03 Dec, 02:21PM in sunny Singapore!

Advise on what hardware to use/set up new computer

Subscribe to Advise on what hardware to use/set up new computer 77 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    15,791 posts since Nov '06
    • I am planning to DIY new computer, need some help...

What motherboard is good?, i need at least quad core, and nee some help in choosing graphic card.

What is brand/model is better?

Please Advise, i wan to put as many RAM as possible
      (my bro say more RAM = fast?)
      Which processor can go with quad core board?
      Can a quad core board run normal applications?
      if i get 64bit PC(still getting XP pro), can i run normal programs?

*is iit advisable to buy a 6core?

What is the diff in performance for quad core and 6core. Price wise lea?

is it all mainboard can run water cool?er....the water coool need to top up water like car liddat? or put car coolant can or not?

If keep on running, the water will all become hot? need change water?

Edited by MyPillowTalks 22 Jan `08, 5:49PM
    2,331 posts since May '07
    • I have not heard of any 6-core CPU. But there are 8-core ones though. The dear old Xeon series has them. But they're quite expensive and not many motherboards (MB) go with them, so I would suggest sticking with Core 2 Quad, unless you're really a golden pillow.

Excessive RAM memory won't bring about any benefits. For XP, 2 GB should be sufficient. Vista would be 3 GB, I suppose.

For your choice of MB, like I have mentioned in another similar thread, go with Asus or Gigabyte if you're overclocking. Get a motherboard from the P35 series for your Quad CPU, or grab a X38 if you don't mind pawning your golden pillow case. Otherwise just pick any MB that has most of the features you need (say, a firewire port).

The cheapest Quad currently on sale is around $440. (Q6600). You can check the pricelists at sls.vr-zone.com.sg or go down to SLS personally to get the latest update on retail prices. I'm not that sure about Xeon CPUs though. I don't see them on most pricelists. Anyway, I heard that a 45nm version of quad CPUs is coming out. Not too sure what the difference is about, but geeks are making lots of hoo-ha about it, so you may want to spend some time to google on this.

Regarding the compatibility issue regarding applications on Windows 64, Anty will be able to give you an answer on that.

I happened to research on water cooling this morning. Let me share with you some great articles I have found.

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=287576
      http://www.overclockers.com/tips77/

You'll only need to replace the coolant liquid once or twice annually. But one of the major risk of using water cooling is that, you're using water - on electrical stuff.

Edit:
      Missed out some of your questions just now.

For the choice of graphics card, I would recommend getting, in increasing order of prices, X1950Pro, 8800GT 512 MB, 8800GTS 512 MB and if beneath your pillow case are golden feathers, 8800 Ultra x3 under 3-way SLI.

Here's a ranking of graphic cards compiled by overclocking enthusiasts.

http://www.overclock.net/graphics-cards-general/270292-graphics-card-ranking-3rd-time-s.html

And yea, you can still run the programs on quad-core CPUs as you do now. What matters more would be whether your OS is a 32-bit or a 64-bit.

Anyway, I see quite a number of Want-To-Sell threads for Q6600 CPUs selling around $50 lower than the retail price at VRZ's marketplace within the past few days. You may want to check that subforum out.

http://forums.vr-zone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10

Edited by LatecomerX 22 Jan `08, 7:03PM
    2,037 posts since Feb '04
    • Hi,LatecomerX
      Thanks for your recommandation on various MB.
      *i'm pillow's bro.

1.Regarding MB,i tel mypillowtalk dun overclock,jus get 1 good MB then use till up lorry,wat will be a better MB to get,in your opeinon.Price dun want too exp.MUST be tahanable/ quad core or above, cos fed up wid a core2 dour Evil or Very Mad

2.The 8800 ultra x3 under 3-way SLI is the current better one?
      (issit crossfire lik wat pillow always say?)3 way means put how many graphic card>2/3?)
      How will it compare wid the Ati dunno wat HD.

3.I assume from your post all program/application can still run.
      So.. the 32 bit & 64 bit got what diff? in application/games/programm running?
      Cannot run anymore?Need other hardware to support?

**build tis computer is jus for games & some video-editing software only, not really for work as can use current computer.

What will be a relistic budget for wat me & my bro want.
      >MB-Quad core/above
      >Processor-Got how fast,get how fast if $$ permits
      >Ram-3ghz or 4ghz ram(dunno use ddr2 or ddr3 or ddr4??)
      >Graphic Card-the one u recommand
      >Harddisk-need how big?
      >Watever cooling.

Thanks.

Edited by bo liao 22 Jan `08, 11:48PM
    53,307 posts since Aug '05
    • Since it's mainly for video editing and gaming, you will need at least 1GB of RAM. For now, I would recommend sticking to 32-bit OS, and not getting a 64-bit one. Not all applications work well in a 64-bit environment, although some are able to.

