to you, luck,amongst other things was on your side. Don't be so hao lian lah. I agree with bizzkit0102, luck plays a very important part. There's only so much preparations you can do lah, right?
And I've heard about the quota thinghy too and have no doubts there are some truth to it. I'm sure preference are given to school students. Ah well, I've gone through that hurdle and it was a bittersweet moment when I finally passed. I just want to say, don't ever give up if you want something bad enough. Go for it. :)
Goodnight everyone! :)
Hi CannyOng!
Thank you for your comments. Well, I agree, there are no room for mistakes while driving on the roads. My question is however, is there anyone out there who would want to get into an accident on purpose?
You see, I am not condoning my act. I should have been more alert and careful. And can you explain how is it that you find that I am not the road smart type? Are you also going to say that it's because I only passed on my 5th attempt? I would really love to get your insight on this!
And yes, my niece was frightened. She was almost in tears, and my heart went out to her at that moment. I didn't care about anything else at that point of time but her safety. Perhaps I might give up driving, perhaps I won't.
I just hope and pray that if one day, something were to happen to you while you're driving (assuming that you're also a driver and a road smart type) you wouldn't have to bear with the heartache of seeing your loved one scared to death by your actions.
God bless.
Hello gunner77!
She's ok, thanks for your concern! :)
Happy weekend! :)
Hi sinicker
Looks like I also have to address a few issues tonight aye?
You said: “i think mine was a rational thinking. if you cannot pass after multiple times, something is really wrong. like nightsky87 added, maybe one's abilities just cannot make it. judgement of situations all plays an important part. cycling, swimming, driving... i feel it's all the same. if you cannot, then you really cant. i admit i cant swim for nuts & dont bother to learn coz' i simply cant!”
I disagree. Practice makes perfect. In my case, I am not car stupid. I know I have the ability to drive albeit being a good driver. I just have a few kinks that need to be ironed out. Namely like lane changing (still not very confident), my habit of wide turns when turning right and my parking skills. These I believe you hone your skills on the go.
Although I have to say I admit I can’t sew for nuts and I don’t bother, not because I simply can’t, but perhaps,I’m just lazy. :)
You said: "because when you fail numerous times, it's a clear indication that something is just wrong. well, that's what i feel. of course we all learn from mistakes. confirm every driver whether pass 1st, 3rd, 5th, nth time all commit mistakes on the road. :) whether it only resulted in a near-miss or an accident that's another different matter altogether and it isnt important whether the driver was a 1st, 3rd, 5th or nth attempt student when you're in an accident coz' it aint matter. the license to drive is. i hope you understand where i'm coming from.
what i'm trying to bring up is, if a person fails numerous times, something
must be really wrong right?"
I do understand where you’re coming from... If a person fails numerous times, YES, something must be really wrong. And it’s up to that person to address it, to start thinking, how come I keep failing? What are my mistakes? What are my weaknesses?
Like for instance, I am weak with my vertical parking and directional change. So during my revision lessons, my instructor made me practice many times. I focused on my weaknesses and improved on my strengths.
I dunno… maybe I just don’t know how to give up. Maybe I have the fighter spirit in me. :)
You are very fortunate to been given guidance from your father at such a young age. Don’t forget, not many people have that luxury. Be it of time and money.
It was settled amongst ourselves. I was fortunate the cabbie was a very nice guy. He was compensated in full, including his loss of earnings, damages etc.
Originally posted by SheilaSarahRae:Hello soleachip, nightsky87 and so_nice!
Thank you very much for your comments. I must say it's very heartwarming. I guess what I need right now is understanding rather than criticism huh? :)
To soleachip, you're totally spot on! I also took auto lessons at SSDC and they use Honda Accords over there. I must say I found the car slightly too big and always found it a challenge to do my vertical parking and directional change. It was only after I changed to a private instructor (his car is a Toyota Vios, and I have to agree the brake pedals are indeed small!) that I realised that it was such a breeze doing the parkings, directional change, etc in the circuit compared to using the Honda!
I dunno lah, maybe it's because the Vios is smaller, hence it was so much easier when it comes to the parking. And my private instructor also gave me a lot of very good pointers and tips which unfortunately none of the SSDC instructors ever did.
And you know soleachip, after what happened the first time, I'm never driving my family members again. At least not for a very long time.
