14 Oct, 11:57AM in sunny Singapore!

Phrases to use...

Subscribe to Phrases to use... 31 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    5,933 posts since Aug '06
    • First, please don't joke on this thread hor(no sperm, etc etc)...I am asking something to add onto my vocab...

Anyone know where to get phrases that describes...

-weather
      -feelings
      -actions
      -appearance???

or better still, if anyone knows of any good phrases also can post it down please! TY!

• Je'taime
    10,945 posts since Jan '07
    6,981 posts since Jun '05
    • Feelins u cant describe it..U show it...

For eg

U dont say "He was extremely embarrassed as John had just ..."

U say:" His cheeks burned and he stared at the ground, avoiding the curious stares of everyone around him."

684 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by Y_Shun:
      First, please don't joke on this thread hor(no sperm, etc etc)...I am asking something to add onto my vocab...

-weather
      -feelings
      -actions
      -appearance???

or better still, if anyone knows of any good phrases also can post it down please! TY!

Use a thesarus or go to thesarau.com Razz Razz Razz

4,303 posts since Sep '06
    • For appearance , maybe you can use ,

"I was completely mesmerized by her gorgeous outfit today ."

5,444 posts since Dec '06
    • Originally posted by fairlady_xoxo:
      Hidden behind the silvery silhouette of the moonlit sky...

my fave

Nice one. Very Happy

/memorises it on the spot.

2,259 posts since Jul '03
    • Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:
      For appearance , maybe you can use ,

'Her outfit stood out from all others, blazing my eyes by the sparkles of her beautiful outfit that can only be matched by the beauty that is herself.'

'The smoothness of the silk flowed gently down her flawless skin, like a gentle river flowing down, covering her humble body within.'

4,303 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by darkhour:
      'Her outfit stood out from all others, blazing my eyes by the sparkles of her beautiful outfit that can only be matched by the beauty that is herself.'

'The smoothness of the silk flowed gently down her flawless skin, like a gentle river flowing down, covering her humble body within.'

Oooo i get it . By using my sentence , you can expand the sentence with good words and vocab ! Very Happy So , if cant think of a good sentence , write out a simple sentence first , then expand it with good words ? Very Happy

my fave

what does it means ar? Embarassed Embarassed

is it describing how nice the moon is?

• Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:
      Oooo i get it . By using my sentence , you can expand the sentence with good words and vocab ! Very Happy So , if cant think of a good sentence , write out a simple sentence first , then expand it with good words ? Very Happy

infact...my teacher actually cal us to write short setences...

short setences with good actions words...cause we should write a compo that show the actions, not a compo that say the story.

6,981 posts since Jun '05
      infact...my teacher actually cal us to write short setences...

short setences with good actions words...cause we should write a compo that show the actions, not a compo that say the story.

X2

Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:
      For appearance , maybe you can use ,

Or...

From afar, he spotted her .No mistake. It gotta be her. Her gown was showing off her dangerous curves,reminding one of Jessica Alba . She stood out like an angel descending from the skies, basked in radiance and a touch of perfection. If looks could kill, every guy in the ball would have been dead by now. Men who walked past her cant help but steal a second glance at her.

Edited by lpx88 19 Jun `07, 8:40PM
    2,083 posts since Sep '06

my fave

yea lor..wat it means?very chim lei

332 posts since Nov '06

my fave

No offence meant, but actually, the sentence is quite amusing if you understand it fully.

First of all, "silhouette" refers to:
      sil·hou·ette /ˌsɪluˈɛt/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[sil-oo-et] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation noun, verb, -et·ted, -et·ting.
      –noun
      1. a two-dimensional representation of the outline of an object, as a cutout or configurational drawing, uniformly filled in with black, esp. a black-paper, miniature cutout of the outlines of a famous person's face.
      2. the outline or general shape of something: the slim silhouette of a skyscraper.
      3. a dark image outlined against a lighter background.

Since that's the case, the sky, being endless, can't exactly have a silhouette, can it? There's no background for the sky whatsoever.

A less confusing version would be "The clouds covered the face of the moon like a dirty grey shawl across the neck of a beautiful young lady, their outlines glowing a pale silver in the night sky." I realize it's longer, but hey.