While programs may work, drivers are famous for not working in a 64-bit environment. If you do get a 64-bit OS, make sure you are able to find 64-bit drivers for your hardware, otherwise, some hardware will fail to work.

Some hardware manufacturers do offer a 64-bit version of their drivers, particular for graphics cards manufacturers.

If you do need a lot of RAM, you may want to consider using a 64-bit OS. If you look at the properties of a 32-bit OS, the amount of RAM it will report is around 3GB to 4GB.

So if you slot in 6GB of RAM, you will know where your 2 to 3 GB of RAM disappear to. A 64-bit OS will not have this problem though.

As for what motherboard, I would suggest getting the cheapest Quad core motherboard. Most hardware these days don't last, it's not really a good idea to get an expensive and good one, which is really wasting money.

SLI is something like Crossfire, but I'm not big on graphics card. Pillow and the forumers will know better.

As for Xeon, I don't think anyone should be able to get much details on it. It's more for commercial purposes. It's used for servers particularly.

• The choice of MB really doesn't matter much as long it has most of the features you need if you're not OC-ing. But if I have to pick, I would go with Gigabyte's GA-P35-DS3 going around at $205 (not our dear giga Embarassed ).

Erm, for that 3x 8800 Ultra, I'm not serious about it. Mr. Green

Seriously, each 8800 Ultra costs more than $1,000. And the entire setup will easily cost more than $6,000. It's like a Mercedes-Benz - too fast, too expensive. You can read more about its review here.

http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/481/

A 8800 GT (512 MB) or 8800 GTS (512 MB, not the 320 MB or 640 MB one) which cost around $450 and $550 respectively would be much more worth the $.

Processor-wise, get the Q6600 which is retailing at $440. Iirc, the next CPU in the Quad series is double that price.

For RAM modules, stay with DDR2 ones. The DDR3 sticks do not offer much performance advantage against DDR2 ones, but each one costs around 5 - 10 times more than its DDR2 counterparts atm. For a good balance between cost and performance, grab those DDR2-1066 low-latency modules like HyperX or BallistiX which is going for $80 - $110 each for the 1GB model. Otherwise, go with the DDR2-800 Value RAMs selling for around $40 per 1 GB stick.

To get the most value out of hard disk drives, go for the ones that are between 250 - 500 GB as they have the lowest $/GB ratio (approx $0.40/GB). I would pick one from Hitachi, and Anty would recommend you Seagate. Anyway, if you are looking for performance, go with Western Digital's Raptors ($2.30 - $4.20 / GB depending on model). They get pretty hot easily, so you may need good ventilation for your casing.

I'm not experienced with cooling systems, but I suppose you will need cooling for CPU, graphics card and casing individually or even water cooling only when you're OC-ing. These components should not sweat under normal use. Anyway, a good CPU fan typically cost around $100. Or you can just use the stock fan that comes with the CPU. Not too sure about the rest.

Other than all these components above, do remember to factor in the cost of the power supply unit (good ones go for $150 and above, infamous ones go for $50), the casing (walk around SLS to see-see, nice-looking ones cost between $80 - $180), the monitor ($250 - $450) and if the MB doesn't have a good on-board sound card, you may consider getting one. The cheapest would be around $50 (Creative Audigy) which can be said to be above most on-board sound cards.

And some general advice here. No need to use until up Lorry` de. You can consider upgrading every year and selling the parts off at 30% - 50% of the original price at forum marketplaces which can be used to supplement the cost of the upgrade itself. I personally find this way to be more worthwhile. It's like having a high startup cost on the first purchase but enjoying high-end tech stuff at 50% - 70% of the original price on every upgrade.

1,830 posts since Jun '05
    • @ts

you may consider amd quad core.

as for mobo, maybe u can tell us what u are going to fix into the com. than we select the cheapest one according to your needs.

the wattage of the PSU determines what you fix into your com too.

since u are not going to overclock, than the cooling system determines what you fix into your com too. or you can buy the set first, check the cpu temperature.. if the temperature goes way too high, get a better cooling system or a better casing

to your needs, just get a 32bit windows can liao.

gfxArrow latecomer as i dont really intrest in fanciful gfx.

Edited by manyu882 23 Jan `08, 12:06PM
    • Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:
      If you do need a lot of RAM, you may want to consider using a 64-bit OS. If you look at the properties of a 32-bit OS, the amount of RAM it will report is around 3GB to 4GB.

As for what motherboard, I would suggest getting the cheapest Quad core motherboard. Most hardware these days don't last, it's not really a good idea to get an expensive and good one, which is really wasting money.

ok,so get 32bit.

So tipical quad core mb can put in 4ghz ram right?

• Err.....