Hunk ogling? Erm.. usually I tend to gawk at nice cars lah..always imagining how it's like driving it... :P
To nightsky87, no offence taken. :) And again I have to totally agree with you. If everyone has the same mindset as you, I'm sure singapore roads would be a pleasant ride for everyone. :)
And so_nice, thanks for being so kind and understanding. I guess the key point here is to learn from this mistake, move on, and be a better and careful driver. And hey, sorry if I sound ignorant, but what is defensive driving? Can you please enlighten me? Thanks in advance!
Wishing all of you a nice weekend! Stay indoors, the weather's really crazy! :S
Yo sheila, don’t let what other people say affect your confidence. People are born with mouths, so it's natural for them to yak. But quality of what comes out of their mouths is another matter. If you bother about what every single forumer here say, then å�šäººå¾ˆå¿ƒè‹¦çš„。
Yeah the brake and gas pedal for Toyota Vios in my school are smaller than the other cars I've driven. From what I know, brake pedals are a lot wider compared to gas pedal in most designs. So don't worry too much. Anyhow when you get down to buying your own vehicle, you can test drive and most likely choose the model you feel confident and safe in. Then in time to come you'll get used to the dimension as well.
It’s natural for friends and strangers to form their own opinions about whether or not a driver is the road smart type but behind the wheel, best to trust and rely on your own instincts. Passengers can tell you to sound your horn, bug you about switching your lane, go straight, go faster, some will ask you why you go so slow, why you afraid to die, why road hog, some will ask you why go so fast, why not afraid to die, ask you to turn here, turn there do this and that, for me just ignore. Most of the time they are all wrong. Trust your own judgement. Hehehe...
Nightsky87 is right. You're already licensed, so the only one to stop you from driving is yourself.
Why spend so much money on learning how to drive and just see it go to waste? Like what my mate said, now you just drive because you have your license. Why worry so much? Relax and enjoy it. Everyone starts somewhere. I didn’t have much confidence initially, so I started with class 3A, then with more confidence, convert to class 3. Some people who chiong lessons all the way only need 3 months, others 6 months, some even take a year. I have two friends who failed FT thrice, took 3 times to pass TP, until now accident free and it’s been 5 years. Me thinks personality plays a very, very important role. Confidence in your own judgement is good, but over confidence can prove dangerous also.
Imho as long as TS is not one of those testosterone driven aggressive wankers on the road with competitive and hostility issues, nothing wrong with continuing to drive, even if she’s novice.
Originally posted by bizzkit0102:Besides, I have many capable driver friends that did not clear their TP on the first attempt. Sinicker, I believe many of them, even perhaps me, can own the crap out of you on the roads. So don't think you pass first time very li hai. For all we know, you may just be one of the ah kuas that dare not to go beyond 70kmh in any point of your driving lifetime.
Wow, just because you can drive above 70 you're not an ah gua?
ahahahah funniest statement i've heard..own the crap out of someone? is it because they spend a few thousands to zhng their car? just stepping on the accelerator and outracing someone doesn't make you a good driver..and what in the first place makes you think you're that good just because you have a good car and u can accelerate all the way to 200?
if i were you, i'll not make any safe assumptions on someone who passed his attempt before yours..
I am not against people who failed, but what i really think is the difference between failures and passers is their confidence in their driving abilities..get scared during ur tp and you're bound to fail, confident and posied and you should not fail your tp because 15 lessons is really all that you need for almost everyone..
Hi sinicker
Looks like I also have to address a few issues tonight aye? :)
You said: “i think mine was a rational thinking. if you cannot pass after multiple times, something is really wrong. like nightsky87 added, maybe one's abilities just cannot make it. judgement of situations all plays an important part. cycling, swimming, driving... i feel it's all the same. if you cannot, then you really cant. i admit i cant swim for nuts & dont bother to learn coz' i simply cant!”
I disagree. Practice makes perfect. In my case, I am not car stupid. I know I have the ability to drive albeit being a good driver. I just have a few kinks that need to be ironed out. Namely like lane changing (still not very confident), my habit of wide turns when turning right and my parking skills. These I believe you hone your skills on the go.
Although I have to say I admit I can’t sew for nuts and I don’t bother, not because I simply can’t, but I’m just lazy. J
You said: "because when you
fail numerous times, it's a clear indication that something is just wrong.
well, that's what i feel. of course we all learn from mistakes. confirm every
driver whether pass 1st, 3rd, 5th, nth time all commit mistakes on the road. :)
whether it only resulted in a near-miss or an accident that's another different
matter altogether and it isnt important whether the driver was a 1st, 3rd, 5th
or nth attempt student when you're in an accident coz' it aint matter. the
license to drive is. i hope you understand where i'm coming from.
what i'm trying to bring up is, if a person fails numerous times, something
must be really wrong right?"
