1,527 posts since Dec '06
  • Administrator
    Chief Janitor
    784 posts since Oct '99
  • We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by Jason:
      Sell it when you wouldn't have bought it

gd reasön. Sell ur losers. Let ur winners run.

realise ur mistakes early is better than never.

somemore?

4,041 posts since Mar '07
    11,891 posts since Oct '06
    • Originally posted by Jason:
      Sell it when you wouldn't have bought it

wah lao... what wind? Shocked

7,255 posts since Jan '07
  • We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by soulwinner:
      I sell upon making at least 300% of the original price...

no big deal in this current bull market...

me sold off one of my winners at 300% profit oso... only to see it rose to 700%++...

regret till now.... so to avoid the same mistakes... I'm here to share

1,508 posts since Dec '06
    • Originally posted by sunny3510:
      no big deal in this current bull market...

me sold off one of my winners at 300% profit oso... only to see it rose to 700%++...

regret till now.... so to avoid the same mistakes... I'm here to share

hmm. cheap stocks ?
      cuz good stocks wont rise so much in %. they rise higher in figures, cuz they are expensive to start with.

• We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by dbowie:
      sell when u think that it is not a cash cow
      but when it rises you will regret..

so... how to prevent this mistake many investors would make?

• your one 4 cent one ??
      Laughing
      sinostar keep remaining at the .8~.9 region ........... wah lau .. when will rise .... Mad

so... how to prevent this mistake many investors would make?

shou zhu dai tu
      although isnt a good idea sometimes

• We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by dbowie:
      your one 4 cent one ??
      Laughing
      sinostar keep remaining at the .8~.9 region ........... wah lau .. when will rise .... Mad

me bought ho bee when it's $0.2++ lo... u see wad price it's selling now liao?

another example is sgx... no nid far... juz 2 years ago price...

sinostar v hot... normally this kinda stock me no touch one

• i dun think sinostar good.. but my dad invested.. bo bian ..
      ya .. touch those leng men .. i dun wish to fork out 100+ for a stock..

me bought ho bee when it's $0.2++ lo... u see wad price it's selling now liao?

another example is sgx... no nid far... juz 2 years ago price...

sinostar v hot... normally this kinda stock me no touch one

wahh ~

ho bee now 1.98, but before close still drop .05
      anyway, got such property company call ho bee meh ?

and then where got such stock call sinostar ?
      http://esite.sgx.com/live/st/Warrants.asp?stk=S

529 posts since Dec '05
  • We bring You Closer
    • so... when is the right time to sell a stock? wat is the right price?

taking Ho bee for example... me bought at $0.2++... sold near $0.8.. today it closed at $1.98....

if me hasn't sold the stock... do u tink it is now the right time to sell this stock? and why?

• We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by angelfairy:
      when fundamentals change

yes... fundamentals...

wad kinda fundamentals?

so... when is the right time to sell a stock? wat is the right price?

taking Ho bee for example... me bought at $0.2++... sold near $0.8.. today it closed at $1.98....

if me hasn't sold the stock... do u tink it is now the right time to sell this stock? and why?

i dunno
      i never take note of small stocks rike this
      i only take note of 3 stocks, dbs, singtel and f&n.
      but i is newbie, i cant even buy yet.

529 posts since Dec '05
      yes... fundamentals...

wad kinda fundamentals?

cash flows, change in management, losing competitive advantage etc

• We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by angelfairy:
      cash flows, change in management, losing competitive advantage etc

yes yes... share more share more..

1,391 posts since May '04
    • Oil price hits $90 per barrel

Greenbag all time low.

U all people still think the market will go up?

1,235 posts since Mar '07
    • no point regreting if the shares rise further after u sell rite??
      wat if it dropped?? then u will be congratulating yourself that you have sold rite?? so when will you finally stop being sad/happy that the price rise/fall further...

when to sell depends on your level of profit-taking...
      some sell at 20%, some at 100%...

also depends on wat is your portfolio...
      dividend paying stocks or capital gain stocks...
      different reasons for buying that stocks probably means that you will have different levels of profit-taking....

i guess the best time to sell is when u know the market is going to fall..
      but that's going to be difficult to gauge...

• We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by Father Lim:
      no point regreting if the shares rise further after u sell rite??
      wat if it dropped?? then u will be congratulating yourself that you have sold rite??

yes... but if it drops... me at most lose 100%...

for ho bee, it rose..... me took profit at 300% and me lost ard 700%......

how not to be heart pain? Confused

• We bring You Closer
    • Originally posted by CannyOng:
      Oil price hits $90 per barrel

Greenbag all time low.

U all people still think the market will go up?

one of the investors' pitfalls is trying to time the market...

besides using the oil price and usd as an indicative, wat other signs have shown?

asian markets decoupling wif the us market slowly rite?

• Originally posted by Father Lim:
      no point regreting if the shares rise further after u sell rite??
      wat if it dropped?? then u will be congratulating yourself that you have sold rite?? so when will you finally stop being sad/happy that the price rise/fall further...

when to sell depends on your level of profit-taking...
      some sell at 20%, some at 100%...

also depends on wat is your portfolio...
      dividend paying stocks or capital gain stocks...
      different reasons for buying that stocks probably means that you will have different levels of profit-taking....

i guess the best time to sell is when u know the market is going to fall..
      but that's going to be difficult to gauge...

wah ah lim, can be my god father annot ?
      Embarassed

Please Login or Signup to reply.