23 Nov, 08:51AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Void Deck

wicca

Subscribe to wicca 93 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1 post since Jan '01
    • hey pple! i’m doing a journalism student and just wondering what you pple have to say about wiccan – or people practising witchcraft as a religion. are you afraid of them? or do you think it is just a fad? are they any wiccans out there who would want to correspond with me about this issue?

1 post since Jul '01
    • Hi I’ve been a wiccan for 4 years and I still get stares from ppl at my pentacle until i have to wear it hidden inside. You don’t know how hard it is to be a wiccan in Singapore. People think we worship the devil even though that is connected to christianity not wicca. We embrace nature and we connect with Mother Earth in ritualistic ways. We are just like normal people but sometimes we are more than just humans. It is sad that people treat us like freaks or wannabes because there are people who truly belong to this religion but have to hide their real identity. People are afraid of things they don’t know and wicca isn’t evil at all.

93 posts since Oct '00
    • Originally posted by Pebbles:
      Hi I've been a wiccan for 4 years and I still get stares from ppl at my pentacle until i have to wear it hidden inside. You don't know how hard it is to be a wiccan in Singapore. People think we worship the devil even though that is connected to christianity not wicca. We embrace nature and we connect with Mother Earth in ritualistic ways. We are just like normal people but sometimes we are more than just humans. It is sad that people treat us like freaks or wannabes because there are people who truly belong to this religion but have to hide their real identity. People are afraid of things they don't know and wicca isn't evil at all.

yoz! how do u become one~? wat interest u~? is it fun~? any experience to tell~? spells~? tried any~?

------------------
      <=^_^=>

13 posts since Nov '01
    • Hi, can i join u and ur group of wiccans? I'm really interested, but I didn't know they existed here. Pls do mail me

c_yilin@hotmail.com OR e_vonnie@hotmail.com

thanx

------------------
      Luv, _Belle_

336 posts since Nov '01
    13 posts since Nov '01
    • PeOplE prActiSiNG wiTch cRaFt?!
      yoU meAn thEre iS suCh pEoplE in Sg?
      thEn dO thEy hAf mAgiC poWeRs???
      iF hAf,... wAh... cAn dO ANYTHING liAoz~

336 posts since Nov '01
    • Originally posted by sMiLey-:
      PeOplE prActiSiNG wiTch cRaFt?!
      yoU meAn thEre iS suCh pEoplE in Sg?
      thEn dO thEy hAf mAgiC poWeRs???
      iF hAf,... wAh... cAn dO ANYTHING liAoz~

LOL, dun be silly, it's a religion lah. I think u watch too much movies liao! Smile

14 posts since Jan '02
    • Okay, this is sort of late, but I couldn't help adding. I am a practising solitary Wiccan-- nearing one year, and yes, I am 13. young, huh? but I've had enough of the conversions and charmed/harry potter wannabes already! No, I am NOT cavorting with the devil, NO, i do not believe in the devil, NO NO NO i cannot fly and make energy forms out of nothing in front of me and NO, stepping on my cat's eye crystal will NOT put a curse on you. There. happy now?

Sheesh.

This place really reminds me of mystic wicks.

No, I do not bother to hide my pentacle once out of school-- jewellery without registration with the principal is outlawed, and I simply can't be bothered. I don't understand how a beautiful symbol like the pentacle can be twisted into a depraved repulsion like the baphomet. Wicca/Witchcraft is a beautiful religion, and the oldest. It predates Judeo-Christianity by 25 000 years, give or take a few thousand. See? hmph.

3 posts since Mar '02
    • Hi. I'm a new member of the Singapore Forum. I do not practise 100% witchcraft, but i come form a healer family (my mom's side) and we all have at least one form of spiritual communication. I work specifically on crystals and a bit on herbal teas and essential oils. I treat these forms of magic more as a form of technology, like Atlantis' eletrical and magnetism powers ( to learn more, go to http://www.crystalinks.com/atlantis.html ), and I'm currently in search of an eternal youth formula (and not too far away from success!) as I fancy remaining a young boy forever. I am glad to see that Singapore isn't a country that neglects spirituality other than a lay practise of any religion.

3 posts since Mar '02
    • To Nochestrella:

Actually, the pentacle is the original sign of Christianity and is sacred, representing Jesus Christ's five wounds. The Pentagram (upside-down star pentacle) is the only proper sign of the devil (the image of the devil can be seen if you look at the symbol with sufficent spiritual concentration), and even then it is so only to Satanists, as it can be used for some form of good to.

7 posts since Jun '02
    • Hello i am interested in wicca also,can you please tell me how you started out,your experiences?

53 posts since Jun '02
    • i heard many story abt witch craft frm ppl. like ppl use it to let ppl met accdient, rape gal. but in the end they died very horrible .

NO JOKE . TRUE STORY . WITNESS CAN BE FOUND !!

7 posts since Jun '02
    • Hollywood tv shows like charmed or buffy the vampire slayer is somewhat different from real life.

14 posts since Jan '02
    • Originally posted by psykit_feline:
      To Nochestrella:

Actually, the pentacle is the original sign of Christianity and is sacred, representing Jesus Christ's five wounds. The Pentagram (upside-down star pentacle) is the only proper sign of the devil (the image of the devil can be seen if you look at the symbol with sufficent spiritual concentration), and even then it is so only to Satanists, as it can be used for some form of good to.

