24 Jul, 06:58PM in sunny Singapore!

Suggestions to burn more energy while studying/reading

Subscribe to Suggestions to burn more energy while studying/reading 33 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    15,683 posts since Aug '01
    • For most students/people, the excuse is can't exercise due to too much work.
      I do not believe this is true for most of the time => you only need at most an hour a day to have a good workout. Furthermore, there's no need to work out 6-7 days a week (unless you are as mad as me).

Let's suppose you work out 4 days a week for an hour each time (jogging takes much less time. I don't suppose most of you could really jog for an hour)

4 hours / (24 * 7) = 1 / 42 of your time. Is it really that hard?

But for the very busy.... there are definitely ways to help increase the amount of energy your internal furnace is burning off. Let's help suggest methods to do so.

My suggestions:

1. Stand up while studying or reading (for perhaps half an hour?)
      => Standing up burns more energy than sitting down

2. Do some sit-ups/push-ups while watching tv

3. Drink ice cold plain water (PLAIN WATER)... Helps a tiny tiny bit, but not a lot though.

19,737 posts since Apr '06
    • Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
      How does drinking ice cold water help burn calories?

physics of thermodynamics and some other things...

But helps only a little.... very little

16 posts since Jul '07
    • can also try lifting ur leg up n down when sittin on the chair..but try to control ur muscles when goin up n down...do it slowly...
      haha..suppose to help abit la..thats what i saw in men's health..cheers!

5,458 posts since May '07
    • Study in a freezing temperature room...
      Confirm ... burn more enery...
      It is not a little... it is alot...
      lol

25,339 posts since Mar '04
    • the part on drinkin cold water:

the body burns more calories trying to warm ur dunno which part... cos the water v cold...

same thing when it comes to being in a v cold place

read this somewhere if i rmb sala dun piak me >.<

• U
    29,725 posts since Apr '06
    • mi cannot sit still one

so i will always be twirling my pencil or shake leg or erm...i just keep on moving lar....
      if i sit still for more than a few minutes, i will have to get up and walk around Rolling Eyes

so yeah. im sure i burn some when i 'sit still' and study or do homework or whatever.....

• this is my own experience

ever since I started heavy training, there are seldom places which are cold for me. I always see people wearing jackets or shivering when I feel just nice, or even a little warm...... when in school I mean........

Also, after every meal, I feel very warm...

I believe that this is the effect of higher metabolism from higher muscle mass than before.

• Originally posted by eagle:
      this is my own experience

ever since I started heavy training, there are seldom places which are cold for me. I always see people wearing jackets or shivering when I feel just nice, or even a little warm...... when in school I mean........

Also, after every meal, I feel very warm...

I believe that this is the effect of higher metabolism from higher muscle mass than before.

i feel like that also... but... it's nto the effect of higher metabolism rate Crying or Very sad

• Originally posted by shinta:
      i feel like that also... but... it's nto the effect of higher metabolism rate Crying or Very sad

hmmm

maybe I got fatter and thus more insulation

• Originally posted by eagle:
      hmmm

maybe I got fatter and thus more insulation

last time before i enter poly i v scared of the cold one..

den by the end of my first week i kenna fever... den frm 2nd week onwards not cold anymore Very Happy

last time before i enter poly i v scared of the cold one..

den by the end of my first week i kenna fever... den frm 2nd week onwards not cold anymore Very Happy

used to it ler.
      Very Happy

5,899 posts since Jan '06
    31,026 posts since Mar '05
    • to take the cold water drinking further, can take ice baths. can wake and refresh you as well as burning energy Mr. Green

• Originally posted by hisoka:
      to take the cold water drinking further, can take ice baths. can wake and refresh you as well as burning energy Mr. Green

when i shower hor.. the water quite cold...

nel hor... quite hot

how i noe? tabai he shower before me.. when i turn on the water... i need to siam 1 side if not very painful... too hot Crying or Very sad

20,422 posts since Feb '07
    4,228 posts since Jan '07
    • Why dont you get a 'JOBA'.Its those saddle type stool that helps you trim your waist line with a bit of rodeo action but dont get the one from the movie'Urban Cowboy' or the pages from your textbooks would also go flying> Mr. Green

31,026 posts since Mar '05
      when i shower hor.. the water quite cold...

nel hor... quite hot

how i noe? tabai he shower before me.. when i turn on the water... i need to siam 1 side if not very painful... too hot Crying or Very sad

ice baths lah Twisted Evil

• ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
    48,926 posts since Sep '03
    • i think i burn enough energy just to study. i get hungry faster and eat 5 meals on my worst days. Laughing

• Originally posted by Short Ninja:
      Why dont you get a 'JOBA'.Its those saddle type stool that helps you trim your waist line with a bit of rodeo action but dont get the one from the movie'Urban Cowboy' or the pages from your textbooks would also go flying> Mr. Green

dun need the stool

u can pretend u're sitting on 1... den u just shake lor Laughing

dun need the stool

u can pretend u're sitting on 1... den u just shake lor Laughing

self entertainment.

• Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
      self entertainment.

Laughing Laughing Laughing