07 Sep, 03:10AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

From 28 May, mypaper: ERP gantries may increase $1 in July

Subscribe to From 28 May, mypaper: ERP gantries may increase $1 in July 25 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    358 posts since Jan '05
    10,537 posts since Sep '06
    •  

The more the merrier. icon_lol.gif

Let the 66.6% pay and pay lor.

Percentage wise, the 66.6% are going to end up paying more than the 33.4%

If I am ever interviewed on CNA, I will say "Yes, it's a good move by the government to help reduce traffic congestion. It's only $1, not that substantial, we can still afford it. The P4P are always forward looking and intelligent. Afterall oil has increased so much these days, they have a strong reason to increase it. Ooops! Oil has nothing to do with ERP." icon_lol.gif

Edited by maurizio13 28 May `08, 8:47AM
    43,372 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by maurizio13:

The more the merrier. icon_lol.gif

Let the 66.6% pay and pay lor.

Percentage wise, the 66.6% are going to end up paying more than the 33.4%

If I am ever interviewed on CNA, I will say "Yes, it's a good move by the government to help reduce traffic congestion. It's only $1, not that substantial, we can still afford it. The P4P are always forward looking and intelligent. Afterall oil has increased so much these days, they have a strong reason to increase it. Ooops! Oil has nothing to do with ERP." icon_lol.gif

why not say "$1 is too little."

10,537 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by dragg:

If they want $10, you all also lan lan have to pay. Don't pay means don't drive.

Who's going to talk for you in parliament? LTK or CST?

If 82 people spit at the 2 of them, I think they will get drowned in spit.

7,448 posts since Mar '05
    • We need to raise ERP charges so as to control traffic congestion.

Just like raising GST to help the poor.

Really. icon_lol.gif

2,373 posts since May '05
    • Originally posted by dragg:

i think i will say that. icon_lol.gif

461 posts since Aug '03
    • Originally posted by charlize:

We need to raise ERP charges so as to control traffic congestion.

Just like raising GST to help the poor.

Really. icon_lol.gif

u potential to be working for gorment. r are u in already? :p

387 posts since Nov '07
    • The government will sure increase the ERP rates even more in the near future, its only a matter of time. Theres nothing much we can do about it

190 posts since Aug '07
    • Lets just say one day oil prices go down. Not saying its gonna happen but lets say it does. Do you think the govt will reduce the ERP charges? Dream on...

Go and die lah PAP, all a bunch of hypocrites. See their faces also sian.

43,372 posts since Mar '05
    358 posts since Jan '05
    • 市区ERP(李静仪,市区32个ERP闸门位置地图)

中央商业区(CBD)和乌节路的32个公路电子收费(ERP)路段,将在今年7月率先实行较为严格的ERP衡量标准,万一不达标,路费将上调1元。

目前,陆交局在检讨某闸门收费时,是根据该路段车辆的平均车流时速是否达标来决定是否有必要调整路费,高速公路的理想车流时速须介于45至65公里,一般道路则介于20至30公里。

从7月起,当局将改用国际公认的衡量标准,即规定至少85%的车辆须符合当局设定的车流时速理想标准,该路段才无需调整ERP。

此外,每次路费调整的幅度也将从现有5角一律上调1元。比方说,合乐路(Havelock Road)傍晚6时至6时25分的ERP为2元,如果车速不符合新的衡量标准,以后可能调高到3元。omy

4,421 posts since Nov '04
    749 posts since May '06
    • Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:

May = Will?

i think may means maybe $1 but most likely more then $1

747 posts since Mar '08
    • my fren say he intends to switch to CNG to save for ERP price hikes later. If that happens lah. Chances seems high to me.

Like dis he says savings in CNG can go to ERP.

what to do?

I told him life here may be like that .

Edited by balance_else_complacent 03 Jun `08, 10:50PM
    6,076 posts since Jan '06
    5,065 posts since Sep '06
    358 posts since Jan '05
    • ERP Charges Up Again: 32 CBD Gantries from July 7

The roads are getting pricier from July 7.

Maria Almenoar Tue, Jun 17, 2008
      The Straits Times

Five new gantries, forming a cordon along the Singapore River Line, will go live to regulate the evening traffic flow from 6pm to 8pm, bringing the total number of gantries to 65.

In what is seen as the most extensive revision of Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) here since its implementation 10 years ago, another 32 gantries in the Central Business District (CBD), including those around Orchard Road, will also have their charges increased.

Rates are being revised mostly during the evening time slots because speeds have fallen steadily during the home-rush hours.

The Government is going to fix this by doing three things.

The biggest change is that if you pay, you will get to enjoy a smooth flowing ride - which is not always the case now.

Motorists can expect to pay as much as $2 more per gantry.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) is also using a new method to measure the traffic flow to ensure that 85 per cent of all motorists using a priced road will experience optimal speeds, which are between 20 and 30kmh on arterial roads and, 45kmh and 65kmh on expressways.

ERP increments up

The second change is that increments will be at $1 and the starting price for any new gantry is $2.

At the current increments of 50 cents, many motorists do not feel the pinch.

LTA said it revised nine ERP rate changes in 2006 and another 25 rate changes last year to keep drivers off these roads.

The third change is to discourage motorists clogging up city roads by using them as a thoroughfare.

This will, hopefully, be solved by the new gantries along the Singapore River line which will charge motorists $2 from 6pm to 8pm.

