03 Dec, 08:27AM in sunny Singapore!

Debrief - Physics (H1 8866/02) (H2 9745/3)

Subscribe to Debrief - Physics (H1 8866/02) (H2 9745/3) 55 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    415 posts since Dec '05
    299 posts since May '06
    • It semed like similar standard to some of the schools prelim papers. Totally unexpected. Evil or Very Mad

415 posts since Dec '05
    17,965 posts since Aug '01
    800 posts since Apr '06
    • i took H1 paper today! comparing other sch prelim and mine hor.. A lvl one is much more harder and totally unexpected questions came out! my teacher say those questions were challenging ones, i felt that the paper got so many explain and describe questions.. zzz

how about u guys, how u thought of the H1 Physics paper if u took it?

774 posts since May '07
    3,355 posts since Oct '04
    • topics tested...

1. momentum (kaoz... see the word "nuclei" i thought nuclear physics)
      2. e-field
      3. DC circuit
      4. work energy power
      5. motion in circle, g-field
      6. thermal physics (this one a lot of ppl diff answers)
      7. quantum physics (i never study this one Mr. Green )

1,378 posts since Feb '07
    • screw up my gravity qn.. Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
      and can some1 tell me?
      the e field qn.
      got 1 qn 3 marks. ans only 1 line of working?

• Originally posted by club18:
      screw up my gravity qn.. Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
      and can some1 tell me?
      the e field qn.
      got 1 qn 3 marks. ans only 1 line of working?

e=v/d?

a giveaway i suppose Laughing

1,648 posts since Jun '05
    2,819 posts since Oct '06
    774 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by AMEN567889:
      post questions

waiting for school to put it up Laughing

but ques 4 most qian bian

what energy changes are present in a radioactive decay [4]

299 posts since May '06
    • Q4. Discuss any energy changes that take place.

(a) A mass suspended in a Spring, oscillating vertically.

(b) A radioactive nucleus undergoing decay. Laughing Laughing

(a) is okay. (b) I can only think of mass defect and binding energy. No idea why 4 marks ? Evil or Very Mad

Seriously I think this year is like a 'guinea pig' year where they test out new syllabus. Hope the other papers turn out well though. Rolling Eyes

572 posts since Oct '06
    • Originally posted by RaaRaa:
      Q4. Discuss any energy changes that take place.

(a) A mass suspended in a Spring, oscillating vertically.

(b) A radioactive nucleus undergoing decay. Laughing Laughing

(a) is okay. (b) I can only think of mass defect and binding energy. No idea why 4 marks ? Evil or Very Mad

Seriously I think this year is like a 'guinea pig' year where they test out new syllabus. Hope the other papers turn out well though. Rolling Eyes

for mass oscillating on spring, have to talk abt elastic potential energy of spring, kinetic energy and gravitational potential energy of the mass.

for the radioactive decay i m not sure. i talked abt mass lost as energy, loss in total binding energy, kinetic energies of daughter nuclei and alpha/beta particle as well as some energy in the form of a gamma ray photon.

209 posts since Dec '06
    572 posts since Oct '06
    • your work done should be equals to your increase in internal energy, not zero (since isochoric processes where W=0 only happens for a fixed mass of gas).

415 posts since Dec '05
    • Originally posted by striderz_o405:
      Q3

minimum resistance = 3 ohm
      the rest shouldnt be a prob (forgot my answers)

The one with the steepest gradient right ... the 3.3 V and 1.10A one?

If so, huat ar Very Happy

• Originally posted by Yaimster:
      The one with the steepest gradient right ... the 3.3 V and 1.10A one?

If so, huat ar Very Happy

yeah that one

anyway go study for GP la Laughing

i already lost 4 marks at least for thermal because of carelessness =x

pV/RT i go put RT/PV

Evil or Very Mad

11 posts since Oct '07
    • Am I one of the rare few who did question 7? Someone suggest model answer to the 6 mark question please, thanks Wink The one on photoelectric effect and how it accounts for the particulate nature of light.

572 posts since Oct '06
    • I didn't do the question but I know the answer that should be written

1) Using the wave theory, there should be a time lag for the transmission of energy from light to photoelectrons. However, photoelectric experiments show no detectable time lag in transmission of energy, hence the incoming source of energy is not a wave and should be a particle.

2) The energy of photoelectrons emitted should be dependent on intensity using wave theory. However, stopping potential is independent of wave intensity and depends on frequency instead.

3) Using wave theory, photoelectric emission should occur for all frequencies. However, photoelectric emission only occurs above the treshold frequency, hence wave theory does not work here.

2,294 posts since Jul '03
    • bloody shit all the qn like so weird one…phy liddat gp oso liddat…kaohz…reali new syllabus new format sia

415 posts since Dec '05
    • Originally posted by darkhour:
      bloody shit all the qn like so weird one...phy liddat gp oso liddat...kaohz...reali new syllabus new format sia

Skali Maths also like that Laughing.

299 posts since May '06
    • Wah if maths come out something like that, I stand up and clap and leave examination hall. Laughing Laughing

Please Login or Signup to reply.