29 Aug, 12:42PM in sunny Singapore!

Can someone teach me how to use MS word?

Subscribe to Can someone teach me how to use MS word? 19 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    342 posts since Aug '03
    • How to draw a figure like this? I want to have part of the figure shaded as well.

how to select which part you want it be to shaded? I cant use freeform well.

24,159 posts since Dec '02
    • paiseh dunno.

usually if i want to have a image in word i will first draw it in powerpoint thn save it as a jpeg image. thn in ms word i insert it as a pic.

hope this helps.

• The only cure for procrastination is a terminal illness.
    2,041 posts since May '07
    • I won't really recommend using Word if you need to draw shapes of precision and accuracy. But if it's just a chin-chai task, simply draw a filled rectangle and a circle with borders on each side of the rectangle with its entire width as the diameter of the circle. Then use a borderless, transparent rectangle to cover the borders outside the original rectangle of each circle.

342 posts since Aug '03
    • I dunno how to make the breadth of a rectangle borderless while keeping the length bordered.

Also dunno how to shade the correct parts.

Edited by weewee 10 Jul `08, 1:06AM
    • oops true hor.

ok if u r idiot like me thn in powerpoint draw a rectangle n shade it in the color u want.
      draw the two circles n shade them white. then draw the lines n label as u require. save the file as a jpeg thn open it in paint n erase away the unwanted lines thn save it.

leh chey but this is the simplest way i know how with basic office

• Is Cap'n Jack. ☺
    6,356 posts since Jan '07
    16,321 posts since Aug '01
    342 posts since Aug '03
    • Bump. I need to know how to do this without using ms powerpoint. Skeujin, thanks for your effort.

• The only cure for procrastination is a terminal illness.
    2,041 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by weewee:

I dunno how to make the breadth of a rectangle borderless while keeping the length bordered.

Also dunno how to shade the correct parts.

Use a fill for the circles which is identical to the background colour and make sure they appear above the original rectangle.

19,773 posts since Sep '04
    • i done it using overlapping shape cheating .. not sure ok anot :lol:

1. First create a green rectangle
      2. Create two white circle with black border
      3. Create a rectangle that is large enough to cover half of the circle and set it to no border x2 (right click the rectangle format shape and select color = no line)
      4. than select all the shape and group together so that when is drag none of the shape is left out

Edited by meltz 10 Jul `08, 11:32AM
    342 posts since Aug '03
    • Then how to draw a figure like this? how to shade the upper segment?

Edited by weewee 10 Jul `08, 1:47PM
    342 posts since Aug '03
    19,773 posts since Sep '04
    • it required a few more step ... k la abit ugly :lol:

• first draw a circle
      • than AutoShapes > basic shape > iso triangle ... than flip the triangle vertically
      • now for the harder part semi circle.....
        • insert picture > autoshapes > more autoshapes > than scroll to find the semi circle
        • click on the semi circle u created ... select shadow styles = no shadow
        • right click semi circle > format autoshapes ... select no border
        • than on the same screen > color > fill effects > Patterns > change color to black and white .... than select the vertical lines shape > ok
        • arrange yr semi circle behind the triangle ... and rotate in postion .. after than group everything together

1,405 posts since Jan '05
    342 posts since Aug '03
    • i know liao...go to freeform, click one point to another to choose the places you want to shade. Thread closed.

3,860 posts since Aug '05
Please Login or Signup to reply.