11 Oct, 10:25PM in sunny Singapore!

Firefox or normal internet explorer?

Subscribe to Firefox or normal internet explorer? 28 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    518 posts since Jun '06
    • hi, i very noob in internet.. what is the difference bet the above two? which is better? in terms of spped, virus attack? thanks

52 posts since Jun '08
    • What do you mean by speed? Application speed or Internet speed?

In my opinion, Firefox is better, least that IE hangs on my laptop almost all the time.

Differences? Firefox to me is more user friendly.

• Mas Selamat Kastari
    9,789 posts since Dec '01
    • First of all,I'll just add that IE is not normal.It's just an application that Microsoft bundles together in its Windows. U are still free to download and use other browsers like Firefox,Opera,etc.

I find IE more prone to attacks...I try to use Firefox if there is one installed.

34,689 posts since Nov '04
    118 posts since Jul '05
    • Originally posted by jay_rocks:

Firefox of cauz, IE lags and hangs most of the time.

correction...is ALL the time....highly unrecommended.

191 posts since Apr '06
  • ALL YOUR BASES ARE BELONG TO ME
    6,654 posts since Apr '05
    • really? but i been using ie so long then use ff but it sucks leh... i hate the new tabs thing and pop up shits.

but hor my com recently kana malware till jialat jialat... should start using something more secure. got recommendations?

132 posts since May '08
    52 posts since Jun '08
    • people asking about firefox and IE...

Anyway, it is not logical to install Safari in winXP though

493 posts since Jul '06
    • I trust firefox, internet explorer is too  prone to spyware/adware and toolbar installations without your prior acknowledgement less say agreement.

Firefox has more shortcuts(which the new IE has included)..

The only cure for procrastination is a terminal illness.
    2,208 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by newcomer:

really? but i been using ie so long then use ff but it sucks leh... i hate the new tabs thing and pop up shits.

but hor my com recently kana malware till jialat jialat... should start using something more secure. got recommendations?

What pop-up are you referring to? And tabbed browsing can be disabled easily in Firefox 3.

http://browsers.about.com/od/firef2/ss/ff3tabbedbrowse_4.htm

289 posts since Jun '08
    • i like the search function on the top right corner in firefox...

and apparently, IE has alot of bugs

16,400 posts since Nov '06
    • For vista, i have only been using IE.

On one laptop, it is using the IE pro addon.

So far, I dont have much problems with pop ups nor have i been hit by malware, spyware since about 2 years ago.

It depends on your usage and what kind of sites you surf.

For eg: Those Game ranking top 100s do pop up lots of websites and direct you to unknown webpages.

TO newcomer: For IE, turn the Protected mode on. Set the different kinds of secuirty mode. I set mine to med-high.

You can do so by clicking on options, Internet options then go to the security tab.

6,973 posts since Jun '05
    2,637 posts since Dec '07
    5,879 posts since Jan '06
    • i still use IE, because IE is still more compatible with more website than any other browsers.

For other browsers, i will prefer Opera, it doesnt lag and nvr jam on me once.

and i installed Windows 95 at one point of time....and the latest version of Opera can still be installed with Windows 95....Windows 95 had only IE3 installed with it and IE3 can no longer support most websites anymore.....not even IE 5.5 (which still had some cork up when i sufed some websites) and is the last version of IE series dat supports Windows 95.

53,276 posts since Aug '05
    • Firefox is safe as long as you install some addons to protect it. Firefox by itself is very exploit-prone, like IE. Just that ActiveX won't affect it.

However, JavaScript can affect any browser badly. With lots of exploits using JavaScripts + Flash, no browser is immuned these days.

21 posts since Mar '07
    • Hmm, I do remember reading an article during one of my modules that Firefox is indeed more exploit prone than IE. But the advantage that FF has over IE is that their response time for bug fixes are way faster.And I like the fact that you can get all sorts of add-ons for FF, which allows you to do all sorts of wonderful things.

According to this 2007 report by vulnerability analysis company Secunia:

[I]n an examination of zero-day flaws - reported by third parties before a patch was available - Secunia found that Firefox tended to get more patches, sooner, compared to IE.”

Out of eight zero-day bugs reported for Firefox in 2007, five have been patched, three of those in just over a week. Out of 10 zero-day IE bugs, only three were patched and the shortest patch time was 85 days.”

Edited by unfilterd 03 Aug `08, 9:44AM
    3 posts since Aug '08
    • No questions asked. Definitely Firefox is the way to go.

Firstly, IE is not conforming to the web standards. Web designers will understand the problems when working with IE as compared to FireFox.

In terms of browsing the web, I feel that FireFox is faster and less prone to malware attacks, unlike IE which will always hang on you.

Plus FIreFox has many more Add-ons then IE which can help in your download speeds and many more.

Just my thought!

Moderator's note: Your signature has been removed. Advertising is not allowed here.

Edited by ndmmxiaomayi 08 Aug `08, 7:48PM
  • the male yellow bunny
    1,640 posts since Dec '04
    • firefox rocks! firefox user since its debut! must use Noscript and ABP addons.. Foxmarks also!

3,848 posts since Jun '03
    20,999 posts since Feb '07
    11 posts since Aug '08
    53,276 posts since Aug '05
    16,400 posts since Nov '06
    • It depends on usage.

If you go to inappropriate sites, there is a high probability that you will be hit, no matter what.

Please Login or Signup to reply.