05 Sep, 03:51PM in sunny Singapore!

Tottenham Hotspurs

Subscribe to Tottenham Hotspurs 340 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    43,369 posts since Mar '05
    • Tottenham will attempt to sign Real Madrid midfielder Guti this week, say the Mirror. After admitting defeat in their bid to sign Newcastle's Jermaine Jenas, Spurs chairman Daniel Levy has turned to the Spaniard and will offer Real £5m for his services.

5 million pounds for guti is a bargain.

44,629 posts since Apr '05
    • i doubt he will go.no champions league football and is spurs in the uefa cup?plus spurs got alot of midfielders liao and guti operates best in the center.can they guarantee him a starting spot every week?

• guti is a cut better than spurs current midfielder.

either he moves to spurs to be a bench warmer at RM.

44,629 posts since Apr '05
    • why a team like newcastle,ok since they seemt o have gotten emre and parker erm lets say everton surely guti would be a class asset there man.but hard to move from a world class team to such a small scale team ba.hard transition i think he will only want to move to those top4 teams in the country.

• Tottenham have confirmed they have agreed an undisclosed fee - thought to be £1.5million - with Hamburg for left-sided Cameroon international Thimothee Atouba.

The Bundesliga outfit have been tracking Atouba for a number of weeks but a transfer looked unlikely with both sides admitting they were miles apart in their valuation of the five-times capped player.

However, the club's official site has now confirmed that a fee has been finalised for the player and that he has travelled to Germany for transfer talks.

"We have agreed a deal with Hamburg for the transfer of Thimothee Atouba, subject to the player finalising personal terms," the statement read.

"The Cameroon international has travelled to Germany to finalise those terms."

Atouba, who can operate as a left-back or left midfielder, featured 24 times last season after joining on a free transfer from FC Basle in August 2004.

• Hamburg have announced the signing of left-sided Cameroon international Thimothee Atouba from Tottenham.

The 23-year-old has penned a four-year deal which will keep him at the Bundesliga club until June 30 2009.

"He was our dream candidate from the first moment and we are very happy to finalise the transfer," said Hamburg director of sport Dietmar Beiersdorfer.

14,390 posts since Jun '03
    • Tottenham appear to have entered the race to sign Julio Baptista after Sevilla claimed they have received a bid of more than £13.8million for the forward.

Baptista, the 23-year-old Brazil international, has been linked with a move to Arsenal but Sevilla revealed Spurs have tabled the most expensive bid for the player, who is under contract at the club until 2006.

'The most important offer that we have received is that of Tottenham, of more than €20million,' said a statement on the club's official website.

It is not known whether Sevilla will accept this bid, but club president Jose Maria Del Nido has warned Baptista's admirers time is running out.

'It's going to be difficult for him to leave,' he said. 'Time is passing by and there are fewer days in order for clubs to make higher offers than what we have received so far.'

Baptista struck 20 goals in 30 league appearances last season as Sevilla finished sixth in the standings.

Tottenham finished ninth in the Premiership, and Baptista would compete with Fredi Kanoute, Robbie Keane and Jermain Defoe for a regular place in attack.

Kanoute and Keane were both on target today in a 3-1 friendly win against South African side Sundowns in the Peace Cup clash in Suwon.

Keane scored the opener 10 minutes before the break when Tom Huddlestone sent him through to round the keeper and finish.

Kanoute added the second just after the break when Wayne Routledge's drive was parried by the goalkeeper, and Keane smashed in a third six minutes later.

Lerato Chabangu pulled one back but Martin Jol's side clung on for an impressive victory.

14,653 posts since Mar '04
    • Tottenham Hotspur striker Fredi Kanoute believes his team will begin the new Barclays Premiership season high in confidence following their Peace Cup triumph.
      Spurs brushed aside French champions Lyon 3-1 in Sunday's final and Kanoute has demanded more of the same when pre-season preparations continue against Reading on Saturday.

“Even though it is a friendly tournament we now have a trophy already. We played well and we deserved it. It sets us up nicely for the rest of the season,” he told the club’s official website www.spurs.co.uk.

“First though, I think it is going to be difficult at Reading and it is better for us that we will have to keep at the same level.”

A Robbie Keane double and an own goal from Jeremy Berthod saw Spurs cruise into a 3-0 first-half lead and Kanoute, who came on as a second-half substitute against his old club, was amazed victory came so easily.

“I thought we could win but not by that much. We had a lot of the ball to start with and we took confidence from that in the first half, so it was good,” he said.

“Lyon do have very good players and we could see that even if they weren’t allowed to display their full quality against us. They are very strong all over the pitch and this makes it a very good result for us.”

Meanwhile, defender Michael Dawson has returned to training after recovering from the broken nose he suffered in an aerial challenge against Boca Juniors during Spurs’ opening match of the Peace Cup.

Dawson said: “The nose is fine. I landed back in the UK, saw a few people over the last week and I’ve been given the all clear to start training again. The doctor helped me when I did it out there and I owe him one.

“When I came off it the pitch my nose was a bit bent but he straightened it up again in the dressing room. It’s fine now. I had it covered up but I took that off and I was delighted. You could hardly tell.”

14,653 posts since Mar '04
    • DAVIDS SIGNS FOR SPURS
      Wednesday 03 Aug 2005

Spurs have finally completed the free transfer signing of midfielder Edgar Davids from Internazionale.

The 32-year-old Netherlands international has put pen to paper at White Hart Lane, following protracted talks about the deal.

Head Coach Martin Jol told the club's official website: "I know everybody is very excited, he is a big player and the one we wanted.

"Edgar Davids is probably one of the most successful players of the last decade, he has played for five of the biggest clubs in Europe and he wants to play for Spurs.

"All of our players are ambitious and know why we have brought Edgar in, because both mentally and physically we need to go up a step or two."

