22 Aug, 10:01AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Food

steam boat

Subscribe to steam boat 72 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,150 posts since Dec '05
    • whr is the best place to eat?.. at marina?..or got better place?.. i think the best is when chinese new year eat wit your family.. Very Happy reunion dinner..

4,537 posts since Jan '04
    • I usually eats at Pin Xuan at Marina. $12 with 2 sticks of Satay and Potong Ice Cream. Shuttle Service to and fro Marina MRT station.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    158,936 posts since Dec '99
    • the kopitiam near AMK polyclinic

steamboat only, no have the BBQ hotplate
      $10 for weekdays

note: no beef

33,826 posts since Dec '02
    • don't like to eat.

Most of the time people eating steamboat are not so particular about hygiene and dip their chopsticks into the pot. Eeeks. Shocked

12,796 posts since Oct '05
    • Originally posted by MooKu:
      don't like to eat.

Most of the time people eating steamboat are not so particular about hygiene and dip their chopsticks into the pot. Eeeks. Shocked

y not dont eat anything since bacteria is all around. y not destroy yourself since there is bacteria in and on your body

23,141 posts since Jul '04
    • Originally posted by anhydrouscoppersulphate:
      y not dont eat anything since bacteria is all around. y not destroy yourself since there is bacteria in and on your body

imo, its usually people who are scared of this and that ends up with food poisoning.

How do you bring yourself to eat something from that pot when contamination of it is happening right in front of your eyes? With all those education on prevention of contagious diseases, I don't see what's wrong with being a little more particular about what I put into MY mouth (not yours).

• Originally posted by Ito_^:
      imo, its usually people who are scared of this and that ends up with food poisoning.

My tummy is strong! *pats tummy* Surprised Mr. Green

17,796 posts since Jun '05
    • Originally posted by FireIce:
      the kopitiam near AMK polyclinic

$10 for weekdays

That one at AMK coffeeshop's got no beef or fish or sotong.

I'd recommend paying a bit more $13.90 at Hao Zhou Dao steamboat (zhou = porridge) on level 3, above the 4 Seasons dept store (same building as SportLink). They have a lot more ingredients, plus cooked food and snacks, free drinks and can choose to have two types of soup (yuan yang).

+ unlimited potong ice cream for those who likes it

Edited by Wanda 01 Aug `06, 9:50AM
    17,332 posts since Aug '02
    • LOL
      My theory is, the boiling soup kills everything so dipping chopsticks or spoons in it is fine. Unless of course if you're visibly ill and want to show some consideration then only use the strainer thing in the pot.

Originally posted by MooKu:
      don't like to eat.

• you cannot has
    49,650 posts since Dec '03
    • Originally posted by choco B:
      LOL
      My theory is, the boiling soup kills everything so dipping chopsticks or spoons in it is fine. Unless of course if you're visibly ill and want to show some consideration then only use the strainer thing in the pot.

That's true. But the point is you're seeing everyone dip their saliva-stained chopsticks into the pot! It's... actually more of gross-ness than the bacterial issue. Razz

At least for other foods like hawker centre food or whatsoever I don't see the actual contamination happening, I don't think about it so it's not so bad when it comes to putting it into my mouth. Mr. Green

LOL

i agree on ur say..if not for wat steam boat?..juz eat raw la

17,332 posts since Aug '02
    • LOL What we don't see can't hurt us eh?

Actually when I eat steamboat I have 2 sets of chopsticks. 1 set is to use for raw food & cooking ... the other is to pick food from my plate to mouth (i.e. regular use when eating) LOL. I'm more concerned about consuming bacteria in raw food & those transferred into the disposable chopsticks hehe.

Originally posted by MooKu:
      That's true. But the point is you're seeing everyone dip their saliva-stained chopsticks into the pot! It's... actually more of gross-ness than the bacterial issue. Razz

At least for other foods like hawker centre food or whatsoever I don't see the actual contamination happening, I don't think about it so it's not so bad when it comes to putting it into my mouth. Mr. Green
      LOL What we don't see can't hurt us eh?

Actually when I eat steamboat I have 2 sets of chopsticks. 1 set is to use for raw food & cooking ... the other is to pick food from my plate to mouth (i.e. regular use when eating) LOL. I'm more concerned about consuming bacteria in raw food & those transferred into the disposable chopsticks hehe.

true Very Happy u dont think so much not scad liao... like some ppl c raw food nia eee eee ee ..like tad don eat better ... Very Happy

117 posts since Mar '06
    • Other than Marina South, if you want a more comfortable place I would recommend M Hotel, Chong Qing Magic Hot Pot, Seoul Garden or Suntec(where the escalators are)

Enjoy! Wink

5,453 posts since Dec '02
    • me and fog sao loves the Yuan Ting Fish Head Hotpot at Liang Seah Street.

not reallly the bestest of ingredients but for 15bucks per pax, dun expect much.

what attracted us to Yuan Ting is their Suan Chai soup base, thinly sliced pork, delicious zhi ma jiang.

23,141 posts since Jul '04
    • Originally posted by 39th:
      Other than Marina South, if you want a more comfortable place I would recommend [b]M Hotel, Chong Qing Magic Hot Pot, Seoul Garden or Suntec(where the escalators are)

Enjoy! Wink [/b]

ahh better quality one.

bugis junction behind got one ma la hui guo.. interior like not bad. anyone eat before can comment?

• i remember liao... got 1 call tian wai tian.. verynice 1 hu knows?.. i love to eat there lor Very Happy

6,969 posts since Mar '05

i think we also have to respect mooku's decision..

however, what i feel is that, if you already have a system that can withstand "contaminated" food, then it will be better because we have a lesser chance to fall sick than those who always eat "bacteria free" food all the time.

• Originally posted by Ito_^:
      ahh better quality one.

bugis junction behind got one ma la hui guo.. interior like not bad. anyone eat before can comment?

are you talking about chuan yi pin? if thats the one.. then its pretty worth it..

i would like to know if it opens during lunch hours.

14,807 posts since Aug '04
    • Originally posted by MooKu:
      How do you bring yourself to eat something from that pot when contamination of it is happening right in front of your eyes? With all those education on prevention of contagious diseases, I don't see what's wrong with being a little more particular about what I put into MY mouth (not yours).

?? err, the pot is steaming hot, the germs are dead already when they r inside Laughing
      if u don't dare to eat steamboat this way, u might as well don't drink water that r boiled.
      same theory Laughing

195 posts since Jun '04
    • opposite shaw tower there are 3 steamboat shops… Go for the one in the middle… it is nice

13,647 posts since Jun '04
    • Originally posted by FireIce:
      the kopitiam near AMK polyclinic

$10 for weekdays

NOt nice leh...ate there liao...

Please Login or Signup to reply.