if that's not screaming for mischief, I seriously wonder what is...
Originally posted by hisoka:actually my question would be: why did they decide to go malaysia for a ride when they should by now know the dangers? In attention catching Ferraris and a whole convoy at that.
if that's not screaming for mischief, I seriously wonder what is...
Let me rephrase your question. Do u ever go JB? A good analogy is, there been quite a stir in the malaysian newspaper about people getting raped there..so would u still go to JB? The chances are still remote for you and ur gf(if applicable) and even less if you stick to safer place. The same thing applies to the Ferrari getaway
Why would ppl still go to malaysia? cos our roads here dun allow them to stretch the legs of their cars. Many of you ppl here say "if wanna play, go malaysia highway to play lah" , so yah loh. Ok then where else can you have the opportunity to go faster? There is no other choice than up north. Also, safety in numbers work. You read stories about ppl getting robbed and all sorts... and the victim vehicle is ALWAYS alone. Heard of convoys being targetted? yeah this recent one... but what was that merc trying to do? picking off only one. What do you think it'll take to rob an entire convoy? Probably the only place where you can see a convoy being wiped out is in Iraq.
Originally posted by ceecookie:Let me rephrase your question. Do u ever go JB? A good analogy is, there been quite a stir in the malaysian newspaper about people getting raped there..so would u still go to JB? The chances are still remote for you and ur gf(if applicable) and even less if you stick to safer place. The same thing applies to the Ferrari getaway
most pple would have reduced the trips or not gone because of the high incidence. If you still went, then you are taking the risk. think it won't happen to you is just trying to comfort yourself. even if the chance is 1 out of 100, going ten times means there is a 1 out of ten chance of it happening to you. Don't know about you, but it sounds high to me.
secondly, even if you feel it's exagerated and it's not THAT dangerous there. You still don't go around attracting attention and fluanting wealth thinking that you won't get targetted.
I guess all the expensive car club have to run their cars in singapore.
Or else they have to arrange to do exhibition race after the Formula One Race so that the race is fully utilised.
For malaysia, they have to drive the spare Hyundai and Toyota so that they are not targeted.
A bit wasted, good nice car but cannot use to full potential... sad sia...
but i thought 'standard procedures' is to keep rolling when attacked?
if u dont stop then u wont get caught, besides, i dont think they're willing to risk damaging their merc just to mug someone
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:I guess all the expensive car club have to run their cars in singapore.
Or else they have to arrange to do exhibition race after the Formula One Race so that the race is fully utilised.
For malaysia, they have to drive the spare Hyundai and Toyota so that they are not targeted.
open track day?

I think the Malaysian robbers are pure morons, they only took stuff from the car. ![]()
If it were me I would have stolen the car.
Malaysia tak boleh, Malaysians bodoh.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
I think the Malaysian robbers are pure morons, they only took stuff from the car.
They should have driven a tow-truck and raced at 200km/h.![]()
I think the Malaysian robbers are pure morons, they only took stuff from the car.
i should make a t-shirt with that... ![]()
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:They should have driven a tow-truck and raced at 200km/h.
"The couple were travelling in a Ferrari on Friday when it collided with another vehicle at the 274th kilometre of the North-South Expressway, slightly damaging its front."
If slightly damaged should be able to drive off.
I think most of their cars there illegal mods, who knows maybe the merc has nitrous oxide boost.
That is what you get for showing off... ![]()
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:That is what you get for showing off...
Could we please stop with these stupid childish remarks??
Most, if not all of these guys have had to work very hard to get to where they are. I just think the mere fact that they are in the club and participating in a 'club' drive up (i know the one that crashed wasn't in the convoy, but he was meeting them up there) shows that these guys are motoring enthusiasts and love driving their cars, and not simply just people just showing off and flaunting their wealth
Originally posted by Elysium7:
Most, if not all of these guys have had to work very hard to get to where they are. I just think the mere fact that they are in the club and participating in a 'club' drive up (i know the one that crashed wasn't in the convoy, but he was meeting them up there) shows that these guys are motoring enthusiasts and love driving their cars, and not simply just people just showing off and flaunting their wealth
+1... Caleb did you even read the entire story?
if it's mi... i will organized another trip up..... then have all the car in the convey carrying all the best fighter u can find in sg....then drive as slow as possible to get that gang out again........ then beat the shit out of them this time....
i think i had enough of this forum, let you kids run the show from here on. I'm outta here.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:They should have driven a tow-truck and raced at 200km/h.
Or view the latest fast and furious movie trailer..
Most propably the merc that the thugs was driving is a stolen car as well. Read about this news in the New Straits Times when i was in Genting on Friday as well.
Originally posted by Elysium7:
You can call it childish.....you can ignore such comments.
You can also say its not about flaunting. I believe you.
But the fact still remains that a car like this is eye-catching, you want to deny that?
It's like slinging a Louis Vulton (correct spelling boh?) on your shoulder and not expecting to get robbed by a guy on motorbike. You're not wrong, you may not be flaunting, but it still happens!
Why are you saying that such comments are childish if you refuse to see the truth that what you are driving is eye-catching?
Of course to be fair, slinging anything on your shoulder gets you robbed all the same.![]()
It's quite a unfortunate incident.
on a contrary, i think they are smart. they may not know where is the `on' button to start the engine. anyway, the car is damaged already.
taking the stuff inside the car probably nett them a couple of months of high living at least.
this is not a toyota, where you can `blend in'. the prancing horse sticks out like a sore thumb up north.
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):if it's mi... i will organized another trip up..... then have all the car in the convey carrying all the best fighter u can find in sg....then drive as slow as possible to get that gang out again........ then beat the shit out of them this time....
you gotta be the smartest alec out here....
Robbery is robbery, Louis Vulton or cheap bags, perodua or ferrari.
If u got nicer car sure presents a bigger target wat... if a convoy of toyotas got attacked, we wouldnt b having this "show-off"ing competition...