20 Aug, 07:39PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Cars

Manual or Auto...I changed my opinion.

Subscribe to Manual or Auto...I changed my opinion. 44 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,084 posts since Apr '07
    • Learning to drive. Manual or Auto?

I was advising my ger to go for manual cos it's not 'too hard' to master anyway, and the skill will be more versatle. But after listening to her and some pondering, I think my ger is correct - she should learn how to drive an auto transmission car first!

Why?

~ Cos she can then concentrate on car interaction on the road with other traffic;

~ Then she can get the license faster and save on lesson fees;

~ And if she wishes to go for manual transmission, traffic familiarity will give her an advantage;

~ Lastly, her boss will have no choice but to give her the company car instead of the company van!!!!!!

Enlightenment...

905 posts since Mar '08
    • wait your gf kena sacked cos she cant even drive a van. Her boss scoffed at her and sacked her.

Edited by FirePig 05 Jun `08, 7:01PM
    5,848 posts since Apr '03
    • most females are a bunch of pathetic drivers. the person who invented auto has opened a doorway for more stupid female drivers on the road.

call me stereotyping, i don't care.

86,824 posts since Jun '04
    • actually manual better... hands and leg doing something while driving  - lesser tendency to become sleepy

• Dont go full retard..
    19,870 posts since Apr '04
    • Have to know manual la.

Come to think of it. all my ex's dunno how to drive manual. lol!

And whats with western ppl saying asians dunno how to drive. lol . Say until llike pedals and gears are like kryptonite to us once we are behind the wheel. icon_lol.gif

• So far everyone here is talking about versatality and egoism....I was thinking like that too...

But assuming auto was invented first and then manual, would we have a different opinion? Imagine drivers taught to manuveur a vehicle, and then if they are interested in advance driving, they can then learn to manuveur a manual vehicle. Isn't that a logical flow?

I value traffic handling more than vehicular handling. That said, as long as the driver can handle the traffic well without being a jerk to the other motorists, I think I will be contended.

That said, aren't our ego as a driver gets in the way (no pun intended) most of the time?

For the record, I can drive a manual but I own an auto-t car. Practicality at work.

Any pro auto drivers out there?

• Dont go full retard..
    • Auto is best when in jam . Depends how u see it. I like manual. Cause i 'feel' in control of the vehicle. But i prefer auto when i am drunk and wasted. Driving manual cant hold gf hand all the way. he he..

Imagine smoking , talking on the phone, and trying to drink your starbucks while driving and managing ur geers. take some skillz bro! But with auto.. it decreases the complications greatly. lol!

But still best to sit for manual la. Cause knowing manual means u can drive auto also. Knowing auto does not necessarily mean u know how to drive manual. so there.

11,944 posts since Apr '03
    • Originally posted by BadzMaro:

Auto is best when in jam . Depends how u see it. I like manual. Cause i 'feel' in control of the vehicle. But i prefer auto when i am drunk and wasted. Driving manual cant hold gf hand all the way. he he..

Imagine smoking , talking on the phone, and trying to drink your starbucks while driving and managing ur geers. take some skillz bro! But with auto.. it decreases the complications greatly. lol!

But still best to sit for manual la. Cause knowing manual means u can drive auto also. Knowing auto does not necessarily mean u know how to drive manual. so there.

u sure jz holding gf hand only? or hand will slip somewhere?

• Dont go full retard..
    • Originally posted by BrUtUs:

u sure jz holding gf hand only? or hand will slip somewhere?

how u know. ..lol.. sometimes our hands have minds of thier own.

Manual would normally be a turn off... cause u need to withdraw..gear change. damn!

946 posts since Mar '08
    • Auto better lar .

In singapore every about 100 meters u see one traffic light . U have to change gear every time when stop very ma fan .

But if ur into racing then bo pian take manual

180 posts since Aug '07
    • If drive manual, one can feel the experience of driving a car as he/she is much more in control. If is only to serve purely functional purposes like dropping the kids off at school, going to the supermarket and the driver couldn't give two hoots about "driving", just want A to B, then auto is for you.

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • More likely than not, future cars will be auto transmission type.

So I guess it's a good bet to learn auto.

• ALL YOUR BASES ARE BELONG TO ME
    6,331 posts since Apr '05
    • Originally posted by nehpyh:

Learning to drive. Manual or Auto?

I was advising my ger to go for manual cos it's not 'too hard' to master anyway, and the skill will be more versatle. But after listening to her and some pondering, I think my ger is correct - she should learn how to drive an auto transmission car first!

Why?

~ Cos she can then concentrate on car interaction on the road with other traffic;

~ And if she wishes to go for manual transmission, traffic familiarity will give her an advantage;

~ Lastly, her boss will have no choice but to give her the company car instead of the company van!!!!!!

Enlightenment...

man your girl is so good at it... so good that i almost got convinced.

1,827 posts since Dec '07
    • i wan auto but i wan to learn manual as well. I like auto because when playing driving games i always choose auto mode XD

885 posts since May '07
    9,076 posts since Sep '05
    • i like manual.

but i dont like manual at mscp, traffic jam.

i like auto.

icon_lol.gif

do you get what i mean?

1,006 posts since Mar '06
    • When learning, manual is better because it's like "killing 2 birds with 1 stone" as you will know how to drive using auto gearbox also..

But when it comes to driving when you own a car, in Singapore, no point taking manual because like what some of you here mentioned, every 100m or so, there's a traffic light, or something that make you to stop your car.. In Singapore, there's nothing much that we can really utilise the manual gear and chiong... Lolx.. Moreover, it's much more relaxing to drive using auto gearbox as you do not need to step on the clutch (the most troublesome part) and change the gear...

495 posts since Nov '07
    • Best thing to note when doing driving:

-Guys want to take license MUST go for MANUAL

-Girls want to take license BEST to take AUTO

-Guys taking AUTO are ah-kuas, no balls at all.

Just like one of the lessons I've attended...when the instructor asked who are taking auto, most of the girls raised their hands, and about 1-2 guys...and the guys got scoffed at.

Anyone with me??teeth.png

Edited by mortified 06 Jun `08, 9:54AM
    465 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by BadzMaro:

how u know. ..lol.. sometimes our hands have minds of thier own.

Manual would normally be a turn off... cause u need to withdraw..gear change. damn!

^^ get her to sit on the gear-stick(what's the correct term?) and 'change' her =D

Manual for versatility. Never know when you're gonna drive a 6-gear-taxi. (Or any car that requires manual transmission)

1,749 posts since Dec '05
    •  Best of both worlds? DSG, SMG-II (Although its rubbish) and Audi's S-Tronic is the way to go.

You can never please anyone though.

14,495 posts since Nov '06
    • u learn manual = can drive auto and manual cars

learn auto = cannot drive manual cars

86,824 posts since Jun '04
    1,337 posts since Jan '05
    • i guess my gf die die have to learn manual, cuz i'll never get an auto car. at least for the time being. manual car more fuel efficient, and cheaper compared to auto. maintainance oso not as costly 

2,485 posts since Dec '07
    • Originally posted by nehpyh:

Learning to drive. Manual or Auto?

Why?

Enlightenment...

hmm.. wad make u so sure she wun get the van? if they give toyota regius ace? its auto, and its a van.

• Originally posted by kentheman:

i guess my gf die die have to learn manual, cuz i'll never get an auto car. at least for the time being. manual car more fuel efficient, and cheaper compared to auto. maintainance oso not as costly 

Fuel efficiency depends on how one drives right? Some manual drivers also super drag the gears until like there are only 2 gears!

Please Login or Signup to reply.