Davids has won 73 caps for Holland and has also played for Barcelona, Juventus, AC Milan and Ajax during his illustrious career.

• Edgar Davids will miss Tottenham Hotspur's opening Barclays Premiership match at Portsmouth after suffering a knee injury in training.

The Holland midfielder, who arrived at White Hart Lane on a free transfer from Inter Milan this summer, had been hoping to make his league debut at Fratton Park but that has now been temporarily delayed.

Head coach Martin Jol told official club website www.spurs.co.uk: "He fell off balance in a collision in training but thankfully it looks quite a minor injury and he should be back in a week or two."

The injury is a real blow to Jol, who was hoping the 32-year-old could provide the drive and steel in midfield in the same way Roy Keane does for Manchester United.

Jol said: “Edgar is very quiet outside of football but he is always coaching the other lads in training. He takes one or two of the younger players aside and talks to them about little details of their game and I like that.

“The players react to that. They listen to him and that is exactly one of the reasons we are very happy with him.

“He came into the dressing room at half-time in our friendly against Reading to give us a signal that he wanted to come and join us and that was good because we played well in the second half. All those little things are important in a club.

“How important has Roy Keane been for Manchester United over the last decade? Very important. Hopefully, he will have the same value for us.”

Davids' absence is a further setback to Jol, who is already without captain Ledley King (groin), Tom Huddlestone (knee), Michael Brown (foot), Mounir El Hamdaoui (ankle), Noe Pamarot (knee) and Sean Davis (knee).

In King's absence, Jol is expected to hand the captain's armband to either Michael Carrick, who led the side on a number of occasions in pre-season, or Paul Robinson.

Despite the injury problems, Jol is confident Spurs can overcome their renowned travel sickness.

“It’s about mental toughness. We have to get that, that is the quality of a team. In a mental way we had to change last season. We need a winning mentality away from home.

“Away from home we didn’t concede a lot of goals but lost games by 1-0. We lost games against Charlton and Palace away and those are the most important games. You have to win against the lesser teams, not just Manchester United.”

Portsmouth manager Alain Perrin knows Spurs will provide his side with a tough test, but admits the opening weekend could be a good time to face them.

Perrin said: “They look a good side. There is never a good time to play a good team, although maybe now is OK before their new players have settled.

“We will not be the best team in the Premiership but I think we will be a stronger team who can challenge every other side. (Laurent) Robert is an important signing.

“He will give a lot to the squad in confidence and experience and of course he scores goals from free-kicks.”

For his part, Robert is looking forward to a fresh start having ended a turbulent spell with Newcastle United in the summer.

"To be honest, I enjoyed my four years at Newcastle,” he said.

“It is a great souvenir, but that is over now and I am happy to be here with Portsmouth.”

Former Paris St Germain star Robert has signed on loan at Fratton Park for a year but intends to stay for at least three.

He added: “It is a happy place. We have good players and although some people were surprised I signed it was, in the end, because of the manager who gives me a lot of confidence.

“I don’t know if the Premier League has seen the best of me yet but I will try my best and if the other players play well around me I know we will do well.

“The UEFA Cup must be a target and I’m still thinking about the World Cup with France. Why not? But first we must make a good start and Tottenham are difficult.”

Perrin will keep Zambia striker Collins Mbesuma on ice for the home date with Spurs, but several of his summer signings look set to start.

Pompey are without defenders Linvoy Primus and Aliou Cisse through injury but Sander Westerveld looks set to get the nod in goal ahead of Jamie Ashdown.

Loan signing Azar Karadas should form the attack with Lomana LuaLua despite suffering a slight knee injury in training on Thursday. Dejan Stefanovic captains the side after Arjan de Zeeuw’s return to Wigan Athletic.

Portsmouth (from): Westerveld, Griffin, O’Brien, Stefanovic, Vignal, O’Neil, Hughes, Viafara, Robert, Karadas, LuaLua, Taylor, Pericard, Todorov, Mornar, Rodic, Skopelitis, Unsworth, Ashdown.

Tottenham Hotspur (from): Robinson, Cerny, Stalteri, Edman, Dawson, Gardner, Carrick, Tainio, Reid, Routledge, Keane, Defoe, Mido, Kanoute, Naybet, Kelly, Davenport, Bunjevcevic, Ziegler.

5,551 posts since Dec '04
    437 posts since Jun '05
    • Originally posted by Takumi2eLimit:
      i take spurs to win today.

odds: $1.98 Laughing

-0.5 @$1.98?so low? Sad
      i saw one spurs-0.25 @$2.05 Very Happy

• Originally posted by NAMELESS WONDER:
      -0.5 @$1.98?so low? Sad
      i saw one spurs-0.25 @$2.05 Very Happy

i thought you are going to save up and stop betting.

12,758 posts since Dec '99
    • Originally posted by X-men:
      Spurs will be interesting to watch this season

with the addition of Davids,hurhurhur,gd luck to opposing teams. Laughing

437 posts since Jun '05
    • Originally posted by dragg:
      i thought you are going to save up and stop betting.

i see see only lah,i kay po mah Laughing

i am a man of chance.

i find it hard to resist betting everytime i walk into a singapore pools outlet. that's why i try not to go near unless i am betting.

Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

437 posts since Jun '05
      i am a man of chance.

i find it hard to resist betting everytime i walk into a singapore pools outlet. that's why i try not to go near unless i am betting.

Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

totally agreed!!!
      may bet later if no bet no shiok to watch leh,but small small bet Laughing

totally agreed!!!
      may bet later if no bet no shiok to watch leh,but small small bet Laughing

define 'small small bet' Laughing

$5-$10 i think.

like that no kick lah.even if win,collect money quite malu. Laughing

Please Login or Signup to reply.