What do you think?
Is PAP doing his job to control the jam?
I dun think so. The problem is yet to be address. It is currently accelerating to a serious inferno.
I really hate it. Jam for 1 1/2 hr to Johor. 1hr out of Johor.
More and more citizen is getting fustrated wtih your ruiling,
life is hard
SUCK IT UP
like i mention before, we need ERP at the checkpoint.
Originally posted by Itedino:What do you think?
I dun think so. The problem is yet to be address. It is currently accelerating to a serious inferno.
U wanna go in JB, u gotta be prepare for the jam if not go thru 2nd link ..
Go through 2nd Link ?
It is just as bad, but cannot be worst, except that the finger printing is not done at the Passport Counter, but at another forward stop that require all passengers to get out, walk to a GS field foldable table, where only two lap tops are linked to two infra-red thumb scanners.
They were smart enough to have two tables - one on each side of each traffic lane.
At least the ICA officials attempted to be resourceful to clear the traffic log jam by directing traffic into the lorry clearing bays at the Woodlands checkpoint.Tthe trucks leaving Singapore are re-routed through the old ICQ - by-passing the new block and rejoining into the Causeway flow from another side entrance.
It is the return from Malaysia that is a total disaster, with the passport checks as stringent as when you are leaving - some Malaysian cars with two passengers can take up to 6 minutes to clear.
The Customs checks by the older, more senior and fatter personnels being petty and meticulous in checking each car for at least 3 to 5 minutes.
It now seems that the Malaysian ICQ is more efficient, with their end of the Causeway and Second-Link being empty most of the week.
whose fault? the minister who let selamat escape.
i bet most of you guys go on weekend?
dont even try to go after friday midnight of sat midnight coz it is equally jam.
coz most bros go JB for cheap petrol, that is what causes the jam mainly.
the jam will be there irregardless whether Mas escape or not.
Unbiasedly and speaking from the bottom of my heart,
I would say that based on the evidence that there is perenial traffic congestion and air pollution at the causeway, I Urge the government to implement ERP at the causeway.
Since it is not yet implemented,
I like to ask them :
1. Why not implemented? It is implemented elsewhere in singapore where there is heavy congestion. Just give a brief answer but convincing and clear one.
2. Would ERP not work to Reduce Traffic Congestion at the causeway? 2 things here:
a) Why is it said to work elsewhere in singapore?
b) Why is it said that ERP is implemented also to reduce Cost to the Environment (this case, air pollution) ? There is plenty of air pollution at the causeway. I been there sometime ago when on holiday in Singapore.
Again, just give a brief but clear answer will do. Am not asking much. I am sure they do not have any problem giving a sound reply.
There is something like ERP right... when you chop passport you need to pay don't know how much with your cash card :D
I am sure most of you people do not really truely absolutely know who is the genius that actually came up the masterplan of ERP.
His contribution should be acknowledged in public.
The people should know who they are benefiting from.
Did the idea originated from:
1. Perm Sec?
2. Minstor?
3. MP?
4. Grassroots leader?
5. Ang more?
both pic taken same time....it's obvious, rite? ![]()
there r alternatives...jus that these people aye wan wah ![]()

Why you Singaporean keep wanting to run to JB?
You go there to spend your money... ofcors the gahmen no like mah.
Singapore is more expensive.. but it is more safer.
Why risk your life just to save some small change ?
Lucky the gahmen never agree to build a london bridge.. the ones that can raise up when ship comes through. If not.. the jam lagi worst.
Spend more money in Singapore.. good for your economy.
Let the Malaysian xiao mei mei come to Singapore to earn our money. Then you can also consider making them your wifeys... two bird with one stone.
Malaysians already comprain we inflate their JB economy... we are already sinners liao.. .. Gawd have mercy on us.......
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:both pic taken same time....it's obvious, rite?
there r alternatives...jus that these people aye wan wah
Thus, I urge your gov to look at these pics and then reply:
1. What is the difference between the 2 pics?
2. Do you think ERP if implemented at Woodlands causeway WILL ABSOLUTELY not Reduce the traffic congestion problem there ?
3. ERP at Woodlands will not lead to higher utilization of the 2nd Link? How will this affect the investment made? The money spent on 2nd link?
4. Is ERP effective or not? If so, why not implement at causeways?
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:Thus, I urge your gov to look at these pics and then reply:
1. What is the difference between the 2 pics?
2. Do you think ERP if implemented at Woodlands causeway WILL ABSOLUTELY not Reduce the traffic congestion problem there ?
3. ERP at Woodlands will not lead to higher utilization of the 2nd Link? How will this affect the investment made? The money spent on 2nd link?
4. Is ERP effective or not? If so, why not implement at causeways?
Actually no need ERP lah.
Just collect $50 everytime the immigration stamp chop the passport lor...
Like that.. the savings they get from the exchange ratess negate already...no point going to JB anymore....
Build ERP .. cost money ok ? Very expensive the technology.
aiyoooo people.....think on the birght sides of things lar...the jam means both countries prospering...win win lar ![]()
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:aiyoooo people.....think on the birght sides of things lar...the jam means both countries prospering...win win lar
You sure anot ?
