Originally posted by SBS7484P:
hmm.. wad make u so sure she wun get the van? if they give toyota regius ace? its auto, and its a van.
Haha...i'm pretty sure they dun have that model. Then again, we'll never know...maybe the coy decided to overhaul all the vans...but if you are the boss, would you pay more for auto or manual van?
manual first then auto....
go auto ... don't think so much.
aiya, sometime is not always about cost wise. u must think, if lets say im running a rather uptite company, then of cos, which ever is chaper, i take it. but if im not hard press for money, then i rahter base it on driver prefernece. if a larger portion of driver prefer whicever type, i will go ahead and purchase a fleet of the p;referred type.
sometimes i like to change from 3 to 5. lazy...
The long and short of it is, I'm all into safety and comfort as top priority. She has to manage the traffic first then the finer pointers in car handling. And if she can do that with manual first, fine. If she can't, I'm not going to be ego and give her any pressure.
Once she has mastered manuvering the vehicle and react to traffic with confident, she can go Subang I dun care.
It's still manual FTW for me. We are mostly deciding on whether to learn auto or manual based on Singapore's context. But think of when you go to a foreign country. They prefer manuals!
So that means if you only have Class 3A license, going to European countries will be a pain. Even their C200, E200, 320i, 523i, etc all these continental cars comes in manual form, and most Europeans specify it with manual.
Originally posted by nehpyh:Fuel efficiency depends on how one drives right? Some manual drivers also super drag the gears until like there are only 2 gears!
lol. that type is racing driver. now petrol expensive, den our friendly neighbour like change their policy like change underwear like that, one day say this another day say that. cannot afford to tua.. once in a while clear carbon can, but not everyday la.
for me, i prefer to be in control of the car, not let the car control which gear and how i wanna drive
Originally posted by alleggerita:It's still manual FTW for me. We are mostly deciding on whether to learn auto or manual based on Singapore's context. But think of when you go to a foreign country. They prefer manuals!
So that means if you only have Class 3A license, going to European countries will be a pain. Even their C200, E200, 320i, 523i, etc all these continental cars comes in manual form, and most Europeans specify it with manual.
er....Japan has option for auto or manual license like 10 years ago...?
I dun disagree that many cars in Europe are manual...cos they are all damn old and crap out...
I'm not contesting what you say la....you are right....but the context is, auto or manual first.
There are so many of us passed driving on manual cars, yet i doubt most can drive efficiently on a manual car. In fact, I doubt most drive efficiently on an auto car, for goodness sake.
All I'm saying is (get the mindset out of the window)...if auto and manual cars were available at the same time (like now), I will place auto as stage one of car driving lesson follow by manual, if the driver is interested.
Well, in fact, car ownership curbing policies aside, I would probably advocate that everyone learns how to drive in an auto first cos it's traffic safety first, than finer mastery of vehicle second.
Helps in cost saving too.
I doubt learning auto tranny first then moving on to manual tranny will help for some people. Because you might have gotten a good grasp of what's traffic safety, but when they go learn manual, everything might just be scrambled up again. Here's why I think this would happen for some people.
Auto is super simple to operate, only two pedals. The brake and accelerator pedal. And only one foot is used. The right foot. Manual is different, both feet will be used. The left foot to operate the clutch and the right foot to operate the brake and accelerator pedal. And the left hand to shift gears. All these requires learning how to coordinate well. And for people with very bad coordination, they will spend all their concentration on making sure they coordinated well but didn't pay close enough attention to the road condition. This will cause them to take a lot of lessons to coordinate well and yet be able to pay attention to the ever changing road condition.
So in the end no money saved, and during the period while they are learning manual, they might forget all about road safety because coordination might be a problem. But of course, hopefully after passing Class 3, they still remember what they've learnt on the road.
in reality, once u get used to manual the shifting and all that minute body control it becomes second nature. u dun even think abt it.
Originally posted by newcomer:in reality, once u get used to manual the shifting and all that minute body control it becomes second nature. u dun even think abt it.
Yup, hence I still recommend learning manual right from the start. ![]()
Deep...
So you are saying auto is easier or manual?
And the easier one is the safer one right?
Wah I'm confused. Think i better chew on my chewing gum to solve the algebra.
Just like what newcomer said, which I agree too, only the initial stage of learning how to coordinate is hard. But once mastered, it becomes 2nd nature. So manual is hard to learn initially, but becomes easy at the end.
And auto is easy to begin with but gets harder?
Still chewing...
Aiyah ok la...touche....
I will take manual because fuel efficiency is better... Cos u are in more control... but... the thing is... sometimes jam arh.. jialat sia... legs tired.... haha..
Good thing abt auto is tat its like slack driving can relax... haha... depends la... if you got a manual license its more versatile lor.. so i will support manuall!!!
Just opt for manual lessons (like most of everybody else).
Manual transmission is also easy. Just need to get a hang of the clutch. Why deprive her the joy of operating a manual car? Feel the vehicle, exercise more control over it.
Learning to drive auto first is a total cop out if you ask me. Only men and good lady drivers take to manual first.