-
-
Originally posted by akinos:For essay questions, it was rather easy and straightforward again..
and SBQ again... WTH is UNESCO?!?! i didnt know it at that time of the exam, anyhow bomb one CK come out.. lol
SBQs are so unexpected...
If i rmb correctly is some UN branch dealing withe Education around the world?
-
-
-
Originally posted by RETARDED_MORON:When the chief invigilator said, "Please check that there are four printed pages" and I saw the word "UNESCO", I knew I was going to be slaughtered. What the hell were they thinking!?
YA LOR YA LOR!!! of all things, come out that one. i studied peacekeeping, security issues and ECOSOC. in the end none of it came out at all!!! my fren had the last laugh bcoz she nv study UN at all..

-
-
-
Originally posted by akinos:For essay questions, it was rather easy and straightforward again..
and SBQ again... WTH is UNESCO?!?! i didnt know it at that time of the exam, anyhow bomb one CK come out.. lol
Me is directly opposite.
I can't do a SINGLE essay question!!!!
WTF has Britain got to do with the Kashmir conflict? How the hell did the collapse in Eastern Europe led to the fall of USSR? And Korea? Piangz, I nvr study the case studies.
Everything I have done for paper 2 is destroyed man. Gonna flunk this A'level so badly just because of this int. paper.
But SBQ I can still do, even though I would agree the CK is quite little bah...
-
-
-
Originally posted by annoy-you-must:Me is directly opposite.
I can't do a SINGLE essay question!!!!
WTF has Britain got to do with the Kashmir conflict? How the hell did the collapse in Eastern Europe led to the fall of USSR? And Korea? Piangz, I nvr study the case studies.
Everything I have done for paper 2 is destroyed man. Gonna flunk this A'level so badly just because of this int. paper.
But SBQ I can still do, even though I would agree the CK is quite little bah...Britain's hasty decolonisation left the status of Kashmir ambiguous, thus presenting the opportunity for any conflict in the first place.
Collapse of communism in Europe caused a polarisation of the Politburo, i.e. the reformer-hardliner political schism. It also led to the emergence of nationalistic undercurrents of the Soviet republics, especially the Baltic states.
-
-
-
Woah! That's very confident. The essay questions for me were SUPER UNEXPECTED. British Role in Kashmir????? Debt Crisis???? omg.
What are your main points... share share answer leh, i want to see how badly i die. Thanks in advance hor. Other forumites post answer if you all got do also leh!
I think the questions were
2. To what extent was the Korean War a Cold War Conflict
3. The collapse of communism in eastern europe led to the collapse of the USSR.
4. To what extent did the economic recovery of Western Europe and Japan contribute to the growth of the World Economy from 1945-1973
5. Which contributed to more problems in the World Economy from 1970 - 2000s, Protectionism or the Debt Crisis
6. To what extent was Britain responsible for the Indo-Pakistan conflict over Kashmir.
Thanks Thanks
Edited by lansin.party 17 Nov `07, 3:00PM
-
-
-
Originally posted by lansin.party:Woah! That's very confident. The essay questions for me were SUPER UNEXPECTED. British Role in Kashmir????? Debt Crisis???? omg.
What are your handles... share share answer leh, i want to see how badly i die. Thanks in advance horI did question 2, 3 and 4. my school did not teach about the kashmir conflict thingy at all. We were only taught Cold War and Global Economy, so questions 2,3,4 and 5 were the questions i could do. So with alot of content, it was quite easy.
Qn 2) Korean War a CW conflict, i talked about the nature and the impact of the Korean War which is similar and different to how the CW started and progressed
Qn 3) Talk about collaspe of commumism first that led to collaspe of USSR. Then talk about other reasons for the collaspe of USSR lor. (eg, US role)
Qn 4) i felt that the rapid recovery of the western economy that led to the growth of the global economy is actually the result of a few reasons such as US role, bretton woods and so on. (so u have to link it first to rapid recovery, then growth).
