<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'DIY PC Spec' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/2250/topics/321013</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by astria @ Thu, 10 Jul 2008 22:37:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by IT-Newbie-Logy:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;TS might wanna look at the E7200 or the E8400 Processor, coupled
with a ATi4850&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;which cost so freaking cheap like 279$ same price as a new
9600gt. Cheap than a&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;8800Gt.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Board,i no idea. depends on your needs,Rams i prefer Corsair
XM2. Crucial Tracers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Some add ons/info on 4850,some&amp;nbsp;brands come packed with DVI
to HMDI adapter.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;4850 DDR3 Core is lower than 4870 DDR3. The rest like
transistors and memory is the same.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So,what the hell is TS waiting for? =D&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the reference design of HD4870 uses GDDR5... that's wat u re
paying the extra money for compared to HD4850...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;theoratically, GDDR5 has at least twice the bandwidth of
GDDR3... the fastest GDDR5 that i know of can run at 6000MHz
(1500x4) stable... fastest GDDR3? not even 2000MHz...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;in fact HD4870's bandwidth (GDDR5) is on par with, if not more
than, that of GeForce GTX 280 (GDDR3)... do take note that the
former still uses a 256-bits memory interface while the latter is
using a 512-bits memory interface...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 10 Jul 2008 22:37:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8233037</guid>
      <author>astria</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by astria @ Thu, 10 Jul 2008 22:28:01 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If u are talking about graphic card, i tink when they put dual
DVI, HDMI, it mean 2 dvi outputs, 1 HDMI output. in the box, there
would be converters from dvi to vga, or dvi to hdmi.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They are called dongles&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;my ATI radeon&amp;nbsp;HD3870x2 comes with 3 dvi, 1 HDMI, 1 S-video
output on board, and on the box they say:"triple DVI, HDMI"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And HDMI comes with cable, if u ar talking about the nvidia
graphics card, i heard that the HDMI dongle does not support audio,
and the ati HD series ones support audio out of the HDMI, 1080p&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;most ATi Radeon HD cards come with HDMI as the GPU has got the
codec of HD audio integrated, thus audio from the sound card can
output to the GPU through PCI-E and to the HDMI port...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;for Nvidia cards, u'll need to connect the graphic card and
sound card by S/PDIF cable in order to output as HDMI... anyway,
all Nvidia cards are designed to output sound through DVI as well,
but this doesn't make sense as all DVI cables do not carry sound,
thus they require a special dongle/converter in order to output
both sound and video thru HDMI...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;however, it seems that ATi is also adopting this approach (less
the S/PDIF part) lately with the launch of Radeon HD 4850 (ie needs
a dongle to connect thru HDMI), which is not surprising to me since
for every HDMI port created, they'll ve to pay royalty fee...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 10 Jul 2008 22:28:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8233026</guid>
      <author>astria</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by astria @ Thu, 10 Jul 2008 22:20:59 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
I-like-flings(m):&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ok new question.. hehe.... so what is the diff between dual DVI
and HDMI... always read it for GPU and Monitor.... if it dun come
with HDMI... only with DVI.. then got anyway to convert it to HDMI
too...and lost in quality?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;basically, HDMI was developed based on DVI... the video signal
that HDMI carries is exactly the same as DVI... but the advantage
of HDMI is that it can also carry audio signals at the same time,
thus eliminating the ugly sight of chunks of wires...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so since the video signal of DVI and HDMI are the same, there
are DVI-HDMI converters in the market that allows u to switch from
one format to the other... that's how i connect my Radeon X1950GT,
which has only DVI out and HDTV(Component) out,&amp;nbsp; to the LCD TV
in my living room... however, if u connect this way, then u'll have
to connect the audio with another cable...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 10 Jul 2008 22:20:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8233017</guid>
      <author>astria</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by IT-Newbie-Logy @ Thu, 03 Jul 2008 11:24:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;TS might wanna look at the E7200 or the E8400 Processor, coupled
with a ATi4850&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;which cost so freaking cheap like 279$ same price as a new
9600gt. Cheap than a&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;8800Gt.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Board,i no idea. depends on your needs,Rams i prefer Corsair
XM2. Crucial Tracers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Some add ons/info on 4850,some&amp;nbsp;brands come packed with DVI
to HMDI adapter.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;4850 DDR3 Core is lower than 4870 DDR3. The rest like
transistors and memory is the same.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So,what the hell is TS waiting for? =D&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 03 Jul 2008 11:24:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8213910</guid>
      <author>IT-Newbie-Logy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by MyPillowTalks @ Tue, 01 Jul 2008 17:18:34 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If u are talking about graphic card, i tink when they put dual
DVI, HDMI, it mean 2 dvi outputs, 1 HDMI output. in the box, there
would be converters from dvi to vga, or dvi to hdmi.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They are called dongles&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;my ATI radeon&amp;nbsp;HD3870x2 comes with 3 dvi, 1 HDMI, 1 S-video
