23 Nov, 06:41AM in sunny Singapore!

Tips for standing up for long time during parade.

Subscribe to Tips for standing up for long time during parade. 24 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    683 posts since Sep '06
    • Hi, I've been chosen to be part of the HQ NCC Day GOH as my school got Gold Unit.

I need tips on how to stand up for long without going down real quick.

939 posts since Nov '06
    • be well hydrated before hand

'wiggle' your toes... play with your tounge, move your eyeballs...small movements but all contribute to keeping you standing!

5,498 posts since Dec '06
    • Pre-Parade, drink sufficient amount of water to keep yourself hydrated, not too much till bloated though.

During parade, just be relaxed and not too tensed. Breath in large yet constant amount of air. Wiggle your toes. You should do fine.

But remember to follow your normal rules like look up, stomach in chest out etc. Very Happy

During our school's Speech Day this year, there was actually this NCC GOH cadet that puked onto the officer behind the Guest-of-Honour during the inspection of the GOH. He drank too much water beforehand and was too nervous during parade. Laughing

73 posts since Apr '06
    • Normally I just wriggle my toes as ppl cant see beneath the boots. Try not to move ur eyeballs coz need eyeball discipline. Flexing ur muscles for a few seconds then releasing them can help u to feel more relaxed too.

btw wad sch u from? our sch performing PDS this year

683 posts since Sep '06
    6,415 posts since Nov '03
    • Originally posted by VagueHart:
      I'm from Unity Sec. Kinda excited, never wear No 1 before Very Happy

Air unit right? Laughing

683 posts since Sep '06
    2,356 posts since Jul '06
    • Always remind yourself that watever chio bu/crush from ur class/school is looking at you…so if u fall..pai sei max…

683 posts since Sep '06
    1,481 posts since Jun '05
    • wearing peak caps make you sweat a lot more. u need to get used to it.

I was PC for my alma mater's speech day parade in late April.

No.1 with extra shirt inside plus peak cap. WOAH!! damn hot sia Laughing Laughing

Edited by Deunamist 07 Jun `07, 12:15PM
    3,148 posts since Sep '04
    • If the blood supply to your head is reduced, you will feel faint and pass out.
      Wriggle your toes to keep the blood circulating, and suck in you stomach to squeeze blood out of your liver.

Another reason is lack of sugar in you blood stream. Do not skip breakfast. And have a light snack before the parade. Do not stuff your self, or you will puke.

Drink water, and make sure you pee just before you fall-in for the parade.

33,016 posts since Mar '05
    683 posts since Sep '06
    • Nice tips, thanks! Today will be my first training/rehearsal. Don't know how well will it work out. Wearing Peak Cap with Gloves on No 4 sounds pretty weird to me.

1,481 posts since Jun '05
    4,282 posts since Apr '06
    • i stood for around 1hr for 5 intervals everyday for my passing out parade at HTA for 3 weeks wif my rifle. tips?

Drink lots lots of water

2nd, i usually will play wif my toes. den play stupid games wif my eyes. move up n down. den try do stupid things like. wriggle all toes n give stupid look.

3rd, try to sing song, time pass damm fast, juz mumble de song.

4th, think of ur home n u playing games or watching tv.

by the time u reach de 4th, its either ur break or its go home liaoz

9,362 posts since Apr '05
    • Originally posted by Xtrider:
      Always remind yourself that watever chio bu/crush from ur class/school is looking at you...so if u fall..pai sei max...

x2
      it works. Laughing

17,350 posts since Nov '06
    • Laughing Laughing Laughing
      Just back from spec! haha, erm, wiggle your toes, drink 100 plus or energy drinks before parade

15,764 posts since Oct '04
    • Originally posted by CoolMyth:
      If you want to fall down, make sure you fall down like this:

Laughing

should have lost some of his teeth Laughing Laughing

188 posts since Jun '06
    6,415 posts since Nov '03
    260 posts since May '05
    • surely not ur first time doin parade rite? if u can tahan ur unit parades den dun need to worry abt pengsan. just need to keep alert n do ur drills correctly more important.

gold unit can be GOH? not best unit (+gold)?
      this parade is good for cca pts heheh

• Originally posted by khk:
      surely not ur first time doin parade rite? if u can tahan ur unit parades den dun need to worry abt pengsan. just need to keep alert n do ur drills correctly more important.

gold unit can be GOH? not best unit (+gold)?
      this parade is good for cca pts heheh

hmm, yea, heard that gold unit immediately GOH.

24 posts since Jul '07
    • im NDP 2006 GOH. aiyo..wats so difficult about standing straight and not fainting. standard lar. wriggle toes. drink soft drinks. i dun think here got any smokers? too bad..smoking helps. lol.stand there, fantasize la. dirty things oso can. it helps.i oso regular, parade is nth. waste of time most of the time. BUT important thing...master the art of talking without moving your mouth too much. can one la. nv say siong. unless u've tried SAF day or NDP GOH

Please Login or Signup to reply.