remember the advertisement we use to see in our letter box?
"Hyundia Avante, the corolla beater"
i guess it is no more a corolla beater now,
in the beginning the price is ~57 K when launched. 2K more than 2007 Altis. then when the 08 Altis come out. you can see the widening price gap. now cheaper than Vios..
should be 2007 lancer beater in reality. Komoco(or HMC) jus got to come to term with reality.
And the CVVT... is it really continuous? i dun think so. the badge on the chassis still write 'VVT'. Well, this part is confusing for me.
thank you for listening. hahaha..........
The Avante's 1.6-litre engine has always been advertised with a CVVT system. When did it ever had a VVT system?
The Corolla, Lancer and Avante, and even the Civic are all vehicles in the same class, so if it's a Corolla's rival, it's naturally a Lancer's rival too.
And when they say it's a Corolla beater, must it be beating the Corolla in terms of pricing? Can't it be because it has a better suspension setup? Multi-link vs torsion beam. Can't it be because of the power output from the respective 1.6-litre engines? The Avante being more powerful than the Corolla.
Originally posted by alleggerita:The Avante's 1.6-litre engine has always been advertised with a CVVT system. When did it ever had a VVT system?
The Corolla, Lancer and Avante, and even the Civic are all vehicles in the same class, so if it's a Corolla's rival, it's naturally a Lancer's rival too.
And when they say it's a Corolla beater, must it be beating the Corolla in terms of pricing? Can't it be because it has a better suspension setup? Multi-link vs torsion beam. Can't it be because of the power output from the respective 1.6-litre engines? The Avante being more powerful than the Corolla.
Think TS confuse Continuously Variable Transmission with Variable Valve Timing.. Well the avante may beat the corolla in many many aspects.. but still very very far from beating the sales of the corolla.. lol.
Originally posted by nightsky87:Think TS confuse Continuously Variable Transmission with Variable Valve Timing.. Well the avante may beat the corolla in many many aspects.. but still very very far from beating the sales of the corolla.. lol.
TS is confused over a lot of things.....
Originally posted by alleggerita:The Avante's 1.6-litre engine has always been advertised with a CVVT system. When did it ever had a VVT system?
but i seem to remember seeing the VVT on advertisement, but still isnt it misleading to stick the emblem on the car chassis as "VVT"?
the 'corolla beater' phase is to refer to better popularity and sales of course.
Originally posted by nightsky87:Think TS confuse Continuously Variable Transmission with Variable Valve Timing.. Well the avante may beat the corolla in many many aspects.. but still very very far from beating the sales of the corolla.. lol.
since when the avante and corolla got CVT?
so that is out of the question.
we are talking about VVT no doubt.
Originally posted by mh2:but i seem to remember seeing the VVT on advertisement, but still isnt it misleading to stick the emblem on the car chassis as "VVT"?
the 'corolla beater' phase is to refer to better popularity and sales of course.
They only say it's a "Corolla beater", but they never say it's a car to beat Corolla's sales.
Originally posted by alleggerita:They only say it's a "Corolla beater", but they never say it's a car to beat Corolla's sales.
if u make a car that fantastic to beat corolla, isnt it to surpass it in terms of sales.
then for what , novetly ar. wake up bro.
Corolla beater or not it's all depends on the driver,machine and roads.On paper almost everything are superb
No.1 in Accident.
2 white Avante crash in CTE tunnel mths ago.
Originally posted by mh2:
if u make a car that fantastic to beat corolla, isnt it to surpass it in terms of sales.then for what , novetly ar. wake up bro.
Underrated? Black horse? Underdog? What do you prefer to call it?
if u make a car that fantastic to beat corolla, isnt it to surpass it in terms of sales.then for what , novetly ar. wake up bro.
Honestly what allegrita says is very true. The term corolla beater is just a marketing gimmick, an advertising terminology. So why take it so seriously / personally?
And I'm in no position to say anything, but I still feel that you should respect allegrita. His technical knowledge is far superior, he rarely talks nonsense and like I said in the beginning whatever he said is valid.
Maybe it is really just for novelty leh? I mean, unless we're the top management for hyundai motor corp, we won;'t really know. Maybe they really create avante just for novelty leh?? just for the 1.6l market presence while they focus on their Theta development / Sonata Azera / Tucson SanteFe etc etc etc also possible what.
wah buay tahan i must chup ji ka.... LOL
of cos it has to say a corolla beater lah... then what else can it say.. of cos the company must be confident of their product... but talk is cheap
of cos they want it to surpass corolla in terms of sales( which car maker doesnt).. but izzit technically superior?? u their chief engineer?? is their marketing tactic power enough so much so tt pple's mindset is changed???
if they using this tagline.. i think it will fall flat... unless it is used on cum gong consumers like u lah.. then u believe everything they say...
cos i dunno lah... mabye ur car now is korean then u think everything korean is good... then u dun like mitsu so everything from them is lousy...
only a biased f**k like u will say this kinda thing..
get a life..
Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:No.1 in Accident.
2 white Avante crash in CTE tunnel mths ago.
I fully agree with that fact. In fact I can confidently say that Hyundai cars are pretty much No.1 in accidents
I always get to see different damaged Hyundai cars parked in their compound whenever I go to work.
Originally posted by tomsss:
I fully agree with that fact. In fact I can confidently say that Hyundai cars are pretty much No.1 in accidentsI always get to see different damaged Hyundai cars parked in their compound whenever I go to work.
Coincidence? I don't see why Hyundais are more prone to accidents. They also have ABS, EBD, etc like their rivals. ![]()
They are selling cheap cos now they have a lot of options.
Eg. like manual or auto gear,1 airbag or 2 airbag,manually air-con or climate control air-con,with or without leather seat & sport-rim.
Basically is just what u want,just added.More like each sold separately.
Normally japanese car like altis do not have the above option.They just sell u with everything in.
This is more or less sales tactic.
The price gap is big difference now cos avante is 2yr old model whereas altis is a new model.Same like lancer when first launch one year ago.
Lancer 1.5A EX now also selling cheap.If i m not wrong only 59K base on 14K coe.
Originally posted by sktan10:They are selling cheap cos now they have a lot of options.
Eg. like manual or auto gear,1 airbag or 2 airbag,manually air-con or climate control air-con,with or without leather seat & sport-rim.
Basically is just what u want,just added.More like each sold separately.
Normally japanese car like altis do not have the above option.They just sell u with everything in.
This is more or less sales tactic.
The price gap is big difference now cos avante is 2yr old model whereas altis is a new model.Same like lancer when first launch one year ago.
Lancer 1.5A EX now also selling cheap.If i m not wrong only 59K base on 14K coe.
sometime BM jus din care about comsumer choice. their attitude is like' take it or leave it' which can be annoying.
but when the 2007 lancer retire, the Lancer EX will go even lower in price. seem like they had built a economical brand image in sg.(in japan is shit brand).
and the 2.0 litre version is cheaper than Altis 1.8?
but talk about mivec, o yea... it is quite a decent engine isnt it?
Originally posted by mh2:sometime BM jus din care about comsumer choice. their attitude is like' take it or leave it' which can be annoying.
but when the 2007 lancer retire, the Lancer EX will go even lower in price. seem like they had built a economical brand image in sg.(in japan is shit brand).
and the 2.0 litre version is cheaper than Altis 1.8?
but talk about mivec, o yea... it is quite a decent engine isnt it?
Typical mh2 reply. Putting Mitsubishi down like they killed your family. ![]()
i found out the impreza 2.0 A is cheaper than Lancer EX 2.0 on newspaper. is that true?