The pentagram is the written/verbal form of the pentacle, which is the object itself. The -baphomet- is the upside pentacle/pentagram which depicts a goat with horns. And the pentacle signifies the four elements, uppermost point for spirit, and the circle around it for unity. That is what I know and understand. No, you don't need "spiritual concentration" to see the goat's head-- just some imagination and aforehand knowledge. Nor is the baphomet the only sign-- there is also the inverted cross or the symbol of three sixes intertwined together, or just the number six hundred and sixty-six.

The pentacle also stands for "The Perfect Man/Woman", signifying a person spread-eagled. Don't ask me why they call it that, I'm just a student.

14 posts since Jan '02
    • Originally posted by dark^blue:
      i heard many story abt witch craft frm ppl. like ppl use it to let ppl met accdient, rape gal. but in the end they died very horrible .

NO JOKE . TRUE STORY . WITNESS CAN BE FOUND !!

Your grammar, as one of my teachers would say, is atrocious.

And your facts are rather jumbled too. I suspect you are talking about blood-sacrifices, not witchcraft. There is such a thing as "The Law of Three" and the Wiccan Rede, which prevents witches and wiccans from doing any intentional harm. Those who do so intentionally are not called witches/wiccans. The Law of Three-- Three times what thou sends out returns to thee. Wiccan Rede-- "Eight words the Wiccan Rede fulfil, an ye harm none, do what ye will". See? The Law, and The Law of the Power as well, states "harm none" as one of the most basic rules. So essentially, I think you're pinpointing the wrong group altogether.

7 posts since Jun '02
    812 posts since Aug '01
    14 posts since Jan '02
    • Hey Question! Erm, yeah, it’s definitely very different. But that’s a bit obvious… at least I think it to be so~ Mother Earth gives money when and as you need it—and even then, I don’t think that wealth is all that great… somehow. I’ve changed, I’ve mellowed… and I hate change. I dunno who I am anymore.

1 post since Aug '02
    • haloo,
      i live in the west, is anyone hosting a coven i could join?or perhaps you want to start one together? m a rookie.
      pls reply,
      thanx,
      wen.

1 post since Sep '02
    • hi i am a new member here and i REALLY want to learn wicca! i didnt even noe u have wiccans here in s'pore. do people know of any stores which i can go to buy books and all .please help me ,i really want to learn.

pebbles, where do u live n all? i think u can help me.please email me at rockin_cutie@hotmail.com,anybody who can be of assistance PLZ EMAIL ME!!!

6 posts since Dec '02
    • Wow
      did't know that there was ppl in singapore who is wiccan, me just started learning a few months back.
      i have been trying hard to find stores in singapore that sells wiccans stuffs; like the pentacle and herbs.....
      Anyone can advise where to get them?

2 posts since Dec '02
    • I want to say that i totally agree with everything pebbles and nosterella have said (including the bit about the grammar). i don't do much practical wicca at the moment because i don't feel that at this stage in my life i can give it the time commitment it requires and deserves. but at my top choice of university there are many wiccan students, so i hope to practise it there. i have been researching it a lot, and reading about it. to angelena, i recommend silver ravenwolf's publications as a good place to start your research. as i read i realised that without being concious of it, my mother and i had to an extent being practising wicca for a long time. i'd always labled myself a free thinker, when in fact all my beliefs ran unknowingly parallel to wiccan beliefs and laws.

the devil has absolutely NOTHING to do with wicca. come on, the devil is a creation of the cristian faith, wicca is a completely separate religion. and the devil in the pentacle? i'm sorry, but i'm sure if you focused hard enough, you could see the devil in anything. the only time i've ever felt the presence of anything evil or connected to the devil is when i was in church. take that as you will.

here's a question of curiosity for you wiccans:
      do you put down wicca as your religion on official forms? for example your ic? i mean, how truthful are you/faithful are you?

i put free thinker down on mine, because i wasn't absolutely sure i wanted to pursue wicca at that point. even now, i think wicca can be kept private, and there's nothing wrong with being private or public about it, because it's personal more than anything else.
      what do you think?

2 posts since Dec '02
    • i know i already wrote a lot, but there's one more thing i wanted to add. those of you who seem really enthusiasthic about becomeing wiccan......no offense but it sounds to me like you are going into this on a whim, as a fad. i'd just like to say be cautious, follow the laws of respect, and don't do anything stupid!
      personally i think ouiji boards are stupid, if that's any guideline.

6 posts since Dec '02
    • Originally posted by mirai:
      here's a question of curiosity for you wiccans:
      do you put down wicca as your religion on official forms? for example your ic? i mean, how truthful are you/faithful are you?

To me, its not pratical to put Wiccan as your religion, the society has not accepted wiccan as a mainstream religion yet, just like Pebbles had said its hard to be wiccan in singapore.

I had only a few clsoe friends(most is free tinkers) whio knows i am a wiccan, its a risk exposing my religion especially to christians.
      I.M.O It would be catastrophic to write wiccan as a religion in job application form, especially if the boss is a cristian.

I prefer to kept my faith private, after all being wicca is not about being different from others or to be in the spotlight.

7,730 posts since Dec '02
    • Hello all,
      and, Pudel2 & risha_13 (to get ur attention,) try: New Age Circle.

www.newagecircle.com

located at chinatown point(near outram/raffles mrt), 2nd storey. The addy is avaliable through the website, do check it out Wink

I would like to know if there are any students currently from Nanyang Poly who is interested in this topic. Pls reply to this post or email me at : seraphic_rain@hotmail.com
      Thankx all...

Edited by En' 30 Dec `02, 8:33PM
Please Login or Signup to reply.