Comparing Honda S2000, Toyota MR-S and Mazda Mx5?
Performance? I would say S2000
What is CC?
convertible coupe?
Handling wise, Mazda MX-5 is unbeatable because of its 50-50 weight distribution. Power wise S2000 would be a good choice. But if you want to show off, I personally perfer the S2000
S2K and MR-S both softtops. Only MX-5 available in hardtop convertible version.
Buy the EOS lah!
:P
Among the 3 choices.. i wld go for mx5..
Cos its handling is good.. it small nimble and agile... and its quite powerful for its size...
why i wun choose mr2 and s2000...
mr2 i feel is a dangerous car to drive.. its mid engine rear wheel drive.. means it can go into snap oversteer anytime...
s2000 thought is flashy and nice and all... its really aint veh suited to sg road driving...
its engine, the F20, though high revving and have veh high power output.. its low end torque suffers...
furthermore.. its been ard for quite some time...
Originally posted by n0x:Among the 3 choices.. i wld go for mx5..
Cos its handling is good.. it small nimble and agile... and its quite powerful for its size...
why i wun choose mr2 and s2000...
mr2 i feel is a dangerous car to drive.. its mid engine rear wheel drive.. means it can go into snap oversteer anytime...
s2000 thought is flashy and nice and all... its really aint veh suited to sg road driving...
its engine, the F20, though high revving and have veh high power output.. its low end torque suffers...
furthermore.. its been ard for quite some time...
Mx-5 handling power? zhen de mah? Need to ask Regan about that man.
and erm, KM version of s2k uses the F22C, higher power output and lower max revs..
Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:Mx-5 handling power? zhen de mah? Need to ask Regan about that man.
LOL, that one case is more of the driver than the car itself huh.
Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:Mx-5 handling power? zhen de mah? Need to ask Regan about that man.
and erm, KM version of s2k uses the F22C, higher power output and lower max revs..
i mean handling this kinda thing is rather subjective de mah...
sure u can say s2000 has tt X thingy below its chassis to increase rigidity... but tt would increase bulk...
but if i am looking for a CC or rather... a roadster... i would perfer it to be lightweight and nimble..
F22 came along cos there were initially compliants from end users regarding the F20...
so they increase the length of the stroke of the engine so tt its a 2.2 litre...
sure torque increased... but its still peaking ard 6krpm... bcos of its high revving nature...
what is KM version?
Originally posted by CasperV:
what is KM version?
KM, Kah Motors, is the AD, Authorised Dealer, for Honda cars in singapore.
if you wanna go for looks
then s2000 spoon hard top !

whooo!
Originally posted by Nuad:if you wanna go for looks
then s2000 spoon hard top !
whooo!
do you think it's safe parking this in MSCP?
I guess TS is confused? 'CC' means Coupe-Convertible/Cabriolet and a CC has a hard-top roof. Examples are the Merc SLK, Peugeot 207/307 CC, Opel Astra Twintop, Volvo C70, Renault Megane CC, etc.
Soft-tops are simply called a cabriolet or convertible.
Originally posted by alleggerita:I guess TS is confused? 'CC' means Coupe-Convertible/Cabriolet and a CC has a hard-top roof. Examples are the Merc SLK, Peugeot 207/307 CC, Opel Astra Twintop, Volvo C70, Renault Megane CC, etc.
Soft-tops are simply called a cabriolet or convertible.
correct me if I'm wrong, but the japanese examples mentioned above, MR-S, S2K, MX-5, are not usually referred to as cabriolets but rather roadsters as they are all purely 2-seaters?
Originally posted by CasperV:
do you think it's safe parking this in MSCP?
I don't think the spoon s2k is for sale, but even then, what's wrong with parking an s2000 in MSCP? honestly look at the cars that are filling up your MSCP, i think the price of say, a 320 or a E230 would easily pwn the S2K, and no matter what car you driving, be it a honda or a hyundai, if you park in a guailan and obstructing manner, would also be asking for your car to be scratched.
Originally posted by nightsky87:I don't think the spoon s2k is for sale, but even then, what's wrong with parking an s2000 in MSCP? honestly look at the cars that are filling up your MSCP, i think the price of say, a 320 or a E230 would easily pwn the S2K, and no matter what car you driving, be it a honda or a hyundai, if you park in a guailan and obstructing manner, would also be asking for your car to be scratched.
i believe casperV is more worried of the bodykit hitting the slopes. ![]()
i saw in some honda forum this guy's bucket seat got stolen... wtf?
Originally posted by nightsky87:correct me if I'm wrong, but the japanese examples mentioned above, MR-S, S2K, MX-5, are not usually referred to as cabriolets but rather roadsters as they are all purely 2-seaters?
Hmm, maybe you are right. Let me go wiki it and we'll all know. ![]()
Added: Okay, you are right. 2-seaters are called roadster while the rest are called convertible/cabriolet.
wah dun make fun of the regan leh. my fren's cousin leh. he now wanna look for job also cannot. for looks, s2000. for all other things, mx-5.
Originally posted by Ferrari_RoXz:Handling wise, Mazda MX-5 is unbeatable because of its 50-50 weight distribution. Power wise S2000 would be a good choice. But if you want to show off, I personally perfer the S2000
S2000 is also 50/50 weight distribution.
Originally posted by substance1983:S2000 is also 50/50 weight distribution.
If that's the case, why is the S2000 notorious for snapping into oversteer suddenly in the middle of a corner?