you can add yourself mahz...thats the good thing about fried rice...many variations...Originally posted by skeujin:yr fly lice no lap cheong n no chai one....
n most important no bak you....![]()
Amazing! Thanks for the tips! *Taking note*Originally posted by R3SsH|n:Just now watch a show that talk about cooking fried rice...
It is said that cooking fried rice shows one person's skill in culinery.
before i forget the tips...i will post it here to share...
1) Add more oil to the wok. Pour the beated egg in. This is to prevent the egg from sticking to the wok. Another purpose is so that you need no add much oil when u cook the rice.
2)Cook the egg. Fire must not be too high, if not the egg will become chao tak. Throw in the spring onion next. Make sure the egg is not overcooked.
3) Cooked rice should be left overnight. Actually, the wetness of the rice is the most important. Keep it as dry as possible with little bit moisture.
4) After cooking the egg, throw in the rice. Toss it around so that the egg aroma and rice can come together.
5) Add some seasoning.
6) Add in the soy sauce. Important thing to remember is that soy sauce should be added around the wok, not onto the rice itself.
7) Stir fry till aroma comes. Serve.
Something simple yet amazing...
anymore tips?
btw, how much oil is then considered as "enough"?Originally posted by R3SsH|n:Just now watch a show that talk about cooking fried rice...
It is said that cooking fried rice shows one person's skill in culinery.
before i forget the tips...i will post it here to share...
1) Add more oil to the wok. Pour the beated egg in. This is to prevent the egg from sticking to the wok. Another purpose is so that you need no add much oil when u cook the rice.
2)Cook the egg. Fire must not be too high, if not the egg will become chao tak. Throw in the spring onion next. Make sure the egg is not overcooked.
3) Cooked rice should be left overnight. Actually, the wetness of the rice is the most important. Keep it as dry as possible with little bit moisture.
4) After cooking the egg, throw in the rice. Toss it around so that the egg aroma and rice can come together.
5) Add some seasoning.
6) Add in the soy sauce. Important thing to remember is that soy sauce should be added around the wok, not onto the rice itself.
7) Stir fry till aroma comes. Serve.
Something simple yet amazing...
anymore tips?
hmm...depends on how much egg u put in. cos the egg is suppose to absorb the oil when u first cook it. the left enough oil to cook the rice.Originally posted by Texcoco II:btw, how much oil is then considered as "enough"?
Don't antagonise me.Originally posted by laurence82:Never get a poly student to cook it![]()
as when you like for the garlic. but if u put it early, the garlic might cover the whole aroma of the rice and egg. so i suggest put it after u put in the rice. then cook it till the garlic smell comes out lor..Originally posted by BrUtUs:need to add garlic? when throw in salty fish?
you can try...Originally posted by kaister:Can use butter instead of oil?
Tried before liao... the rice turns yellow instead of light brown.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:you can try...
try already tell me...![]()
Won't the large fire burn the rice at the bottom of the pile?Originally posted by vito_corleone:you need a very powerful fire which is unachievable by 99.99999% of housesold stoves. the "wok hei" gives the fried rice the shiokness and flavour![]()
freak 'wok hei' is so hard to achieve. Heard must do constant flipping my wrist not strong enughOriginally posted by vito_corleone:you need a very powerful fire which is unachievable by 99.99999% of housesold stoves. the "wok hei" gives the fried rice the shiokness and flavour![]()
you got add enough oil anot?Originally posted by kaister:Won't the large fire burn the rice at the bottom of the pile?
I've tried to use a normal household stove at full blast but the rice gets burnt even when constant stirring was done.