output on board, and on the box they say:"triple DVI, HDMI"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And HDMI comes with cable, if u ar talking about the nvidia
graphics card, i heard that the HDMI dongle does not support audio,
and the ati HD series ones support audio out of the HDMI, 1080p&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 01 Jul 2008 17:18:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8210108</guid>
      <author>MyPillowTalks</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Tue, 01 Jul 2008 13:11:37 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;ok new question.. hehe.... so what is the diff between dual DVI
and HDMI... always read it for GPU and Monitor.... if it dun come
with HDMI... only with DVI.. then got anyway to convert it to HDMI
too...and lost in quality?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 01 Jul 2008 13:11:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8209454</guid>
      <author>I-like-flings(m)</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by ceecookie @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 21:21:43 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;OEM motherboard is not designed for aftermarket modification so
there's no guarantee of sucess.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And please,stick to original TS's post.Other questions - other
threads&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 21:21:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8192335</guid>
      <author>ceecookie</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by SBS7484P @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 20:45:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hmm&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;since this is the pc spec thread&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hokays, i'll ask a question of my own&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;im planning to insert a ASUS EAH3870 into my HP m7390d PC.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i have a few questions regarding this:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;will my motherboard be able to support such a powerful graphic
card? my pc's 2 years old as of june 08, the mobo's a ASUS P5LP-LE
aka LITHIUM&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;how big a power supply will&amp;nbsp;i need if i am coupling this
upgrade tgt with an extra 2gb's of ddr2 ram (533, abit slow i
know..)&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 20:45:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8192251</guid>
      <author>SBS7484P</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by jack0077 @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 20:10:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hey guys I was googling and found this helpful post!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have a question for anyone who can give a bit of advice
here.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I want to get the intel core 2 quad but the game I play UT99
goty cheat protection rejects 64bit systems and kicks/bans. So I
need to use 32bit xp or vista32bit if there is one. Does anyone
know how a 32bit xp windows software runs on a 64bit core 2 quad
system?And also would this affect the performance of the
machine?Any advice appreciated. Thanks!&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 20:10:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8192156</guid>
      <author>jack0077</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by MyPillowTalks @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 17:47:26 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hmm&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if u are getting for gaming, for now it is good for core 2 duo,
but heard that newer games are optimized for quadcore&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;crysis is already optimized for quadcore, gace driver grid's
minimal requirement is core 2duo&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;GPU u can get 9800gtx or gx2.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 17:47:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8191837</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Mon, 23 Jun 2008 22:32:41 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;anyone else with comments?&amp;nbsp;GPU can? whole spec ok?
mobo?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 22:32:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8190090</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by ceecookie @ Mon, 23 Jun 2008 00:13:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;PSU the more wattage the better,but do note the necessity of
having a too large a wattage PSU and the increasing power
consumption!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Casing does not influence much on the heat dissapation, what
matters most is a effiecent fan and a good HSF.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;GPU - suggest you ask the IT geeks at &lt;a href=
"http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/forumdisplay.php?f=2" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;HWZ's Hardware Zone&lt;/a&gt;, they do know a good deal about
the beforementioned products.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 00:13:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8187831</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Sun, 22 Jun 2008 23:34:37 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;ok got it on the DVD part...i will try to get one.. but will not
go for those super drive or whatever..just a cheap&amp;nbsp;normal
one.. dun plan to write or burn alot of things.. just wan to
read...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;got it on the Quad thing too.. and nope no money to burn.. so
that mean willl stick to core 2 duo....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and ya E83 and E82.. same speed.. ..so maybe like u say.. will
get E83 then overclock when needed...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As for heat.... will using coolermaster casting help? or need to
use other cooler??...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ok will get XP Pro.... as long as it's not vista...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ya so have to find one with HDMI lor..maybe more ex.... my side
no HD programme yet so i still can wait b4 i got a HD tuner
box..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;as for HDD.. i plan to get extra when&amp;nbsp; i need in future
lor.. HDD is getting cheaper everyday.. and everything in 1 HDD.. i
got too many sad experience with HDD dying on me.. so dun trust big