You think the people kena jammed at the causeway ... get out and push their vehicle ah ? No hor... engine idling.. fuel burning ... no distance gained... like that is gain meh ?
Next time Singaporean wants to cross JB... bicycle there is best !!
If you smart..you should go start a bicycle rental shop at both ends of the causeway !!
Originally posted by jojobeach:You sure anot ?
You think the people kena jammed at the causeway ... get out and push their vehicle ah ? No hor... engine idling.. fuel burning ... no distance gained... like that is gain meh ?
Next time Singaporean wants to cross JB... bicycle there is best !!
If you smart..you should go start a bicycle rental shop at both ends of the causeway !!
I heard something like next time You singaporeans want to go into JB and use their new-to-be-built highway, shall have to pay a toll that will be used to fund the cost of development? If so, why is singapore not implementing toll on incoming MY people to 'save the planet', 'reduce the carbon footprint' due to exhaust emissions, smoothen the road congestion ?
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:I heard something like next time You singaporeans want to go into JB and use their new-to-be-built highway, shall have to pay a toll that will be used to fund the cost of development? If so, why is singapore not implementing toll on incoming MY people to 'save the planet', 'reduce the carbon footprint' due to exhaust emissions, smoothen the road congestion ?
That is because... Singaporeans like cheap thrills...
What we want is to reduce the people going in to JB.. not the other way round.
Even if the Malaysians wants to swim over.. we also never mind. Malaysian gahmen also never mind.. because they come over to Singapore and earn marnee to bring back Malaysia...
But Singaproeans should not go over there and take advantage of the Malaysian low cost of living.. because that low cost of living is meant for the Malaysians to enjoy.
Originally posted by jojobeach:That is because... Singaporeans like cheap thrills...
What we want is to reduce the people going in to JB.. not the other way round.
Even if the Malaysians wants to swim over.. we also never mind. Malaysian gahmen also never mind.. because they come over to Singapore and earn marnee to bring back Malaysia...
But Singaproeans should not go over there and take advantage of the Malaysian low cost of living.. because that low cost of living is meant for the Malaysians to enjoy.
I know all that.
So, they come in and add to the vehicle population in singapore and due to congestion, ERPs are implemented in so many places in singapore?
a little known fact is that there is a small but growing group of singaporeans living in JB now. these are mainly malay retirees and also the `neglected' group of singaporeans (age 40 and above, blue collar worker) of all creed who finds it intimidating to live here. these group of people include commercial drivers, taxi drivers and factory supervisors, etc.
i found this out from one of my taxi rides when the driver told me about it. he is one of them and he told me there are probably thousands like him. his experience is with his $2k/mth odd salary, he cannot afford to keep a roof under his head. what he and many others have done is rent or buy a house in JB, rent out out their HDB and commute to singapore for work. his living expenses is much more manageable, and with the rental proceeds he gets, another $1-2k for the rent, life is actually pretty good there. the problem is the commuting back and fro. the risk of crime, robbery? it is something they are willing to take. in any case, they are not filthy rich there. but to have their life back, get some savings done and not coop up in a 100m sq apartment is a real treat for them, who otherwise will live miseably and have to go to CDC (whom some forumers here so strongly advocate) for help.
relating it back to this topic, that is partially why the causeway is perpetually jam, exacebated by the inefficiency of the custom officials here.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Why you Singaporean keep wanting to run to JB?
You go there to spend your money... ofcors the gahmen no like mah.
Singapore is more expensive.. but it is more safer.
Why risk your life just to save some small change ?
Lucky the gahmen never agree to build a london bridge.. the ones that can raise up when ship comes through. If not.. the jam lagi worst.
Spend more money in Singapore.. good for your economy.
Let the Malaysian xiao mei mei come to Singapore to earn our money. Then you can also consider making them your wifeys... two bird with one stone.
Malaysians already comprain we inflate their JB economy... we are already sinners liao.. .. Gawd have mercy on us.......
Safety is relative. you don't go into malaysia walking with your expensive handphone on your right and your LV purse on your left hand. Its just plain stupid to do such things in anywhere in the world not just in Malaysia.
You really think Singapore is that damn safe. Wake up, go travel around the world. Milliosn of people live in countries that are so-called "unsafe" compared to utopian singapore. Yet they survive day to day; they take steps and are aware of dangers around their homes.
Do not blame the country if you think its not safe when you hapen to be mugged or robbed or in any other way criminally victimised. Blame yourself first for not being aware.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Actually no need ERP lah.
Just collect $50 everytime the immigration stamp chop the passport lor...
Like that.. the savings they get from the exchange ratess negate already...no point going to JB anymore....
Build ERP .. cost money ok ? Very expensive the technology.
ERP is to control the traffic flow. if the immigration stamp chop collect money, then people walking in also tio. then who still wan to go in? but with ERP, it can ensure that there are smooth traffic into JB. (learn from govt one)
Causeway jammed how ah? If u ask this question to a certain garmen official, most likely the answer for u is "It happened already, what to do?"
i share redDUST's experience.
today my parents' friends from young age came over.
husband used to work at our changi airport. stays in JB. has a johor-registered car and comes down for work. retired now.
now comes into SG ard 3/4pm to drive taxi night shift.
house is a bungalow in Senai.