<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/2297/topics/318299</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video replied by UltimaOnline @ Fri, 23 May 2008 15:53:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Kam sia, Moderator DarknessHacker.&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/greggman.com/smile.png" alt=
"smile.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm a Chemistry&amp;nbsp;teacher (ex-MOE)&amp;nbsp;and private
tutor.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Applied Chemistry &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/greggman.com/wink.png" alt=
"wink.png" /&gt;, that&amp;nbsp;certainly sounds&amp;nbsp;interesting, useful
and practical. I guess the course focuses on industrial
applications, as well as inter-disciplinary research and
development involving physics, biology (life sciences) and
engineering. That's always excitingly productive, hopefully
eventually culminating in progressing the quality&amp;nbsp;of life on
earth for all humanity, eg. medical breakthroughs.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The course isn't about teaching students "how to make meth" and
to post project findings on YouTube, I hope? &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/set1/oh.png" alt=
"oh.png" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/set1/tongue.png" alt=
"tongue.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 23 May 2008 15:53:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2297:318299:8107553</guid>
      <author>UltimaOnline</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video replied by Darkness_hacker99 @ Fri, 23 May 2008 05:51:36 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by UltimaOnline:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes, both of you are right.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If anyone watching the video failed their high school chemistry
and thinks its for real and makes the stuff and snorts/inhales it&#8230;
if they survive, they probably wished they&#8217;d paid more attention
during their high school chemistry classes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The most obviously glaring error, of course, is the one
Moderator DarknessHacker noted with a smiley :&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In one instance, a supposed gas is identified as NaOH5(g). As a
Chemistry teacher, I&#8217;d suggest to my students to note the following
:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1) Sodium has an invariable oxidation state or ionic charge in
its compounds. That is to say, the cation is identified, and hence
so is the charge on the anion.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) Being in period 2, oxygen has no empty d orbitals. Hence, is
it able to expand its valence octet? (count the number of lone
pairs and bond pairs of oxygen in the supposed compound)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3) Is it possible for the compound or the anion to be a
coordination compound or complex ion? If so, what are the ligands
and what is the central metal atom/ion? Can it exist?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;4) Attempt to draw the Kekule structure of the anion in the
supposed gaseous compound. Is it possible, keeping in mind points
#1 to #3 above? Is it possible?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;5) Additionally, should NaOH5 (if it exists) be a giant ionic,
or covalent (either simple/discrete molecular or giant molecular)
compound under room temperature and pressure? As such, what are its
possible state symbols it can exist as? (g) or (aq) or (s) or (l)?
What did the video purport its state symbol to be?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Moral of the Story : Know your Chemistry well. It could one day
save your life (alternatively, don&#8217;t believe everything you watch
on YouTube).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess/thumbs_up.png" alt=
"thumbs_up.png" /&gt; Analytical skill.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
NaOH5..&amp;nbsp; In Singapore, an O level student can't tell/analyze
using Atomic Obital, Kekule structure etc. Those were only taught
in A levels.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
By the way, I'm taking a module on Applied Chemistry in a
polytechnic. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_smile.gif"
alt="icon_smile.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 23 May 2008 05:51:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2297:318299:8106468</guid>
      <author>Darkness_hacker99</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video replied by seotiblizzard @ Thu, 22 May 2008 19:36:43 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Erm, no&amp;nbsp;error leh. lol.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 22 May 2008 19:36:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2297:318299:8105475</guid>
      <author>seotiblizzard</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video replied by UltimaOnline @ Thu, 22 May 2008 19:28:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Yes, both of you are right.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If anyone watching the video failed their high school chemistry
and thinks its for real and makes the stuff and snorts/inhales it&#8230;
if they survive, they probably wished they&#8217;d paid more attention
during their high school chemistry classes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The most obviously glaring error, of course, is the one
Moderator DarknessHacker noted with a smiley :&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In one instance, a supposed gas is identified as NaOH5(g). As a
Chemistry teacher, I&#8217;d suggest to my students to note the following
:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1) Sodium has an invariable oxidation state or ionic charge in
its compounds. That is to say, the cation is identified, and hence
so is the charge on the anion.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) Being in period 2, oxygen has no empty d orbitals. Hence, is
it able to expand its valence octet? (count the number of lone
pairs and bond pairs of oxygen in the supposed compound)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3) Is it possible for the compound or the anion to be a
coordination compound or complex ion? If so, what are the ligands
and what is the central metal atom/ion? Can it exist?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;4) Attempt to draw the Kekule structure of the anion in the
supposed gaseous compound. Is it possible, keeping in mind points
#1 to #3 above? Is it possible?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;5) Additionally, should NaOH5 (if it exists) be a giant ionic,
or covalent (either simple/discrete molecular or giant molecular)
compound under room temperature and pressure? As such, what are its
possible state symbols it can exist as? (g) or (aq) or (s) or (l)?
What did the video purport its state symbol to be?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Moral of the Story : Know your Chemistry well. It could one day
save your life (alternatively, don&#8217;t believe everything you watch
on YouTube).&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 22 May 2008 19:28:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2297:318299:8105447</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video replied by secretliker @ Thu, 22 May 2008 03:31:26 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;What an interesting way of collecting gas.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm guessing that the tube should not be in the solution when
collecting gas?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And also the products do not&amp;nbsp;exist!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 22 May 2008 03:31:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2297:318299:8103726</guid>
      <author>secretliker</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video replied by Darkness_hacker99 @ Thu, 22 May 2008 03:19:15 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;NaOH5 =X&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;dextropolamine 22-B&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;pentocyclene C15H22N2O3&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;many more lah.. loL! this video made me laugh.. &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 22 May 2008 03:19:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2297:318299:8103708</guid>
      <author>Darkness_hacker99</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video replied by UltimaOnline @ Thu, 22 May 2008 02:19:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Dear Chemistry students,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Spot the Chemistry Errors in this YouTube Video :&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jX0zWvYWBaI" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jX0zWvYWBaI&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If there is interest in this thread, I&#8217;ll post about one obvious
chemistry glaring error in the video (there are several, but one is
so obvious that even an &#8216;O&#8217; level student should be able to spot
it).&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 22 May 2008 02:19:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:2297:318299:8103641</guid>