disk anymore..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;as for PSU.. so how much u think it better? 650W? or what?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;GPU u dunno ar?.. then my question on price drop after 9800GTX+
u also cant answer right? sighz.. anyone know? should i wait??&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 22 Jun 2008 23:34:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8187677</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by ceecookie @ Sun, 22 Jun 2008 23:15:52 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
what about all the other part??? ok bo?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sorry for the short reply,was busy so didnt have time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For the Optical Disc Drive,as DVD Drive is very widespread and
common on Personal Computer, it would be of good logic and sense to
go for a DVD-RW Optical Disc Drive.Be sure to look out for the
"-RW" indicator on the DVD Drive as this would means that it is a
geunine DVD Re-writer and not a DVD-ROM/CD-RW combo drive which is
now obsolote and if u are not careful can be cheated by Sim Lim
shops.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It is ok to go for a Quad-Core Processor but do ask yourself if
you need the extra processing power over the Dual Core variant.Quad
Core is best for extreme multimedia and extreme gaming so if you're
not to that, a Wolfdale is fine(unless of course,u have money to
get rid of)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Consider only the Yorkfield Q9 series and not the older
Kentsfield Q6 series as that is the older 65nm model and cannot
compete with the 45nm Wolfdale.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The only difference(at least to me) for the different Wolfdale
varients is that of the different clock speed and the tied
multiplier.Do not consider the E8190 and the E8500 as that is the
"budget" version without Virtualization Technology while the
latter,though top of the line is not worth the costly price
difference for a mere clock speed difference of 133Mhz.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Since you are DIY-ing the PC,the Wolfdale processor would be
then multiplier unlocked so what i advice is to buy a E8300 and
overclock to the clock speed that of the E8400's.It seem the price
of the 82 and 83 is the same so i assume they phased out the E82-
model?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another thing, there seems to be rumours of heat issue in the
Wolfdale processor so do monitor your Wolfdale's temp and invest in
a good cooling system(or a HSF,whichever up to you) to prevent
overheating.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;XP Professional is the way to go, Home is hardly enough for the
IT savvy.For some reason, i noticed that XP contains less Video
Codecs and decoder(maybe not) than Windows Vista which make
DVD-playback in the PC more troublesome.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes,you will need HDMI to watch HD content(take note of the
resolution too) since there's no Component for monitors.Im not sure
which brand does have HDMI output for 22" and should u want to
watch HD content in future,u need a Set-Top-Box with HDMI
output(pretty common) to recieve the channel.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Also common in mainstream and high end PC is large HDD sizes
amounting to 500GB-1TB so i advice u get a HDD capacity of that
range.Buy too small a HDD and u may regret in future when ur HDD
get maxed by the number of HD clips,movies,dramas etc etc
inside.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Im afraid you have to approach someone else for the graphic card
as i do not have much knowledge on it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
And obviously with all the juicy and powerful parts in your PC, a
500W or more PSU will definally be required.In fact,just having a
Nvidia 8800GT on a normal PC requires that wattage for safety
reason according to a expert who came to my poly for a speech.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 22 Jun 2008 23:15:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8187644</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Sun, 22 Jun 2008 23:13:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;oh ya... with the new release of 9800GTX+ how long do u think i
have to wait b4 the price will drop for 8800GT?? u think can wait?
or wait long long also dun have?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 22 Jun 2008 23:13:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8187636</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Sun, 22 Jun 2008 21:23:38 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by ceecookie:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Unable to support 4GB does not means it cannot accomodate the
RAM.The limit is around 3.25GB and it is up to you if you need the
extra 1.25GB of RAM.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Get a mainstream sound card(integrated is fine but at least
Intel HD) but for the actual speakers, there are many variety of
2.1ch speakers that depend on your budget.For a good one allocate
about $100+ for it,while if u want a budget one u can get the Altec
Lansing ATP3 for $60-$70 but provide good bass and sound.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
what about all the other part??? ok bo?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 22 Jun 2008 21:23:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8187317</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by ceecookie @ Sun, 22 Jun 2008 21:00:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Unable to support 4GB does not means it cannot accomodate the
RAM.The limit is around 3.25GB and it is up to you if you need the
extra 1.25GB of RAM.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Get a mainstream sound card(integrated is fine but at least
Intel HD) but for the actual speakers, there are many variety of
2.1ch speakers that depend on your budget.For a good one allocate
about $100+ for it,while if u want a budget one u can get the Altec
Lansing ATP3 for $60-$70 but provide good bass and sound.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 22 Jun 2008 21:00:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8187199</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Sun, 22 Jun 2008 19:32:23 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Ok ok.. after more research with all u guys advice.....below is
my draft spec... pls advice, comment and anything lah..... how much
u think this will cost mi?? haha&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Intel core 2 duo E8400 .... or should i get E8300 or E8200? ...