Then other reasons for the growth of the economy like rise of mixed economic, external circumstances and all those..
Qn 5) i didnt do it coz i forget what protectionism was.
*edit* question 4 didnt talk about recovery of Japan, only western europe and i'm not so confident about my answers either...
Edited by akinos 17 Nov `07, 3:11PM
-
-
-
to lansin.party: For ur info, i'm from SRJC. Well, the tutors drill u with essay questions all the time. We do at least 3 timed-practice essay for both SEA and Int each week after prelims and after mid years, i didnt do much revision except read thru. For the last 2 weeks of official sch day, we did ALL schools prelim question, discuss them, write down main points.
Our structure of the essay is like that.
-1 background/thesis/aim paragraph
-6 body paragraphs
-1 conclusion
-must be 4 pages without leaving lines.
BUT they sux at spotting SBQ, totally OUT OUT AND OUT!!
I'm not smart and the teachers are not pro. The essay question just seem to be quite "expected" for me, the outline was long in my head. It is just whether my content is accurate, thats all. Don't be surprised that i only get a C grade, bcoz most of the time i got the main points and outline correct, but my content is screwed up. sometimes only less than 10 dates and no quotes at all.
*edit* oh yes and btw... we SRJCians always grumble why we have to write 6 body paragraphs while other schools do less tha I heard from my fren de...
to 798: i replied u on sms le, so no need here.
Edited by akinos 17 Nov `07, 11:08PM
-
-
-
woah??? Seriously? 3 essays a week? your teachers mark all of them???? omg omg omg. that's like doing a prelim a week! that's insane
and you all went through every single question? no wonder lah. woah. i bet srjc is going to own. much respect
can any other JC around post their study methods? haha i want to see how screwed i am.
oh btw akinos, just curious, do you happen to have a "top" SRJC essay that you can scan (can delete name etc). like the type of super good essays teacher print and distribute. if you can scan it for me, i would be really grateful. upload online or private message me?
Thanks so so much akinos, and i'll go cry over my U for history
-
-
-
Aiya... its like so called "mark" it la.. just write some comments thats all lor.. Well.. for last yr SRJC history got a 100% passing rate i think, den about 40% got quality grade such as A and B. It's just that the History Department in my school is abit kiasu la, but anyway its good for us though.
Eh i have a top essay from my school. he got 24/25 for the essay, i guess i can upload it for u. But give me some time? i need to search the pile of junk that i am about to throw away.. HEHE
wont get U de la, i wont do much better either...
-
-
-
eh lansin.party, why not i give u a sample of the answer scheme? it will be dam hard for me to search the pile of junk that i'm gonna throw away... 4 tall stacks of it in total.. LOL
pls state that what area of the answer or essay u need. for ur info, i only learn Cold War, Global Economy, Challenges to SEA Independence and Decolonisation. I dont learn inter-state tension and religious fundamentalism thingy.
*edit* oh yes and btw, my sch doesnt normally post out the top essay, they prefer to follow their own answer scheme and make us copy the corrections during all test. The corrections are normally A - B grade but i only have 1 top essay about the Pax Americana thingy which we didnt learn and this guy just did a back-up for the whole history cohort. so u wan it?Edited by akinos 18 Nov `07, 12:07AM
-
-
-
Haha, the 24/25 essay would be super awesome if you have the time to dig through your stack! 0_0 24/25 is a super high, totally unachievable score? haha must see what godly answer they give. (pop it into my email in the profile if you can!
)
If not, the answer schemes would be excellent too. haha just pass me as many as you are willing to scan, must see see and compare standard. Although i'm sure given how hardworking your teachers are, it'll be quite godly. haha.
Thanks so much akinos!
is the
whole SRJC that hardworking or just the history department? oh is
any forum pple are reading this thread, can post about how your
school studies history? we can crown the Most Champion History
Mugging College award on sgforums 
-