05 Sep, 04:00PM in sunny Singapore!

dOgS...!

Subscribe to dOgS...! 34 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    2,689 posts since Feb '05
    28,507 posts since Mar '03
    • i tot u say have to leave forums? Rolling Eyes

go spca lor.. no need money.. juz need to get licence.. if im not wrong.

• ya la tyme haven ma...when tyme come will go de...

spca de nt nice de...

btw spca @ wher? Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

28,507 posts since Mar '03
    2,131 posts since Apr '05
    • Are you sure you really want to have a dog? Do you have the time and commitment to take care of it? Do you know how to take care of it? Don’t get a dog just because on a whim you feel like having one, then end up abandoning it later. Do some research and think carefully through it first.

• Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:
      Are you sure you really want to have a dog? Do you have the time and commitment to take care of it? Do you know how to take care of it? Don't get a dog just because on a whim you feel like having one, then end up abandoning it later. Do some research and think carefully through it first.

tyme is sure have de aft i left..
      but den i oso thinking dunno ltr time have $$ nt..
      for the grooming ,food,...
      n i oso gt asthma le..
      haiz..but i really lky puppies... Embarassed Embarassed

609 posts since Jul '06
    • if u wan a good pup, u must actually spend at least 800 on 1. unless u have frds who have dogs that just gave birth tomany then u can get 1 from them.

Maintainence for pups are very expensive. bring dog see doc is damn expensive. and if u seriously wana get a pup, pls make sure u are able to give them ur full attention cos dogs are like human who have emotions. if u are not able to give them ur full attention and care, pls reconsider getting 1.

2,131 posts since Apr '05
    • Your asthma might be a problem. Do you usually start sneezing or wheezing when you come into contact with dogs or cats?

Puppies do look very cute, but it can be pretty difficult to care for them, and when they grow up they won't look so cute anymore.

• Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:
      Your asthma might be a problem. Do you usually start sneezing or wheezing when you come into contact with dogs or cats?

Puppies do look very cute, but it can be pretty difficult to care for them, and when they grow up they won't look so cute anymore.

yup my asthma will act up if in contact with furry things..

4,910 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by Princess livia:
      n i oso gt asthma le..

My this mei mei needs gas mask liao after getting doggies...

2,556 posts since Jun '04

then how to take care of them or come into contact?

wear mask ?

• meh..
    7,891 posts since Dec '04
    • "Many people like the idea of a pet or can't resist a cute puppy or kitten, but don't think about the changes it will make in their life. Pets are companions. They live with us and depend on us for all of their needs. This is a great responsibility and one that should not be taken lightly. The kind of relationship you build with your pet is dependent on the commitment you are willing to make."

"If you are planning to move, going to school or are not home frequently, this may not be a good time. Pets need stability and routine to feel secure. Consider your future plans and evaluate if a pet will fit in with those plans. Getting a pet should never be a spur of the moment decision. Their life is dependent on you."

"All members of the household should be in agreement of the pet you choose. Also if you are renting make sure it is ok with your landlord. Do you have enough space for the pet you are considering? Most animals don't need a lot of room but some will require more than others. Surprisingly some breeds of large dogs don't need as much space as people think while many medium breeds need lots of space. It is the outdoor exercise and play area that are important. If you are in a house you need to have a fenced yard if you get a dog. *Please note that in many of our shelters renters are required to bring in copies of their strata council by-laws in order to be approved for adopting."

"Spaying and neutering are very important especially for cats, dogs and rabbits. Not only will it control the pet overpopulation it helps prevent illness and behaviour problems."

Cleaning up after your pet is necessary whether it be scooping poop in the park or cleaning a litter box, cage or aquarium. It is important for the health of you and the animals and the respect of your neighbours."

"Grooming is also a part of having most pets. Clipping nails of dogs, cats and rabbits is a necessary part of the regular maintenance. Brushing animals with long hair is necessary to prevent tangles. Brushing your dog's teeth will prevent dental problems and improve his/her breath."

"Different animals will require different amounts of your time . The amount of activity you do, the amount of time you are home, what to do when you go away are all factors to consider when choosing a pet. You need to provide a minimum of an hour a day of active play and walks for your dog or cat."

"The cost of pet care varies but expect the average dog to cost about $1000 per year and a cat about $800. This doesn't include the initial one-time costs that include the adoption cost and basics such as leashes, toys and collars. All pets require an annual visit to the veterinarian. There will also be visits due to illness or accidents and preventative care (fleas, heartworm). Check out our estimates and see if this fits into your budget. Don't forget that unsupervised puppies and even adult dogs will inadvertently destroy items such as shoes, TV remote controls, books, couches and other people items. These aren't figured into our totals but we don't know anyone who hasn't had an unexpected replacement expense of some item."