So is this>Gigabyte's GA-P35-DS3 going around at $205
      1 of this>A 8800 GT (512 MB) or 8800 GTS $450 and $550
      4pc of this>DDR2-1066 low-latency modules like HyperX or BallistiX which is going for $80 - $110 each for the 1GB model
      1 Harddisk>250gb-500gb
      1 power supply bout>$200?
      Casing>anyhow use.

The computer is 24/7 de.we hv 12 hour shift Laughing

205+550+400(+-40)+200?+200=1555

Den add in 1 processor bout $500.....OS mayb $300...monitor..

Thats about all right?

• Gigabyte's GA-P35-DS3....hmm...Supports Intel® Core™ 2 multi-core and upcoming 45nm processors , but since the processors are new,would it cost more?or can i put in the Q6600? would it perform the same?

Laughing @ 3x 8800ultra....

lets say i get the 8800 GTS 512 mb:
      can it support really video demanding games like flight simulator, ship simulator, on the website there is also GTX, around 784mb of memory, so if i start to play really demanding games, would a GTX perform better then the GTS?

* reason why i no play games is becos im on nvidia grforce 4 mx 440 Laughing Embarassed

So, i get a quad core motherboard and get the Q6600 processor??

For RAM modules, stay with DDR2 ones. For a good balance between cost and performance, grab those DDR2-1066 low-latency modules like HyperX or BallistiX which is going for $80 - $110 each for the 1GB model.

Internal HDD:

Seagate
      Hitachi
      Western digital raptors- hot need cooling
      So, is it advice to keep 2 HDD? one for system storage and one for data storage?

For the parts, i dont think i would go and oc. So if play video demanding games for a long time do i need a water cooled thingy? If yes, then maybe i would also get the western digital raptors

For the PSU, should i get the 550Watt and above?
      Casing, does not really matter, just can be cool(parts cool not the look Laughing )
      or the most i put a biiiggg fan

For the monitor, since me bro and i play game is average 6-8hours straight, and i on forums most of the time, u tink a flat panel will last? or should i get a CRT?

Sound card is not really that important, i using sound blaster live!(cost $16 a few months ago) from my old computer, sound is not bad.

I dont really plan to upgrade, i wan something taht can last long, but if i really have enough budget next time then i upgrade

tyty Laughing

Edited by MyPillowTalks 23 Jan `08, 6:03PM
    • Originally posted by bo liao:
      ok,so get 32bit.

So tipical quad core mb can put in 4ghz ram right?

I would not recommend you to put in exactly 4GB of RAM although they support it. Reason is because not all mobos and OS will work well together to report the correct amount, and neither will the RAM be effectively used.

The max to put in is 3.5GB to ensure that the readings are correct and being used effectively.

If want to use RAM effectively, get a mobo that support dual channel.

• For the PSU, should i get the 550Watt and above?

Yes. I don't expect anything to work if the PSU is not supplying enough power.

• is there any quad core processors that come stock with 3.00
      i tink 2.4 like not fast enough lea, from the number 2.4 like not convincing, maybe sth like 3.0

I dun think i want to overclock the Q6600, even though youtubers got it running @ 4ghz , i want sth that is fast and last Laughing

• I went to simlim and spent an hour with the owner

MY new computer would have something like the following, haven buy yet, just discussed:

Intel Quadcore Q6600- $411 Laughing
      X38 motherboard(gigabyte i tink)- $ 482 Surprised Shocked
      4gb KIT kingston RAM- $ 299 Surprised Shocked
      Gigabyte 8800GTS- $545 Surprised Shocked
      320gb SATA2 HD- $121 Laughing Laughing Very Happy Very Happy
      1000W PSU- 390 Surprised Shocked Shocked Shocked Surprised Surprised
      Antex 900 casing- $ 190 Neutral
      1 DVD ROM and 1 DVD writer- $79 Smile
      19" LCD- $349 Shocked Shocked Shocked Surprised Surprised

TOTAL: $2860

haven pruss OS Sad Sad Crying or Very sad

wad u all think?

For this computer's PSU, really Need 1000W or not?

Edited by MyPillowTalks 26 Jan `08, 6:47PM
    4,041 posts since Mar '07
    6,033 posts since Jan '06
    • Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:
      I went to simlim and spent an hour with the owner

MY new computer would have something like the following, haven buy yet, just discussed:

wad u all think?

