Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:look at their profits over the years. and i believe the increase in ridership over the years could have covered all the increase in operating costs.
correct, COE and road tax are the only things that decrease. but there is a better way to squeeze now than COE and road tax which are 1 time payments.
I agree with you that ridership has increased over the years. SMRT, being greedy (again) tried to ask for a fare increase recently. But the public transport council (PTC) rejected their fare hike proposal citing the high profits.
So we have to thank the PTC for our fare prices now, without PTC, I think we will be paying a huge amount of money for a MRT ride.
But there's nothing we can do. The sole purpose of PAP is to make us pay and pay. Since it's their slogan, they will continue to squeeze us dry. What to do? We sit down and let them squeeze lor. But ERP I believe is avoidable if you plan your route properly and at the correct timings.
I think to a large degree our civil servants are too complacent to think creatively about alternative solutions. They will just use the money angle to hack away at any problem.
one guy said,
ERP hike good for you leh.
Originally posted by kipnosky:I think to a large degree our civil servants are too complacent to think creatively about alternative solutions. They will just use the money angle to hack away at any problem.
many solutions i know is increase this increase that.
almost all is about $$.
Originally posted by Ferrari_RoXz:I agree with you that ridership has increased over the years. SMRT, being greedy (again) tried to ask for a fare increase recently. But the public transport council (PTC) rejected their fare hike proposal citing the high profits.
So we have to thank the PTC for our fare prices now, without PTC, I think we will be paying a huge amount of money for a MRT ride.
But there's nothing we can do. The sole purpose of PAP is to make us pay and pay. Since it's their slogan, they will continue to squeeze us dry. What to do? We sit down and let them squeeze lor. But ERP I believe is avoidable if you plan your route properly and at the correct timings.
haiya, maybe sbs transit has yet to finalise their hike plans.
though for this i admit i have nothing to back up, i still feel its all wayang.
regarding planning the route and timings correctly, i'm wondering if you are expecting people to work in the middle of the night. the concept of erp has gone haywire - setting them up at residential areas.
LTA chairman says....
ERP helps people spend more time with families and not spend time in traffic congestion!!
and henceforth,
I LOVE ERP! how about you? ![]()
Originally posted by jeez88:Your words are facts - I have relations residing in London and I know about them too.
But have you considered the cost of living in London with their gross pay factored in?
You have to measure it according to the economies of scale.
The best way to benchmark such situations would be the use of the percentile mark.
However, I would like to add that the city charge applies to only the city which is equivalent to the CBD cordon that we have in Singapore and that to me is perfectly fine.
It is implemented in every developed state to reduce gridlock in the streets within the CBD.
However - ERP is coming to the average man's estate. Is it justifiable? Or simply to prevent people from detouring and avoiding their current system?
Think tanks ahoy!
Whether justifiable or not depends on the People.
This is a democracy.
So far, all support. at least they did not show they dont support.
that time I heard a cab driver told me some relative of his works at LTA.. and a huge number of ERP gantries are proposed and planned. so anytime they want to approve or build any, very fast can set up liao..
:P
Originally posted by cuddles:that time I heard a cab driver told me some relative of his works at LTA.. and a huge number of ERP gantries are proposed and planned. so anytime they want to approve or build any, very fast can set up liao..
:P
yessss... and i always see the gantry posts/structures at this factory just beside bedok mrt station.
westbound platform can see.. it's just beside the mrt station.
High ERP charges are good, it helps the population, helps the businesses inside CBD by bringing in more customers. At least that is what the government is trying to psyche the citizens into believing. ![]()
If we take bus and MRT do we need to worry about ERP?
Originally posted by Beautiful951:If we take bus and MRT do we need to worry about ERP?
you have to worry about squeezing with office ladies..... ![]()
& the prospect of a molest charge against you!
soon we have human ERP riaos... blue/pink IC can top up $ one.
then raymond lim say..
"now we all dont need to go town. we build for you shopping centres everywhere. tampines mall, causeway point, jurong point. there really is not a need for everyone to come into town to shop."