DOGS:

To keep a medium sized, mixed breed, spayed female dog the yearly cost will be approximately the following:

Food 12 bags dog food (18kg) @ $45 540.00
      Biscuit treats 2 boxes per month @ $3.99 96.00
      Veterinary Care Yearly Visit - exam and vaccinations 71.00
      Nail clipping 6 trips to the vet @ $15.00 90.00
      License fee 24.00
      Grooming Spring bath and brush out 40.00
      Vacation 2 weeks dog care @ $15/day 210.00
      Total
      *please note that is not the Adoption cost at an SPCA shelter, this is an approximate yearly cost of keeping the animal $1071.00

One Time Costs:

Adoption fee (approx. only, check with your local shelter) at the SPCA $145.00
      Spaying (female) and tattoo
      at the SPCA 50.00
      Food and water dishes 15.00
      Collar and leash 25.00
      Brush and comb 15.00
      Toys - balls, Frisbees, etc. 25.00
      Crate 65.00
      Total $340.00

The above does not include emergency medical care, initial vaccinations, obedience classes, the cost of fencing, or bed.

These costs are in US dollars.

33,826 posts since Dec '02
      n i oso gt asthma le..

Shocked

You like PUPPIES.
      SPCA dogs NOT NICE.

Maybe you should not be a pet owner. Neutral

Puppies will grow up to be big dogs, and most of the time they don't grow to be as cute as they looked as young pups.

I think when you buy a puppy, or a dog, if you ever do, it might be better for you to pick one you feel you can relate to the most, and not based on its cuteness since it will outgrow that. At least when it grows up and is not-as-cute anymore, you'll still love the dog as much since when you bought it, it was based on that special bond you might've felt between you and the dog.

Looks are really only secondary. I think local breed dogs with no distinctive features whatsoever can give you the same amount of love and loyalty, if not more than, as a pure breed dog can.

Whether my words are nice or not, please do give it some thought okay? You'll also be doing a good deed by adopting a dog rather than buy it, by lessening the load of the SPCA.

P.S. By the way there are also pure breed dogs up for adoption at the SPCA and the Action for Singapore Dogs, if you want to know. Neutral

23,141 posts since Jul '04

den no chance lor.

go buy a soft toy and hug ba.

• Originally posted by MooKu:
      Shocked

You like PUPPIES.
      SPCA dogs NOT NICE.

Maybe you should not be a pet owner. Neutral

Puppies will grow up to be big dogs, and most of the time they don't grow to be as cute as they looked as young pups.

I think when you buy a puppy, or a dog, if you ever do, it might be better for you to pick one you feel you can relate to the most, and not based on its cuteness since it will outgrow that. At least when it grows up and is not-as-cute anymore, you'll still love the dog as much since when you bought it, it was based on that special bond you might've felt between you and the dog.

Looks are really only secondary. I think local breed dogs with no distinctive features whatsoever can give you the same amount of love and loyalty, if not more than, as a pure breed dog can.

Whether my words are nice or not, please do give it some thought okay? You'll also be doing a good deed by adopting a dog rather than buy it, by lessening the load of the SPCA.

P.S. By the way there are also pure breed dogs up for adoption at the SPCA and the Action for Singapore Dogs, if you want to know. Neutral

Hai sOo many rules... Neutral
      dunNO leh...
      erm maybe will wait when older den consider lo..

now oso cannot..

my parents dun lky dogGiEs... Neutral

• Originally posted by Ito_^:
      den no chance lor.

go buy a soft toy and hug ba.

sOfttOys no life de..

i gOt sOo many @ hm all for display nia...cUz sOo small...n nOt warm de.. Confused

caN huG eUu instead??Rolling Eyes Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

Hai sOo many rules... Neutral
      dunNO leh...
      erm maybe will wait when older den consider lo..

now oso cannot..

my parents dun lky dogGiEs... Neutral

Wink

if you really like dogs you can go and do some volunteer work at the SPCA first Mr. Green

23,141 posts since Jul '04
      sOfttOys no life de..

i gOt sOo many @ hm all for display nia...cUz sOo small...n nOt warm de.. Confused

caN huG eUu instead??Rolling Eyes Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

sorry, im more of a pig den a dog. Laughing

seriously la, forget about it, u cannot tahan, u parents cannot tahan and definitely cannot ask ppl to look after for u oso right?

like someone said, try doing volunteer work at spca.

seriously la, forget about it, u cannot tahan, u parents cannot tahan and definitely cannot ask ppl to look after for u oso right?

pig arz..?

more good leh...fat fat chubby de...EmbarassedEmbarassed

haiz okiiex lo Crying or Very sadCrying or Very sad

68,082 posts since Feb '04
    • Originally posted by browniebaobao:
      i tot u say have to leave forums? Rolling Eyes

go spca lor.. no need money.. juz need to get licence.. if im not wrong.

u is very bad lei

Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

Shocked I am "someone"...?

/me runs off to cry in a corner

"bwaaaaaahhooooohooo! i am only 'someone'"! Crying or Very sad

• Originally posted by MooKu:
      Shocked I am "someone"...?

/me runs off to cry in a corner

"bwaaaaaahhooooohooo! i am only 'someone'"! Crying or Very sad

ShockedShocked

aiyo....sayang sayang.... Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

68,082 posts since Feb '04
    15,250 posts since Aug '05
    • Originally posted by SGpork:
      mooku n ito-_^.....

Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

/me gives piggy the biggest hug on earth

will you come to my house and be our pot-bellied pig? Embarassed I promise i will treat u good good, feed you alot of food, give you massage... and then... and then... Twisted Evil

Please Login or Signup to reply.