I do understand where you’re coming from... If a person fails numerous times, YES, something must be really wrong. And it’s up to that person to address it, to start thinking, how come I keep failing? What are my mistakes? What are my weaknesses?
Like for instance, I am weak with my vertical parking and directional change. So during my revision lessons, my instructor made me practice many times. I focused on my weaknesses and improved on my strengths.
I dunno… maybe I just don’t know how to give up. Maybe I have the fighter spirit in me. :)
You are very fortunate to been given guidance from your father at such a young age. Don’t forget, not many people have that luxury. Be it of time and money.
It was settled amongst ourselves. I was fortunate the cabbie was a very nice guy. He was compensated in full, including his loss of earnings, damages etc.
Well my advice to the TS will be to continue driving but be very carefull esp when driving a car which you are not familair with . Different cars have to be handled differently esp of their sizes and make . I personally got into 2 accidents in a month before . I also got a shock , not to say i lost my job partly because of that but my confidence to drive on the road also suffered a setback . But slowly i tell myself i must learn from my mistake and to drive and slowly get back my confidence . Now it has been 4 years since my last accident and i can even confidently do a u-turn driving a lorry on most of the road without having to stop and reverse . Unlike those who drive mpv , suv or even sedan cars which i have seen before . Some of those cars even have much smaller turning radius then my lorry but yet they can't do a proper u-turn . Perhaps you may say i am boasting but at least i am confident of doing that .
Last but not least whoever says those taking multiple test to pass thier tp is stupid is the most shallow . I myself pass my tp on my 5th try ( surprisingly same no of tries as my army officer haha ) . In case you want to compare using academical achievements . And whats funny was i didn't get into any accidents untill 3 years later in which some of my colleague even praise my driving skills .
But one of my colleague whom pass his tp in only his 2nd try smashed the company pickup along a slope within a month and the pickup door was totally smashed . So how do you explain that ? And even after that , whenever he drive the company pickup on the outside road , he tends to hit the kerb very often .
And one of my current colleague in my team passed his tp on his 2nd try also . And he smashed his brand new car while trying to park in less then a month also . So how do you explain your theory of those who need multiple tp to pass should give up ? If thats is so then definitely the govt will make a rule where pple can have only 1 try for their tp otherwise will be banned forever .
Don't let the snide remarks affect you.
Its an accident, and your feelings are natural, because the accident is not something to shout about, its embarassing. Especially more so, when people like to hype about great they are, and enhancing that feeling by belittling others.
Drivers of four wheelers, have the problem of concentration. They sit in a stable vehicle, and can easily be lulled deep into thought. They see, but their minds are thinking of something else. Sometimes even arguing (in the mind) a case that happen a while back. This is a common distraction of most drivers. Not paying full attention to their driving. It happens. Even to experienced drivers. Therefore always be alert when driving.
It is a painful lesson learnt. And you will become a better driver, yah!
Originally posted by Fatum:rule #1 never ever drive a friend's car ....
rule #2 never ever drive a friend's car ...
rule #3 never ever drive a friend's car ...
haha umade me laugh.
When you fall down, you just pick yourself up and continue walking. And make sure you learn from it. You can take your time to regain your confidence. Remember, life must go on.
aiya .. what's so fun about driving ..
starting fun lah .. after 2 or 3 years .. i sian already .. I got car now but I also rather take MRT or bus .. too lazy to drive
especially when driving, u have to deal with stupid singapore drivers .. like some taxi drivers .. they can just stop infront of u without any signals... too pissed
Are u driving an auto car ? Hitting the wrong pedel is the greatest mistake that u will ever ever make ! .. and will never even happen in the first place ... while bad judgement still occurs to anyone.. should not blame urself.. might not be ur fault
Originally posted by bizzkit0102:Why I see some of you mofos have a freaking problem with people who take more than one attempt to pass is it? I took 3 attempts but let me tell you, passing once doesn't make you a better driver. It's like saying every person with a PhD is very smart. In actual fact, they are just better than many of us in terms of taking exams and doing research. Watch a Top Gear episode, a PhD holder can't even get a manual car to move.
After passing your TP, the real driving scene is way off the situation one is in during his L-plate period. If anyone still thinks it is ok to drive like an L-plater after getting his/her license, that fella better go jump off a cliff or something lah. Crude but it is the cold hard truth.
In truth, passing TP is more than just preparation. I refuse to believe anyone that says that there is no quota thingy going on and testers do not show preference to school students. I feel luck plays an important part as well. It's impossible to prepare for everything in anything, one can only hope to prepare enough. The rest is up to luck.
