Home Arsenal FC

UCL: Steaua Bucharest v Arsenal

Subscribe to UCL: Steaua Bucharest v Arsenal 43 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    21,004 posts since Feb '07

Champions League Group Stage
      Stadionul Ghencea
      Tuesday, October 2, 2007
      Kick-off: 7.45pm (uk time), 2.45am (singapore time)

Edited by turbo_drift 30 Sep `07, 6:27PM
    • imageimageimageimage
      TV Listing:

Reserved for TV schedule

========Predict Now==========

Edited by turbo_drift 30 Sep `07, 8:09PM
    3,100 posts since Nov '05
    • Originally posted by felirox:
      is it on tues morning? :S btw,a 2-o win for arsenal

Yeap..

3,746 posts since Apr '05
    • Originally posted by pierre^^:
      tues morn.. means after tmr 12 midnight lei

or u mean wed morn

Should be Wednesday morning 2++ am

800 posts since Apr '06
    • 3 - 0 win for the Gunners. (RVP 2, flamini )

time to let my anger out

FCUK NOBLE!!! SAW WHAT HE DID TO HLEB, OMG I WAN TO KILL HIM LOR. NOW HIS KNEE TO TOES ARE RED AND BRUISED. KNN LA~ FCUK HIS MUM!! Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

180 posts since Jul '07
    • YA WAT AN %&!*# BLOODY @$%&...THIS GUY DESERVES TO DIE FOR SUCH A CHALLENGE OR WAS THAT EVEN A CHALLENGE....MORE LIKE OUT TO INJURE!! Mad

4,260 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by Trump_Card:
      Match not telecasted ... Crying or Very sad

U check liao arh?

Sure no telecast? Sad

4,260 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by Trump_Card:
      Yar ... Neutral

Wah.. Sian.. Neutral

But luckily there's livescore.. Wink

Cheers.

1,920 posts since Sep '02
    13,430 posts since Dec '04
    • Originally posted by felirox:
      i mstill confued..so the match is tues after 12 am??

Yup. As omgukilledkenny said.

800 posts since Apr '06
    • Another anger to let out.

WHY THE FCUK IS STARHUB NOT SHOWING THE MATCH LIVE? WE PAID SO MUCH JUST TO WATCH THE DELAYED TELECAST. TO HELL WITH THEM AGAIN LA, NOT FAIR LOR LIKE THAT. LAST SEASON THEY ALWAYS SHOW DE AND NOW THEY GIVE US THIS TYPE OF SHIT SERVICE + LOUSY ANALYSIS FROM THE CHANNEL 27, LAST TIME SO MUCH MORE INTERESTING!!! THEY ARE DAMN BIASED TOWARDS LIVERFOOLS, MANURE, CHAOSKIS AND BARENONEHNEHs LA!!! Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

still stick to my 3 - 0 prediction. (RVP 2 , Flamini 1)

*edit* feel free to quote for future complaints to StarHub.

Edited by akinos 01 Oct `07, 4:43PM
    • Originally posted by akinos:
      Another anger to let out.

WHY THE FCUK IS STARHUB NOT SHOWING THE MATCH LIVE? WE PAID SO MUCH JUST TO WATCH THE DELAYED TELECAST. TO HELL WITH THEM AGAIN LA, NOT FAIR LOR LIKE THAT. LAST SEASON THEY ALWAYS SHOW DE AND NOW THEY GIVE US THIS TYPE OF SHIT SERVICE + LOUSY ANALYSIS FROM THE CHANNEL 27, LAST TIME SO MUCH MORE INTERESTING!!! THEY ARE DAMN BIASED TOWARDS LIVERFOOLS, MANURE, CHAOSKIS AND BARENONEHNEHs LA!!! Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

still stick to my 3 - 0 prediction. (RVP 2 , Flamini 1)

*edit* feel free to quote for future complaints to StarHub.

Cool down cool down.. Laughing

• *Steaua Bucharest v Arsenal preview*

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger is likely to be without midfielder Aleksandr Hleb for Tuesday's Champions League Group H trip to Steaua Bucharest.

