30 Aug, 12:43PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Singles Club

Please take a few mins and read this

Subscribe to Please take a few mins and read this 29 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    5,078 posts since May '03
    • A small touching story..

A man came home from work late, tired and irritated, to find his
      5-year old son waiting for him at the door.

SON: "Daddy, may I ask you a question?"

DAD: "Yeah sure, what is it?" replied the man.

SON: "Daddy, how much do you make an hour?"

DAD: "That's none of your business. Why do you ask such a thing?"
      the man said angrily.

SON: "I just want to know. Please tell me, how much do you make an
      hour?"

DAD: "If you must know, I make SGD100 an hour."

SON: "Oh," the little boy replied, with his head down.

SON: "Daddy, may I please borrow SGD50?"

The father was furious, "If the only reason you asked that is so you
      can borrow some money to buy a silly toy or some other nonsense, then
      you march yourself straight to your room and go to bed. Think about
      why you are being so selfish. I work hard everyday for such this
      childish behavior"

The little boy quietly went to his room and shut the door.

The man sat down and started to get even angrier about the little
      boy's questions. How dare he ask such questions only to get some
      money?

After about an hour or so, the man had calmed down, and started to
      think: Maybe there was something he really needed to buy with that
      RM.50 and he really didn't ask for money very often The man went to
      the door of the little boy's room and opened the door.

"Are you asleep, son?" He asked.

"No daddy, I'm awake," replied the boy.

"I've been thinking, maybe I was too hard on you earlier" said the
      man.

"It's been a long day and I took out my aggravation on you. Here's the
      SGD50 you asked for."

The little boy sat straight up, smiling. "Oh, thank you daddy!" He
      yelled.

Then, reaching under his pillow he pulled out some crumpled up bills.
      The man saw that the boy already had money, started to get angry
      again. The little boy slowly counted out his money, and then looked up
      at his father.

"Why do you want more money if you already have some?" the father
      grumbled.

"Because I didn't have enough, but now I do," the little boy replied.

"Daddy, I have SGD100 now. Can I buy an hour of your time?

Please come home early tomorrow. I would like to have dinner with you."

The father was crushed. He put his arms around his little son, and he
      begged for his forgiveness.

Often, we are too engaged in our own busy lives that we might have neglected our love ones. This is a wake up call. Someone you love may be waiting for your attention somewhere now.

481 posts since Nov '07
    4,349 posts since Aug '07
    • saw this scene in Í Not Stupid 2"'

very touching, but not to the extent that i was crying rivers

10,384 posts since Jun '07
    3,095 posts since Aug '07
    • saw this one of the replay tellcast on tv yesterday where the kid ask $50 from his dad and $50 from his mum so that he can buy an hour of his dad time to spend with him and his mum.

709 posts since Apr '07
    • Seriously... I feel that most of our lives are quite hectic.. Spend most of the time at work, go home have dinner then rest and there goes the day. But how often do we really sit down and talk to our family? Or your spouse? Kids? Friends?

Then again, there are ppl who give most of their time to work and friends, in the end neglected his family.

Striking a balance is difficult, however an effort is needed. Take a small step and see how happy the recipient can be.

200 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by Nata|ie:
      A small touching story..

A man came home from work late, tired and irritated, to find his
      5-year old son waiting for him at the door.

SON: "Daddy, may I ask you a question?"

DAD: "Yeah sure, what is it?" replied the man.

SON: "Daddy, how much do you make an hour?"

DAD: "That's none of your business. Why do you ask such a thing?"
      the man said angrily.

SON: "I just want to know. Please tell me, how much do you make an
      hour?"

DAD: "If you must know, I make SGD100 an hour."

SON: "Oh," the little boy replied, with his head down.

SON: "Daddy, may I please borrow SGD50?"

The father was furious, "If the only reason you asked that is so you
      can borrow some money to buy a silly toy or some other nonsense, then
      you march yourself straight to your room and go to bed. Think about
      why you are being so selfish. I work hard everyday for such this
      childish behavior"

The little boy quietly went to his room and shut the door.

The man sat down and started to get even angrier about the little
      boy's questions. How dare he ask such questions only to get some
      money?

After about an hour or so, the man had calmed down, and started to
      think: Maybe there was something he really needed to buy with that
      RM.50 and he really didn't ask for money very often The man went to
      the door of the little boy's room and opened the door.

"Are you asleep, son?" He asked.

"No daddy, I'm awake," replied the boy.

