Originally posted by weiqimun:
sorry i did not keep my words...
1. blame stella...
2. epl doesn't technically represent english football, not in this day and age. if the e FA wants to be insular, they cld have kept a foreign quota. the thing is, they didn't. it's an `open' market so to speak. it's a commercial entity. and tt alone cannot logically explain why ingerlish costs more especially they suck @ the international level...
3. club & ctry affiliation r 2 completely separate matters. the core supporter of england are the english (sgporean ingerland supporter are all pseudo ones) whereas for west ham, the supporters can be all over the world. no geographical or constitutional boundaries to distinguish them. so cannot compare....
4. if sg's foreign talent delivers, i am sure sgreans will lap them up. look @ t-tennis (the pioneer batch from china) and the chaps who climbs mt. everest. they were heroes, nvr mind tt they come for the $ ( the chinese i.e). $pore gahmen too happy to hand them cheques for doing us proud. problem is, sg football sucks, even with the `so-called' talents. surely everyone `pui chao nua' (i know english dick dun have this word) becos they are paid good $ and deliver nothing.
5. club fans will be passionate if the clubs win honours, whether w local or foreign players. ask any arsenal fan if they think they successes are any less valuable becos their team all eu paspot. u know the answer alredi. as a reds fan myself, i also red eye. but i wun go arnd diminishing their achievement becos they got only half an english player in their squad. a champion is a champion...
6. ok, mistaken abt the theo bit. still, yr valuation of theo being 2.5x more ex is all subjective... what's your basis and assimptions of his original valuation?
7. of cos chel$ki r blooming idiots. they have overpaid for EVERY single players they bought since Abro came on board. jus becos they can afford it doesn't negate the fact tt they are being suckered by everyone queueing to mk an extra buck off them.
8. see my last post.
the feelings r mutual...

no ill intention on my part also...
You are wrong cos the word EPL basically means English Premier League already and to say it doesnÂ’t represent England is totally absurd. Everyone knows and accept that Real & Barce represent Spanish football & The Milans represent Italy regardless

of how many foreigners play in their team.
I read somewhere that said the English clubs were ban from playing in European competitions some yrs back because of the Liverpool supporters behaviour in the Heysel Stadium disaster. Because of one club happened to be an English team, the rest were also ban altogether.
Anyway, had Arsenal won the CL, the commentator would say the trophy is going back to England again (after Liverpool won previously) but since itÂ’s a Barce win, he just said its going back to Spain.
There was a quota for foreign players allowed in a team a few years back until a European court changed the rules for all EU workers including footballers. Tho the rules may have changed FiFa recently is considering in the next few years limiting teams across Europe to a number of foreign players so as to allow young players a chance in their home country to develop.
Clubs & country are 2 completely separate matters I agree with you but the supporters of clubs like Arsenal are different. Only hard core supporters of arsenal will feel proud of them, in hardcore I mean those in London area and other parts of the world. But these are only in the minoritiesÂ… Perhaps the non-supporters outside England wouldnÂ’t care one bit but those in England non-Arsenal supporters will. It is this majority that I was referring too. Normal englishmen. Recently i saw a story on Arsenal... It says, Only English in name everything else not.
ItÂ’s the same you ask yourself, The Sg ladies T-tennis team, these foreign talent did deliver. But who have lapped them up? They did win honours for Sg like never before but who really bother about them? When they came back to sg, did the public when to welcome them back? Ans is No. it was organize by the Sports association and even then only a handful of people show-up as we can see from the tv. Even worst the chap you mentioned that climbed Mt Everest, try to swim across the English channel and do some other stupid things canÂ’t remember liaoÂ… Countless times I have come across people telling me the gov is wasting taxpayers money on him. He usually fails on his trips like never make it to the top of Everest until a few attemptsÂ… couldnÂ’t make it across the channel and worst of all if he did make it, we ask ourselves why the hell are we wasting our money on a Malaysian guy who doesnÂ’t work, donÂ’t go get a job and expect his wife to support him and taxpayers to pay for his stupid trips for? I ask you Is this something to be proud off as a Singaporean? And one African footballer, got the sg citizenship than disappearÂ…
We have our own talents like Ang Peng Siong, Remy Ong, FandiÂ… these are sports people we can be proud of, tho they may be old today but we still remember them for their contributions.
I have no doubt that arsenal fans will be happy if their club win honours. But if your intention is to build a club then having home grown players are important as it will attract more new supporters to your club. A clubs' long term survival depends on attracting new home grown fans... like young boys who have not decide which club to support yet cos ultimately they will be the ones that spend money to fill your stadium.
As for Theo, yes its subjective but have you ever seen a teen who never even played in the Premier league going for $5? In fact, he was only playing for the southamton reserve not even their first team... and like I said, such players and unknown at that time would have gone for a few hundred thousand at most $2m had a lesser club came for himÂ… But since its Arsenal, a top club in the EPL, he cost $5m. Same as in Carrick. If it was Bolton or Blackburn maybe he would have costed $12 to $13m but since itÂ’s a top EPL club, price increase.
As for Chelsea, i don't know lah... Maybe they are idiots as you say.