The Belarus international injured his leg in a collision with Mark Noble against West Ham on Saturday and the extent of the bruising shocked Wenger.

"His leg is unbelievable, he can't even walk properly. I don't think he'll be fit for Tuesday," said the Frenchman.

A decision on Emmanuel Adebayor will also be left late due to a thigh knock.

The Gunners are more hopeful on Abou Diaby and Mathieu Flamini, who are carrying ankle and groin injuries respectively.

But Jens Lehmann (elbow), William Gallas (groin), Tomas Rosicky (hamstring), Eduardo (groin) and Alex Song (calf) are definitely out.

Arsenal opened their European campaign with a win over Sevilla two weeks ago.

Arsenal (from): Almunia, Sagna, Toure, Senderos, Clichy, Eboue, Fabregas, Flamini, Diaby, Adebayor, van Persie, Fabianski, Hleb, Denilson, Gilberto, Walcott, Bendtner, Traore.

Edited by turbo_drift 02 Oct `07, 10:42PM
    • *Hleb travels but four face fitness tests in Bucharest*

Arsène Wenger will wait for news on a quartet of players before naming his team to face Steaua Bucharest on Tuesday night.

Alex Hleb has travelled to Romania despite being stretchered off at West Ham on Saturday and the Belarussian is not the only one nursing an injury after the hard-fought victory at Upton Park.

Emmanuel Adebayor (thigh), Mathieu Flamini (groin) and Abou Diaby (ankle) also face fitness tests before Arsenal resume their Champions League campaign.

"Alex Hleb will travel," confirmed Wenger before flying out to Romania. "We tested him for a check on his bone and a decision will be made tomorrow over whether he will play or not.

"Emmanuel Adebayor will travel but we will make a decision on him as well. It looks a little less good than it did. Mathieu Flamini has a knock on his groin. Abou Diaby has a knock on his ankle so we need to check on them.

"William Gallas, Eduardo, Alex Song, Jens Lehmann and Tomas Rosicky are all still out."

Arsenal squad to face Steaua Bucharest:

24 Manuel ALMUNIA
      21 Lukasz FABIANSKI
      25 Emmanuel ADEBAYOR
      11 Robin VAN PERSIE
      26 Nicklas BENDTNER
      13 Alexander HLEB
      32 Theo WALCOTT
      2 Abou DIABY
      15 DENILSON
      8 Lassana DIARRA
      27 Emmanuel EBOUE
      4 Cesc FABREGAS
      16 Mathieu FLAMINI
      19 GILBERTO
      6 Philippe SENDEROS
      31 Justin HOYTE
      3 Bacary SAGNA
      5 Kolo TOURE
      22 Gael CLICHY

• *Pedrazzini to be sacked if Steaua lose to Gunners*

Steaua Bucharest owner Gigi Becali has vowed he will sack interim coach Massimo Pedrazzini if his side lose at home to Arsenal in the Champions League tomorrow.

Pedrazzini took the reins on a temporary basis last month following the shock resignation of Gheorghe Hagi, who blamed ongoing tension with Begali.

The 49-year-old Pedrazzini has overseen two victories so far - 4-0 at Bacau in the cup and 1-0 against Vaslui in the league on Saturday - but it seems the Italian has not yet earned the backing of the owner.

'If we lose tomorrow, Pedrazzini will be sacked,' said Becali, perhaps in a bid to motivate his players, who have each been promised a £20,000 bonus if they overcome the Gunners.

Pedrazzini believes he has done all he can at Steaua to date, and claims even former Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho would struggle if handed the post.

He said: 'Becali should bring Mourinho at Steaua, because he is free too.

'Becali should say to Mourinho: `You are coach of Steaua, you have three matches. You win them, you stay. You lose one of them, you go'.

'And he also should tell him that one of these matches is against Arsenal. Even Mourinho would have big problems. Nobody can perform miracles.'