Ok, here are some tips:
      1. Try to avoid using too many adjectives in one sentence. It's irritating and it holds the storyline up. For example: "The dilapidated, old house stood in the middle of the untamed and forbidding woods, with lush, green grass overflowing onto the worn-out dirt pavement leading up to the derelict front door that was hanging off its rusty, worn-out edges." Quite a mouthful, eh?

2. Vary between using long and short sentences. An example of this would be this excerpt quoted from my blog.
      For a drowning person:
      "He felt like he was falling in slow motion. Death was coming. He could feel its clammy touch. The cold brought comfort to him in the form of numbness. He could hardly feel anything, except for the sick, nauseatic feeling of water rushing into his chest cavity. His heart was beating ever so slowly."

3. Avoid using colloquial phrases like "blur".

4. Don't drag your story for the sake of making it longer. Long essays != Good essays.

That's all I have for now.

Edited by SturmDerSchatten 23 Jun `07, 11:53AM
    5,897 posts since Jan '06
    • he was completely mistifed by the lady who is standing infront of him, who seems to have a slight aura of perfume lingering around her. As his eyes rolled up and down like a roller coaster looking at the woman, the woman greeted him with a feather-like soft voice:” hello, how can i help you?” the man’s heart was instantly melted like a chocolate and could barely control his jelly-ed like legs upon seeing probably the most pretty lady that he had ever seen in his life!

13,322 posts since Dec '06
      First, please don't joke on this thread hor(no sperm, etc etc)...I am asking something to add onto my vocab...

-weather
      -feelings
      -actions
      -appearance???

- weather...

The ray of the sun blaze down fiercely at me while the gentle wind blew the leaves of the trees and is made a soft rustling sound. the sky was clear.

- feeling
      scard: face as white as sheet, chill run down my spine, butterfly seems to appear in my stomach...

332 posts since Nov '06
    • Oh, and another thing, GRAMMAR is very, very, very, very important when writing an essay. If you can't get your grammar right, don't expect a high grade for your compo.

Grammatical things to look out for:
      1. Singles and plurals! You MUST get this right, if not the one reading your essay won't know what you're trying to portray. For example, "The two men went over to the shop. He bought up a bundle of rope." is a terrible mistake to make.

2. Tenses! These provide a sense of time for your story. Unless you're writing something about time travel (which still doesn't allow you to butcher tenses), you have to keep your tenses consistent throughout. For example, writing "I saw her yesterday. She is wearing a white dress." is making a mockery of the English language.

Edited by SturmDerSchatten 23 Jun `07, 11:52AM
    1,152 posts since Aug '07
    • Panic gripped the crowd of on-lookers

I could see the anguish in her eyes

One should not negate the impact it will have on......

it is utterly selfish to forcibly change traditional lifestyle of the people for monetary gains

i beeseech the relevant authority to come up with alternate ways to tackle this problem

developers should take into consideration of a variety of complex issues

3,100 posts since Nov '05
    • Beads of sweat collected on his brow and slowly trickled down the bridge of his nose.

4,311 posts since Jan '06
    • woah this may be just a good thread for me haha... i just passed my compo marginally with ordinary vocabs... Surprised

2,259 posts since Jul '03
    • Originally posted by OasisBlue:
      woah this may be just a good thread for me haha... i just passed my compo marginally with ordinary vocabs... Surprised

if ur english standard not that good yet, use simple vocab first...some words if duno how to use dun anyhow use, might make it worse de...even with normal vocab u can still do quite well...try to correct all ur grammar n spelling mistakes first...if u wanna use, try to use exactly in the same form

5,008 posts since Aug '07
    • Over the next few days, John continued to drown himself in self-pity. It was shocking to see a young, talented man like him be reduced to an emotional wreck, following the discovery that he had contracted AIDS.

not the best, but its what i thought of

4,277 posts since Jul '04
    • As the sun disappears beneath the horizon, the last rays of the day sets the sky ablaze in a scarlet tone

4,311 posts since Jan '06
    • Originally posted by darkhour:
      if ur english standard not that good yet, use simple vocab first...some words if duno how to use dun anyhow use, might make it worse de...even with normal vocab u can still do quite well...try to correct all ur grammar n spelling mistakes first...if u wanna use, try to use exactly in the same form

haha true but my teacher marked me down mainly because of ordinary vocab. and i don't know what to use for argumentative essay...

Please Login or Signup to reply.