[b]For this computer's PSU, really Need 1000W or not?

knn 1000w???? dats already half an iron's power!

no need. i will say, a 650w is enough, unless ur gonna mod ur CPU like those pai kia car like dat, with all the lightings, but even den, 1000w is too much. u dun need it. 650w is more den enough.

the rest, is very gd le. i actually think dat if u get a vista ultimate OEM, it will look very good Laughing

Edited by hiphop2009 26 Jan `08, 7:00PM
    1,101 posts since Jun '04
    • A rig with such specs using a cheapo 19" inch monitor, please lah, at least get a 22" widescreen Laughing

• Originally posted by orionlight:
      A rig with such specs using a cheapo 19" inch monitor, please lah, at least get a 22" widescreen Laughing

this kind of spec still not beri high end to me lea, i wan get a exterme quad core processor Cool Twisted Evil

go widescreen for wad??? Laughing Laughing

Edited by MyPillowTalks 26 Jan `08, 7:47PM
    • Originally posted by hiphop2009:
      knn 1000w???? dats already half an iron's power!

no need. i will say, a 650w is enough, unless ur gonna mod ur CPU like those pai kia car like dat, with all the lightings, but even den, 1000w is too much. u dun need it. 650w is more den enough.

the rest, is very gd le. i actually think dat if u get a vista ultimate OEM, it will look very good Laughing

the person say the 1k watt PSU gt technology like if u no use till 1000, it will not give 1k, like onli when u require 600, it will produce 600

Ya but $390 for a PSU is overkill especially if you're not overclocking at all. I would rather spend more on getting a nice 22" LCD screen. Or even two (MSN/watch TV and play game/work at the same time).

1,101 posts since Jun '04
      this kind of spec still not beri high end to me lea, i wan get a exterme quad core processor Cool Twisted Evil

go widescreen for wad??? Laughing Laughing

Then you are just wasting your $$ since you won't be able to fully utilise your 8800GTS power.It's like putting a Ferrari engine into a Nissan Chasis Laughing

All monitor above 20" are widescreen, now is the era of Widescreen liao

is there any quad core processors that come stock with 3.00
      i tink 2.4 like not fast enough lea, from the number 2.4 like not convincing, maybe sth like 3.0

I dun think i want to overclock the Q6600, even though youtubers got it running @ 4ghz , i want sth that is fast and last Laughing

Well, unless you're thinking of using the same rig for more than 5 years, overclocking would give you that "fast" while being able to last through for the next 2 - 3 years which by then you would have gotten yourself another comp.

4 Ghz...you will need to spend quite some time and a good cooling system for it to run stable at that speed. But a 3.0 OC from 2.4 should be as easy as cake especially if you're using a good motherboard.

17,497 posts since Nov '06
    • Originally posted by manyu882:
      @ts

you may consider amd quad core.

as for mobo, maybe u can tell us what u are going to fix into the com. than we select the cheapest one according to your needs.

the wattage of the PSU determines what you fix into your com too.

since u are not going to overclock, than the cooling system determines what you fix into your com too. or you can buy the set first, check the cpu temperature.. if the temperature goes way too high, get a better cooling system or a better casing

to your needs, just get a 32bit windows can liao.

gfxArrow latecomer as i dont really intrest in fanciful gfx.

AMD's Quad Core Is still struggling against their intel counterparts.
      Thus, Intel's Quad cores are still better processing wise.

• Originally posted by orionlight:
      Then you are just wasting your $$ since you won't be able to fully utilise your 8800GTS power.It's like putting a Ferrari engine into a Nissan Chasis Laughing

All monitor above 20" are widescreen, now is the era of Widescreen liao

actually

i dunnoe the 8800 can do wad.....im now on geforce 4 mx 440 which is many years ago, can the 8800 handle flight simulator? ship simulator?

hmm......the person say widescreen play game veri shiok, i now onli 17" CRT monitor lea......

so the Q6600 quadcore is enough to handle photoshop, dreamweaver, sony vegas at one go? my amd 2ghz almost died when i did that

I went to simlim and spent an hour with the owner

wad u all think?

[b]For this computer's PSU, really Need 1000W or not?

$190 for a casing is quite ex.
      You can cut down on that.

And do you need a 19" LCD? 19 inch lcd is what brand and how many fps and response time?
      1000w PSU too much alr. and too ex $390.
      2gb is sufficient for Xp 32bit. I suggest you go 2gb then wait for price to drop further before adding another 2. Mr. Green

Os hor, singpost selling windows vista business for $145. Or you can get from SLS OEM editions lor. $100++

Actually it's up to you. xp for gaming and video, image editing. Or if you want vista, go ONLY for homebasic. Performance wise, xp pro and basic are about the same.

Or you could go for OEM xp Media center edition. Then buy Tv in and out ports to connect to your White box Twisted Evil Sweet.

actually

i dunnoe the 8800 can do wad.....im now on geforce 4 mx 440 which is many years ago, can the 8800 handle flight simulator? ship simulator?

hmm......the person say widescreen play game veri shiok, i now onli 17" CRT monitor lea......

so the Q6600 quadcore is enough to handle photoshop, dreamweaver, sony vegas at one go? my amd 2ghz almost died when i did that

Your amd is dual core right Neutral
      amd cannot compare to intel la. Performance wise.

8800 can handle flight simulator and ship simulator with no prob. dont worry.

Please Login or Signup to reply.