Originally posted by PaulQ:you r right, i am buying the Toyota Celica, and even though it's less than $100k, it's still consider a high end car for me.
If u can afford $800-$900/month, you are already well off to buy a new car. Unless you are [b]aiming at a high-end car which u cannot afford at its original selling price. Personally feel that a new car is better than buying an old second-hand high-end car.
downpayment and second hand car loans depend on the dealer. just don't get fooled by those who advertise cheap installments.[/b]
Hahah...i juz hope u wife support u always...Originally posted by rumie:I'm planning to get 2nd-hand Celica. Really want to get a brand new one, but just don't have the money to do so...
I've been following this forum for quite awhile, seems like nobody is supportive of getting a 2nd-hand car...
I really want to know:
1. Is a 2nd-hand car really that bad?
2. What is the maximum loan period I can get for a 2nd-hand car?
3. What is the minimum period I must drive the car for before I can sell it off? Or is it ever possible to sell off a 2nd-hand car once you own it?
4. If I do get a 2nd-hand car, how old it shouldn't be? Is it wise to get a car that's more than 3yrs, etc?
5. I really don't mind spending $800-$900/month for installment for the 2nd-hand car (don't worry abt the petrol, maintenance, parking etc, still can handle that on top of my planned budget), so if this is the case, what sort of 2nd-hand Celica should I be looking for?
6. Anything I should know for 2nd-hand car?
I really do want to drive a Celica...My intention was to get a brand new Hyundai Coupe, but have heard far too many bad comments abt this car and it seems Celica is a better choice. I know it's stupid of me and commitment will be high, but it's just a dream (to drive a 2-door car) for me to fulfill before I turn 30 (I'm 26 now). After that when family commitment and kids comes in, that's really no more hope lar~
So, whether it's encouragement of discouragement, I really appreciate it. Thanks.
haha, i know what you mean!!! But I still trust that what she said is what she really meant.Originally posted by no_speeding:Hahah...i juz hope u wife support u always...![]()
Just get a smaller one lah... like SIS or YRV Turbo... May not be as powerful as the 2nd hand one you planned... however it's new and you get to smell a new car interior and it still runs much stronger compared to normal family saloon on road... Better still, the monthly maintenance is definitely lower and you save (every cents counts and it's never too late to start saving) for the 'rainy' day which you can never tells when it will comes... Save more while young. Anyway, getting a Evo/STi/Euro R as a sports family saloon is never 'lou kui' nor too late after you turns 30 or when you plan to start your family...Originally posted by rumie:haha, i know what you mean!!! But I still trust that what she said is what she really meant.
No offend to you. But I think ppl can definitly survive without a condo. Whether want a lux car or condo is kind of personal preference. Hence, sometime we can see BMW 5series or even SLK in HDB car park.Originally posted by PaulQ:diving nice car is surely not my priority. when the time comes for you to buy a house, u will be short of the 'wonderful' hard cash for downpayment. If I have not bought a big condo, ha ha, I can get a Mercs liao ... However, for me, the priority goes like this : Condo -> Family -> Car . Am moving on to the third stage and happy with it because one can survive without car but not the former![]()
Nice Celica...Originally posted by Ah Wei:Hi,
Go for a 2nd hand SS1 (Manual if possible). I believe it will be within your range. A brand new one cocst abt 90k+, so a 2 yrs one one would at most cost you 70k I believe.
If you need contact, maybe you can drop me an email at [email protected]. My brother is in the Celica club, maybe he can help. I mean, at least you can be sure of the history of the car, like accident free or not.
I can't afford my dream car as well, so I always envy those who chase after their dream. Just work out your sum properly and I guess it will be fine.
Anyway, just to give you more kick in the Celica, try looking at this link......
http://www.cartalk.com.sg/forum/index.php?showtopic=165
May your wish come true! Cheers~!![]()
somehow, what you said DOES have a effect on my decision.Originally posted by Haywiregirl:all money, u forgot one part, wife-money...
aiyah.talk so much..u got money then go buy oh..ask so many questions and get opinions for waht when u already got the mindset what u want. just go ahead and buy it and come back and update whether u still feeling good or not...esp after a child.
Hi Tay,Originally posted by Tayysj:Hmm. hyundai coupe = hyundai tuscani? or 2 diff cars.. shld be diff rite.. wads so bad abt the hyundai coupe/tuscani.. (sorri if this is a little off topic)