Quad not worth it yet right?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;XFX 8800GT 512MB .....or should i get 1GB? alpha dog or zalman
any different? or any other brand? MSI? Leadtek?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;320GB SATA .... or is it SATA II nowadays? any brand to
intro?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;22" monitor... should need HDMI if I wan to watch HD tv in
future right? and any brand? .. actually 22" can be Full HD? or
need 24" and above?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sound card just a built in one will do, should get a subwoofer
right? any to intro?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;XP32bit ..... home? pro? or business? which one better?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2GB DDR2-800 ....XP SP3 can support more than 2GB ram? u guys
saying cant have 4gb if using xp 32bit right? this one.. no special
brand right? all about the same right?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;PSU 500W enough?? or need more? any brand?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;DVD/CD .. just a cheap one will do...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Casing ... coolermaster?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so left with a mobo... any intro? .. GigaLan got use??&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;planning to use it for game, watch future HD tv programme, multi
task... especially watching alot of different AV at the same
time...&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sun, 22 Jun 2008 19:32:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8187011</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by MyPillowTalks @ Tue, 17 Jun 2008 19:50:05 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;top up ur budget, get a 9800gx2&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;4gb ram is abit overkill, but im on 4gb&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;useful cos i open alot of ram intensive programs&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and running vista, 4gb ram provides alot of elbow space&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 17 Jun 2008 19:50:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8174133</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by ceecookie @ Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:55:31 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by hiphop2009:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;64 bit some software and games cannot support wor~&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And thats why i recommend doing homework, a.k.a reading up
before buying 64bit.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And anyway, &amp;gt;4GB RAM is not really necessary for home usage
unless ur running a server there &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:55:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8171925</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by hiphop2009 @ Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:53:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;64 bit some software and games cannot support wor~&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:53:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8171922</guid>
      <author>hiphop2009</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by ceecookie @ Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:33:45 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
hai meh?? really?? i go research...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Other than reading the actual RAM used,it has no effect
whatsoever.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:33:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8171849</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by ceecookie @ Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:02:03 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;ok got the core 2 duo thing... also got the xp64bit thing.. that
mean dun need it lah as the different is only abit compare to
xp32bit..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ok then for monitor.. try to get one with HDMI the best right??
what about other spec?? need to care?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and mi looking for a lcd monitor lah.. not lcd tv so should be
ok to close close look at it right???&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ok.. what about other part?? ram? mobo? psu? any good one to
intro? thanks .... actually each core 2duo is good?? as in value
for money.. not super new.. but not outdated too..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In addition to the HDMI ports, be careful to check the contrast
ratio,response time and resolution.The latter two is the most
important ones - response time measure how fast the pixels can
react to the image(something like that).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A slow response time means that fast action scene(i.e soccer
match) there will be ghosting and trailing because the pixels
cannot catch up with the speed of the video speed.Thats why this is
also very impt for LCD TV,though Plasma take the lead here due to
it's technoloy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Anyway, if you are a extreme gamer, pick a monitor with 2ms
response time - its can do you well during extreme gaming
scenes,while if you just want average/good everyday performance,a
5ms is acceptable.Be careful not to buy from 3rd Tier
brands(ulu,unheard and lousy quality) because they are not as good
as the 1st Tier(Acer,Samsung etc) brands.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In fact i heard certain 3rd tier brands even got their lcd
screens(just the screen) from the 1st tier brands when the
particular batch of lcd is defective or does not pass the stringent
quality control. The warranty terms is also not as good.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;For Resolution,try to take full HD resolution of
1920x1200.Yes that is not "exactly" full HD because there's an
extra 120pixels but they will be divided into two black bar top and
bottom should u view HD contents.If this is not possible, the 2nd
best quality is 1680x1050. Gone are the day of XGA and WXGA
resolution because that is only for LCD TV now&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;4GB RAM should be suitable for now due to limitation of 32bits
XP unless you want to use Vista.2x2GB sticks recommended for dual
channel,something that theoretically improve performance.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I suggest you approach someone else for help(particulary HWZ's
Hardware section) because i do not know much about motherboards.But
with all the high-end parts,a 500W PSU is recommend.Scrimp on this
essential part and risk a fire anyday during high workload
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There's many variant of Core 2, each targeting each segment of
the market. Low end variants include the Allendale E4 series and E6
lower end series while main stream are the Wolfdale E7/8 series(as
said in the previous post) and highend one is the Quad Core Q
series.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes,virtually each of them is better,and newer one is getting
better by the years.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:02:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8171712</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:00:23 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Hanagata:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;why do want to use a 64bit os? alot of things cannot support
leh... anyway now xpsp3 can read up to 4gb ram...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
hai meh?? really?? i go research...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jun 2008 23:00:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8171705</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>DIY PC Spec replied by Hanagata @ Mon, 16 Jun 2008 22:47:48 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;why do want to use a 64bit os? alot of things cannot support
leh... anyway now xpsp3 can read up to 4gb ram...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jun 2008 22:47:48 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:2250:321013:8171649</guid>
      <author>Hanagata</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>