it seems to me that GM cars are nothing but badge engineered automotive junk.
designed in korea, made in thailand, with european or american brands. not known to be reliable, not exactly desirable nor do their cars have merit in design.
they changed daewoo to chevy knowing daewoo is a dead brand in singapore. but by using a "high end" brand like chevrolet, do they realise that they're tarnishing the reputation it built up over decades within a short span of time?
it still amuses me that the spark, aveo or epica, are chevrolets.
The Captiva and Epica are not re-badged Daewoos, FYI. But this whole business isn't new to them (think Vauxhall/Opel/Holden/Suzuki), and the re-badged Matiz, Kalos and Lacetti are affecting the name so much that they have to consider selling the Camaro as a standalone brand in some markets.
That's why I always stick to Merc and BMW. The rest all rubbish lah
Originally posted by SexFrenzy:That's why I always stick to Merc and BMW. The rest all rubbish lah
with this statement i think u will make a lot of conti car owners buay song..
Originally posted by sir_peanuts:it seems to me that GM cars are nothing but badge engineered automotive junk.
designed in korea, made in thailand, with european or american brands. not known to be reliable, not exactly desirable nor do their cars have merit in design.
they changed daewoo to chevy knowing daewoo is a dead brand in singapore. but by using a "high end" brand like chevrolet, do they realise that they're tarnishing the reputation it built up over decades within a short span of time?
it still amuses me that the spark, aveo or epica, are chevrolets.
but GM wun be under fire cos there are china cars which pple like to ridicule ....
but of cos GM's sales are decreasing steadily...
other badge engineered marques are like those Geo and Eagle cars..
it is normal to rebadge, but as long as you know what type of car you are getting,
there is hardly a pure breed car now in the world. usually manudacturer share some technologies or factory facilities, in order to stay compeitive,
when i go to the showroom , i believe 50% what they say, 50% my own research.
corvette. chevrolet only one good car. too bad its left hand drive.
Originally posted by SexFrenzy:That's why I always stick to Merc and BMW. The rest all rubbish lah
so u think lambos and ferraris are re badged protons?
Originally posted by n0x:
with this statement i think u will make a lot of conti car owners buay song..
i make a lot of conti car owners very song becos spore got so many merc and bmw
but saab is really not bad.
this one is a true story that happened last year to a friend of mine .....
she lives in canada and drives a pontiac grand am which cost her just C$3000 .... one of those el cheapo decade old "domestic" cars that poor students love ....
she was cruising on the highway from alberta to saskatchewan when the hood of the car snapped up and flew backwards into the windshield and smashed downwards at 110km/h ....
the roof of the car was dented very badly, and the windshield was completely shattered...
thankfully, no one was hurt, but the car was a complete write off ....
the insurance workshop did a check, and concluded that the metal hinges holding the hood down simply snapped from "metal fatigue" ...
her next car, of course, was not a GM ...
jialat.. so lousy until hood can fly off
Originally posted by SexFrenzy:
i make a lot of conti car owners very song becos spore got so many merc and bmw
i dun think u know what u are talking abt...
pls dun try to hide ur statement boo boo by confusing everyone here...