Besides, I have many capable driver friends that did not clear their TP on the first attempt. Sinicker, I believe many of them, even perhaps me, can own the crap out of you on the roads. So don't think you pass first time very li hai. For all we know, you may just be one of the ah kuas that dare not to go beyond 70kmh in any point of your driving lifetime.
hmm.. okay lah.. i dip holder + a bit of streetsmart nia.. i am very poor oso, can only rent car to drive leh..
but i understand this phrase : kiang jiu ho, mai kay kiang.. if even a tiny matter like brake pedal smaller can also make u kanjiong, den i reali -_-|
cornering or straight road ah? i roughly rmb tat 3mths after i got my license, the first time i drove was a rented manual car from bishan to yishun during 5pm+ peakhour ALONE leh.. how ah? den i tink i learnt my wheelspin and launching on that same car during the same night leh.. and went geylang see see rooks rook on tat night too.. wah think back like happening sia!
oh btw, ssdc uses honda accord meh!? zz..
Accidents do happen and it just happened to you.If you can't drive,don't try it.
I was a witness to an accident near clarke quay when a drunk bi**h came out of a shoulder road and went to wrong way and rammed into an oncoming taxi.Luckily no one was hurt.
i just passed my TP on 7/4/08 with just 1 try.
wad holy sniper said is bullcrap, 1 time pass and 45 times then pass is still the same one.
anyways, accidents are normal, i mean every driver will get their accidents my dad my sister all had their fair shares of accident. even taxi drivers get into accident.
i mean just becareful when u drive, focus and concentrate ! when unsure slow down and ensure safety, i always do that and cars behind got their asses on fire and just won't stop horning me, but fuk me, i got my P plate high and up, deal with it.
so just becareful next time, if u pass on manual car, and drving auto now it is bettter for you to go to a carpark and get use to auto, it took me a while to get use to it.
Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:i just passed my TP on 7/4/08 with just 1 try.
wad holy sniper said is bullcrap, 1 time pass and 45 times then pass is still the same one.
anyways, accidents are normal, i mean every driver will get their accidents my dad my sister all had their fair shares of accident. even taxi drivers get into accident.
i mean just becareful when u drive, focus and concentrate ! when unsure slow down and ensure safety, i always do that and cars behind got their asses on fire and just won't stop horning me, but fuk me, i got my P plate high and up, deal with it.
so just becareful next time, if u pass on manual car, and drving auto now it is bettter for you to go to a carpark and get use to auto, it took me a while to get use to it.
wah wat i said is crap sia.. yes overall still a license when passed, BUT when u can fail so many times before passing, it shows tat ur motor skills, estimation, confidence and judgement is not that good.. not good at adapting to changes? it takes me like 5mins to adapt to whatever manual/auto cars?
ur passed date is same as me, but mine's in 07. =|
"BUT when u can fail so many times before passing, it shows tat ur motor skills, estimation, confidence and judgement is not that good"
not true.
i don't wish to type an essay here, go think about it.
Hi everyone!
Thanks for your comments.
HolySniper.. only dip holder, so hao lian? Then again what have you being a dip holder got anything to do with your ability to drive? One of my friend's colleague, this super cocky guy, is extremely highly educated, drives a fancy car, but according to my friend, he's the worst driver ever! After offered a lift by him one day, my friend swore never to get in the same car again!
So your theory of ''BUT when u can fail so many times before passing, it shows tat ur motor skills, estimation, confidence and judgement is not that good.. not good at adapting to changes?'' sounds so ridiculously lame, it's bordering on mild retardation.
So are you trying to say if I were to pass on my first attempt, I'm automatically a super duper perfect driver? Granted, there are those who're just inclined to drive, and many others, like me, who needs more practice before getting the hang of it. Not good at adapting to changes? Nah, hardly. I grew up poor, and if there's one thing that I've learned from my humble beginnings, I've learned to adapt to everything revolving around me and not the latter.
HolySniper says: ''but i understand this phrase : kiang jiu ho, mai kay kiang.. if even a tiny matter like brake pedal smaller can also make u kanjiong, den i reali -_-|"
*Shakes head* I bet you must have breezed through your lessons when you were a learner driver huh?
we got a family car but i don't even want to learn driving ![]()
my fear of getting into a accident stop me from attending lol ![]()
Originally posted by JerryYan:we got a family car but i don't even want to learn driving
my fear of getting into a accident stop me from attending lol
Sounds like my sis. No matter what she refuses to learn driving because it's scary.