Pedrazzini is expecting a difficult encounter against the Barclays Premier League leaders.

He said: 'Arsenal don't have weaknesses. We must play fast football.

'We must be clever and we must run a lot. Arsenal are a very powerful team.

'Two years ago they reached the final of Champions League. If our players want to make history, they will have to work at double the rate of at normal match.

'This is a very important match. Arsenal will come here to win, but they will not underestimate us.'

Eugen Baciu is set to deputise at centre-back with Dorin Goian a major doubt due to a back injury.

Sports manager Adrian Ilie said: 'Goian will not play against Arsenal. The doctors are trying to get him fit, but the chances are too small. If he continues playing with the injury, Goian will have big problems.'

• Originally posted by turbo_drift:
      [b]*Pedrazzini to be sacked if Steaua lose to Gunners*

Steaua Bucharest owner Gigi Becali has vowed he will sack interim coach Massimo Pedrazzini if his side lose at home to Arsenal in the Champions League tomorrow.

Pedrazzini took the reins on a temporary basis last month following the shock resignation of Gheorghe Hagi, who blamed ongoing tension with Begali.

The 49-year-old Pedrazzini has overseen two victories so far - 4-0 at Bacau in the cup and 1-0 against Vaslui in the league on Saturday - but it seems the Italian has not yet earned the backing of the owner.

'If we lose tomorrow, Pedrazzini will be sacked,' said Becali, perhaps in a bid to motivate his players, who have each been promised a £20,000 bonus if they overcome the Gunners.

Pedrazzini believes he has done all he can at Steaua to date, and claims even former Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho would struggle if handed the post.

He said: 'Becali should bring Mourinho at Steaua, because he is free too.

'Becali should say to Mourinho: `You are coach of Steaua, you have three matches. You win them, you stay. You lose one of them, you go'.

'And he also should tell him that one of these matches is against Arsenal. Even Mourinho would have big problems. Nobody can perform miracles.'

Pedrazzini is expecting a difficult encounter against the Barclays Premier League leaders.

He said: 'Arsenal don't have weaknesses. We must play fast football.

'We must be clever and we must run a lot. Arsenal are a very powerful team.

'Two years ago they reached the final of Champions League. If our players want to make history, they will have to work at double the rate of at normal match.

'This is a very important match. Arsenal will come here to win, but they will not underestimate us.'

Eugen Baciu is set to deputise at centre-back with Dorin Goian a major doubt due to a back injury.

Sports manager Adrian Ilie said: 'Goian will not play against Arsenal. The doctors are trying to get him fit, but the chances are too small. If he continues playing with the injury, Goian will have big problems.' [/b]

Shocked Shocked

1,461 posts since Jan '07
    • Van Persie also facing late test before Steaua clash

Robin van Persie has been added to the list of players facing fitness tests ahead of tonight’s game at Steaua Bucharest.

Arsène Wenger has two press conferences for Champions League trips. In the first one, which is set aside for the English media travelling with the official party, the manager listed his injury doubts as Alex Hleb (knee), Emmanuel Adebayor (thigh), Mathieu Flamini (knee) and Abou Diaby (ankle). At the Uefa press conference in Bucharest, he added Van Persie to that number.

“It is his ankle,” the manager explained on Monday evening. “We’ll make a decision tomorrow morning. Adebayor has a kick on his thigh. Van Persie has more chance to play than him at the moment.

“I will adapt up front if one of them is a little bit short but at least one of the two will be capable to play.

“Hleb, Diaby, Adebayor, Van Persie and Flamini - all those decisions will be made tomorrow.”

Hleb’s presence is a surprise given the way he was stretchered off on Saturday after Mark Noble’s sturdy challenge at Upton Park.

“He is 50:50,” said Wenger. “But much better than expected. He has big bone bruising but not a fracture. He has improved dramatically in the last 24 hours. He had a lot of medical care. There are a few players with bumps and bruises from the West Ham game. I will make a decision in the morning of the game.

Please Login or Signup to reply.