12 Oct, 08:24PM in sunny Singapore!

Chances of ur bicycle being kop?

Subscribe to Chances of ur bicycle being kop? 28 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    3,015 posts since Oct '05
    • Wat are the chances of ur bicycle (or any components of it) being stolen when u park it at the MRT station bicycle parking lot or public areas (with bicycle lock of course)? Cos i thinking cycling to a local gym instead of wasting $$$ on bus, afterall the distance is too near for public transport and too far for a walk, and bicycle have been built to fill this gap

another question is how do i get my bicycle "coded" or something like tat in a local Neighbourhood police post to "prevent" theft? Do they still offer the service now and if so, is it FOC?

3,238 posts since Nov '05
    • 1) To greatly reduce the chances of your Bicycle getting kopped, get a U-Shackle Lock instead of those chain /cable locks. Trust me, that time I used a THICK stainless steel chain lock and the next day, I saw it lying in 2 pieces next to my bike. Heng the U- shackle lock prevented the thief from running away with my bike! Ask the locksmith if u are not sure what a U- Shackle lock is..

2) Don't just lock the frame to the railings/ bike parking lot, lock up the wheels to something secure or to the bike frame. Reason: If the thief cannot steal your frame, he can still remove your wheels and steal them, leaving the frame behind.

3) Park the cheap bike outside. The bike I park outdoors is an old one... I will never park my Voodoo Sobo outdoors! Mr. Green

4) If possible, park your bike at a place where there will be lots of people around, 24 hours a day.------ I parked mine outside the mac donalds at the main road, and I had no trouble with people attempting to steal my bike!

Alternatively, u can park in front of a 24 hour Kopitiam or near the main road. Never park your bike at a secluded area! My friend more kiasu, he locked his bike at the lamp post right outside the POLICE POST! Laughing

5) I think coding your bike at the police post is FOC..

That's all the advices I can give! Mr. Green

Edited by markzz 04 Oct `06, 1:21PM
    53,276 posts since Aug '05
    • I thought the engraving need to pay?

Does all police stations and centres have this service?

Or selected only?

• I are serious cat
    49,792 posts since Dec '03
    • Mine got stolen at thr mrt station, in fact my bike was already so fcuked up, I was endangering my own life riding it. And I still can't believe someone wants it. The gears were squeaking, handlebars twisted, chassis rusted. Fcuking foreign workers! Mad

3,015 posts since Oct '05
    • Originally posted by ditzy:
      Mine got stolen at thr mrt station, in fact my bike was already so fcuked up, I was endangering my own life riding it. And I still can't believe someone wants it. The gears were squeaking, handlebars twisted, chassis rusted. Fcuking foreign workers! Mad

so let the bangala endanger his own life with it loh Laughing

• Originally posted by Texcoco II:

ya lor! Laughing

• I are serious cat

If I ever spot it, I'm going to slash its tires. Mad

15,248 posts since Aug '05

bangalas are know to have great skills in handling broken down bicycles. Bikes that u think is a danger & terrible is FANTASTIC to them.

if a bangala is given a voodoo sobo to ride, he'll win SACA race anytime after many hours of cycling with rusty bike Laughing

If I ever spot it, I'm going to slash its tires. Mad

No la... disable the brakes.. more fun! Twisted Evil

• Originally posted by de_middle:
      bangalas are know to have great skills in handling broken down bicycles. Bikes that u think is a danger & terrible is FANTASTIC to them.

if a bangala is given a voodoo sobo to ride, he'll win SACA race anytime after many hours of cycling with rusty bike Laughing

Samuel Yang (national MTB champ ) is not gonna like this! Laughing

Ya.. Bangalas have more guts then most bikers...

ever seen a cyclist run ACROSS an expressway and lift his bike over the barrier at the other end when there are cars approaching at high speed? Shocked

• I are serious cat
    • Originally posted by markzz:
      No la... disable the brakes.. more fun! Twisted Evil

The brakes when it was still with me was already spoilt. Neutral

32,569 posts since Mar '05
      The brakes when it was still with me was already spoilt. Neutral

hmmz then you can loosen the seat till it will fall off after some repeated stress and soon after that the pedals and the handle bar Twisted Evil

• Originally posted by hisoka:
      hmmz then you can loosen the seat till it will fall off after some repeated stress and soon after that the pedals and the handle bar Twisted Evil

what if the handlebar came off if the thief is riding in the middle of Orchard Road during peak hour? Twisted Evil

32,569 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by markzz:
      what if the handlebar came off if the thief is riding in the middle of Orchard Road during peak hour? Twisted Evil

who ask him steal bike also never check properly.

asked for it one Rolling Eyes

1,363 posts since Dec '04
    • hmm.. im facing this problem too.. im living in the 10th floor ( not on the lift floor ). my house has totally no space to put the bike. thus i have to put it outside my flat locking it against some stands which my mother used to hang clothes at the doorway. furthermore, a lot of people visits my neighbour.. so my bike will actually attract some bike stealers.. any recommendation on how i should keep my bike? really scare my bike get stolen one day.. i’ll cry ahh!

• Originally posted by coldzero:
      hmm.. im facing this problem too.. im living in the 10th floor ( not on the lift floor ). my house has totally no space to put the bike. thus i have to put it outside my flat locking it against some stands which my mother used to hang clothes at the doorway. furthermore, a lot of people visits my neighbour.. so my bike will actually attract some bike stealers.. any recommendation on how i should keep my bike? really scare my bike get stolen one day.. i'll cry ahh!

to be honest with you, not all bicycles will be stolen.