2,850 posts since Dec '07
    5,488 posts since Jun '07
    88 posts since Jun '05
    • This move is based on their tagline: Shifting road use to a pay per use system

This is achieved by moving structually from a fixed road tax system to a variable system.

However, this will only benefit the middle-upper class and the blood suckers in mention.

Why you may ask.

Lets assume an additional incurrence of $2.00 in ERP charges daily, up from the current charge each driver is forking out now per day.

The middle-upper and the blood suckers usually command high end marques with higher engine displacement, lest to mention marques which are more than 10 years old which have been restored beautifully.

As such, a two tier reduction in road tax of 5 and 15% would be and is substantial.

Lets use Mercedes S320 as a benchmark - $2849.70 before the two tiered reduction and $2301.13 after the two tiered reduction per annum.

That works out to $548.57 a year. Using the 30 days a month calculation and lessing off Sundays which do not have ERP in operation, the user of this car would be left with 26 days of ERP paying assuming he/she utilizes the car as per normal on Saturdays by entering Orchard Road. This works out to approximately $1.80 a day for the increase in ERP charges - this is fully justifiable and the user's net expenditure would not suffer much detriment, apart from plus minus $10-$20.

Looking at Mr Orang Utan's car, assuming that his lackey's words of them being still having to pay CPF, tax, and ignoring his gastronomical (this word was purposely used - NOT astronomical)  which he uses to fund his bananas (perhaps schmicles of Singaporeans who have defamed him) - $1162.21 in savings after the two tiered reduction.

That means a whopping $3.70 in additional ERP charges. Any effect? The answer is obvious.

Now's the deal -

Benchmark the system against the average car owner with a engine displacement of 1.6L - That works out to be $917.70 before the two tiered reduction and $741.04 after the two tiered reduction.

Savings? $176.66

Look at the huge difference.

Always remember - the reigning pyjama party always believe that they are the elite and will only compare themselves against the top 20 percentile of the nation, ignoring the basic needs and wants of the rest of the population.

Digressing - look at the baby bonus.

An approximate amount of $10,000 once your baby is born.

Yes - any average citizen would eye that sum of money.

However - have you realised that the total expenditure in your toddler's first 5 years upon birth would superceed this $10,000?

You work it out.

Milk Power - $30/tin

Diapers - $???

Food - $???

Have a good day everyone!

May the triple gem bless the 66.6% of the population.

922 posts since Mar '08
    2,029 posts since May '01
    88 posts since Jun '05
    • People of the nation - don't sign, complain and grouse.

Show them the action and that we have a say.

I was in Sydney a couple of weeks back and I visited the parliament house in Canberra. Cameras were allowed and all.

The sentence which the parliamentary guide said to us was:

Thie parliament house was built in a position whereby it would not look down on the people. It was build to be on par with our people, so our people will be able to feel included. The house is a people's house and not just the government's house. We welcome our people and tourists everyday.

Beat this paragraph with ours.

SIR! NO CAMERAS ALLOWED!

494 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by jeez88:

People of the nation - don't sign, complain and grouse.

Show them the action and that we have a say.

I was in Sydney a couple of weeks back and I visited the parliament house in Canberra. Cameras were allowed and all.

The sentence which the parliamentary guide said to us was:

Thie parliament house was built in a position whereby it would not look down on the people. It was build to be on par with our people, so our people will be able to feel included. The house is a people's house and not just the government's house. We welcome our people and tourists everyday.

Beat this paragraph with ours.

SIR! NO CAMERAS ALLOWED!

I believe that the camera rule applies there as well. Our government could say the same, but you know they all don't mean it, it's just the nice way to put it.

If ERP gantries were to raise to $10 I predict a significant drop of 20-30% in no. of cars heading to town. Of course that would raise alot of political and economical issues with the citizens. But as you know, Singaporeans never go on strike. Wonder what it takes? $8 per litre fuel?

88 posts since Jun '05
    • You are going to be so amazed when I tell you this.

I had gone into Australia's parliament house and you should see all the photographs of the kind of interaction the Australians had within the house.

An entire time line depicting events from the time it was built, it was really invigorating.

And - the camera rule, you are completely wrong.

Brought in two cameras together with my mobile phones and they completely allowed it, bear in mind that we had to go through airport type security and the officers simply waved us through. There were signs telling the general public on what kind of cameras would be safe though the radiation scanners too.

Took lots of photos within the house, even within parliament seating and they had no objections!

Anyway, ERP gantries if you look at carefully, the government is charging near $10 already, apart from a single beep which deducts the $10.

Look at driving down town in the morning lets say via CTE in the morning. Two gantries + a CBD charge. Guess you guys can do your sums!

Like I said - the majority of Singaporeans are just followers, and never able to take the initiative and this is partly due to the way we are brought up. "It's none of my business attitude". Pardon me but well - this is in reality.

Even like when I was in Vietnam, the junk boat operator also knew about the crazy salaries that our leaders are getting and they are just shocked - something which should not happen in a first world country.

There are lots of controversial statements made by political leaders and if you were to read between the lines - a lot of it are threats, and digressive statements.

One thing which Singaporeans should try getting into - by diversifying your knowledge through foreign media.

AFP, Reuters, CNN, CAP etc.

It's not about complaining and it's not about me typing this extremely long winded post.

It's more about - are we really what our leaders and the world make us out to be? Obedient and assuming?

That's a stigma which we have to get rid of. This will in turn reduce the manipulation.

Please Login or Signup to reply.