"I've been thinking, maybe I was too hard on you earlier" said the
      man.

"It's been a long day and I took out my aggravation on you. Here's the
      SGD50 you asked for."

The little boy sat straight up, smiling. "Oh, thank you daddy!" He
      yelled.

Then, reaching under his pillow he pulled out some crumpled up bills.
      The man saw that the boy already had money, started to get angry
      again. The little boy slowly counted out his money, and then looked up
      at his father.

"Why do you want more money if you already have some?" the father
      grumbled.

"Because I didn't have enough, but now I do," the little boy replied.

"Daddy, I have SGD100 now. Can I buy an hour of your time?

Please come home early tomorrow. I would like to have dinner with you."

The father was crushed. He put his arms around his little son, and he
      begged for his forgiveness.

Often, we are too engaged in our own busy lives that we might have neglected our love ones. This is a wake up call. Someone you love may be waiting for your attention somewhere now.

read it many yrs bk.......
      think only those are already a father & are damn busy...( either by work or others.... Twisted Evil ) will understands & feel about the story.... Crying or Very sad

1,766 posts since Dec '04
      Seriously... I feel that most of our lives are quite hectic.. Spend most of the time at work, go home have dinner then rest and there goes the day. But how often do we really sit down and talk to our family? Or your spouse? Kids? Friends?

Then again, there are ppl who give most of their time to work and friends, in the end neglected his family.

Striking a balance is difficult, however an effort is needed. Take a small step and see how happy the recipient can be.

hmm.. want to buy my hour? Embarassed

159 posts since May '04
    • life is all about a balance between working hard for what u want and cherishing what u have.

1,710 posts since Jan '05
    • REad this story somewhere else …it was an angmo family but then who care … it’s a timely call to the parent out there especially working parents not to nelgect their family while in persuit of wealth … I know I will never be rich because I am always rushing home to be with my family.. HOWEVER, ever since I got this new job, it is taking more of my family time away … that day, my son told me, for the first time, that he misses me … boy … I was so ashamed !!! Then we spent a whole weekend together, just he and I … wow … it was such a nice feeling…. I wanted more of it..

23,452 posts since Feb '06
    • wow... his dad earns 100bucks per hour.... Shocked Shocked Shocked

then so stingy give his son 50.. aiyer...

• Originally posted by sLeEpWaLkErInG:
      hmm.. want to buy my hour? Embarassed

eh translate in mandarin : Yao Bu Yao Mai Wo De Zhong.

Hahhah sounds so wrong leh.... .

133 posts since Jan '05
    10,384 posts since Jun '07
    • Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
      REad this story somewhere else ...it was an angmo family but then who care ... it's a timely call to the parent out there especially working parents not to nelgect their family while in persuit of wealth ... I know I will never be rich because I am always rushing home to be with my family.. HOWEVER, ever since I got this new job, it is taking more of my family time away ... that day, my son told me, for the first time, that he misses me ... boy ... I was so ashamed !!! Then we spent a whole weekend together, just he and I ... wow ... it was such a nice feeling.... I wanted more of it..

Ya, I think it's sweet when your child just says tat out of the blue to you.

You've got a lovely boy.. Smile

1,766 posts since Dec '04
      eh translate in mandarin : Yao Bu Yao Mai Wo De Zhong.

Hahhah sounds so wrong leh.... .

wrong meh? same as your story mah... Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

• Originally posted by sLeEpWaLkErInG:
      wrong meh? same as your story mah... Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

Tat one is father and son ma.....

• Originally posted by mhcampboy:
      wow... his dad earns 100bucks per hour.... Shocked Shocked Shocked

then so stingy give his son 50.. aiyer...

Give half le ma... the other half maybe give his wife leh...

1,710 posts since Jan '05
      Ya, I think it's sweet when your child just says tat out of the blue to you.

You've got a lovely boy.. Smile

Thanks... he really touch my heart ..

31,715 posts since Jun '05
    13,138 posts since Dec '06
  • capiche?
    10,785 posts since Dec '04
    44,595 posts since Apr '05
    • yes this is society nowadays.

parents work damn hard to give their kids a good life and to retire peacefully.

but when they reach the age where they need not work so hard and long to support the family, they realize that their kids are no longer there and not close to them anymore. Neutral

7,372 posts since Mar '05
    • And then the boy goes to his mother, grandmother, grandfather, uncles and aunties with the same story.

At the end of it all, he has enough money to buy the gameboy that nobody would give him for his birthday. Laughing

Please Login or Signup to reply.