However, if your bicycle is of some standard............how you lock also will get stolen Evil or Very Mad

That's why, i never bring any lock when i go out cycling. Lock also no use one, sure kena STUN one Evil or Very Mad So my eyes always on bike & never leave it unattended beyond 5 meters Very Happy

Got once at Rochor centre with my fren & our bicycles, fren go into shop to see pouch, me outside guarding the nicycles, got one uncle admiring our bicycles came & ask me, "Wah ur bicycle very nice hor, u must lock properly if not sure lost. I tell him, uncle u got see me bring lock anot? I don't bring lock coz this bicycle even if u lock, people see will also cut the lock!!! Evil or Very Mad "

That time me alone at ECP, go toilet pee also bring the bicycle in Laughing Anyway let me tell you my fren's bike specs, u tell me u see u will stun anot? Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

Santa Cruz Blur 4X
      FOX Talas
      Shimano XTR Crank, Shifter, Front & rear Dee
      Shimano XTR Hydros with red Goodridge hose & Saint levers
      Thomson stem & seatpost
      Easton MonkeyLite low riser bar
      ChrisKing NoThreadset (Red)
      Fizik Gobi
      DT swiss 4.1d with Sapim CX Ray spokes laced on Chris King ISO Disc Hubs (red)
      Hope Seatclamp (red)

I think his bike is almost $8K & he still going to change to SRAM XO shifters & rear dee Evil or Very Mad

Edited by de_middle 01 Nov `06, 1:43PM
    399 posts since Dec '05
    • Santa Cruz Blur 4X
      FOX Talas
      Thomson stem & seatpost
      Fizik Gobi
      Hope Seatclamp (red)

I think his bike is almost $8K & he still going to change to SRAM XO shifters & rear dee

Evil or Very Mad Rich Ass

171 posts since Jul '05
      to be honest with you, not all bicycles will be stolen.

However, if your bicycle is of some standard............how you lock also will get stolen Evil or Very Mad

That's why, i never bring any lock when i go out cycling. Lock also no use one, sure kena STUN one Evil or Very Mad So my eyes always on bike & never leave it unattended beyond 5 meters Very Happy

Got once at Rochor centre with my fren & our bicycles, fren go into shop to see pouch, me outside guarding the nicycles, got one uncle admiring our bicycles came & ask me, "Wah ur bicycle very nice hor, u must lock properly if not sure lost. I tell him, uncle u got see me bring lock anot? I don't bring lock coz this bicycle even if u lock, people see will also cut the lock!!! Evil or Very Mad "

That time me alone at ECP, go toilet pee also bring the bicycle in Laughing Anyway let me tell you my fren's bike specs, u tell me u see u will stun anot? Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

Santa Cruz Blur 4X
      FOX Talas
      Thomson stem & seatpost
      Fizik Gobi
      Hope Seatclamp (red)

I think his bike is almost $8K & he still going to change to SRAM XO shifters & rear dee Evil or Very Mad

wa lau!

$8K I rather use it to buy Motorbike sia! Shocked

I think it can buy a 2nd hand (less den 2 years old ) TZM! Confused

5,117 posts since Dec '05
      Mine got stolen at thr mrt station, in fact my bike was already so fcuked up, I was endangering my own life riding it. And I still can't believe someone wants it. The gears were squeaking, handlebars twisted, chassis rusted. Fcuking foreign workers! Mad

i oso think its e farking bangla n chinamen Mad they all seem to ride bicycles Evil or Very Mad

• Originally posted by the_king_of_hades:
      maybe all the parts all steal one Twisted Evil

i wish i could steal parts like this Laughing

his bike was initially set up at $6.6K but with upgrades here & there it now shot to $8K. And with the sram XO, its going up again so much so the LBS ask me what my fren trying to do?

I just said trying to make it one of the most expensive Santa Cruz Blur in s'pore? can u imagine XTR & still not satisfied Evil or Very Mad

Yipee, tmr i go collect my upgraded wheelset Very Happy

• Originally posted by Chelzea:
      i oso think its e farking bangla n chinamen Mad they all seem to ride bicycles Evil or Very Mad

u bet, got one time me at coffreeshop, park bicycle abt 5 meters away. Got this bangala pretend to go very near then fiddle with his HP. I walk over ask him why he must stand so near to my bike, he look stunned & back off.

Dun even let anyone near coz many incidents of pple jumping on them & riding away. Twisted Evil

171 posts since Jul '05
      u bet, got one time me at coffreeshop, park bicycle abt 5 meters away. Got this bangala pretend to go very near then fiddle with his HP. I walk over ask him why he must stand so near to my bike, he look stunned & back off.

Dun even let anyone near coz many incidents of pple jumping on them & riding away. Twisted Evil

Maybe he jus wanna take peekchur of ur bike leh
      Than u like that say sure scare him lah..!! Mad Laughing

• Originally posted by the_king_of_hades:
      Maybe he jus wanna take peekchur of ur bike leh
      Than u like that say sure scare him lah..!! Mad Laughing

Ya lor!

Or else later he describe the beautiful bike but no pic to show his frens how?

Confirm kana scold NPNT one! Twisted Evil

Please Login or Signup to reply.