so have anyone tried it? how's the taste? is it really as good as what the gahmen says?
think about it..
frozen meat is flash frozen immediately after the animal is slaughtered..
you bring home the "fresh meat" from the market, the thing has had time to rot while from the abattoir all the way to the market to be kept in the fridges there which are not very efficient from everyone opening and closing them anyway...
the frozen meat is way more fresh than the "fresh meat"..
btw.. just how many animals can the Singapore abattoirs handle?
i heard that frozen meat can be kept for years? true? ![]()
im just waiting for the govt to tell us to eat shit, because it's cheaper.
Originally posted by Gordonator:i heard that frozen meat can be kept for years? true?
yes.. of course...
once properly frozen, it doesn't rot anymore.. all cellular activity comes to a total standstill..
caveat is that the freezing must be done properly, not merely throwing the slaughtered carcass into the freezer..
there are lots of factors which the butchers know how to control in order that they can command the highest prices for their product.. so it is in their interest to keep the product as high a quality as possible during freezing..
Originally posted by Gordonator:i heard that frozen meat can be kept for years? true?
True
If you deepfreeze it properly you can keep it up to 5 yrs before you see any detoriation in quality
Btw if you want the meat to taste as sweet do not quick thaw it by leaving it outside or thawing by soaking in water
Leave it in the chiller section of your fridge to slowly defrost. This way, the meat will not lose that much water
Originally posted by Gordonator:so have anyone tried it? how's the taste? is it really as good as what the gahmen says?
IT taste as good
Do you think that resturants outside actually use chilled meat to cook?
Most buy frozen pork to process their food.
It's just that they thaw the meat differently
If you slow thaw it, the meat will not lose it's flavour
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:im just waiting for the govt to tell us to eat shit, because it's cheaper.
You waiting for "newmeat" ? haha
Frozen meat can be kept from 6 mths to a year. There are 2 types of freezing, one is immediate and the other is deep freezing.
TrueIf you deepfreeze it properly you can keep it up to 5 yrs before you see any detoriation in quality
Btw if you want the meat to taste as sweet do not quick thaw it by leaving it outside or thawing by soaking in water
Leave it in the chiller section of your fridge to slowly defrost. This way, the meat will not lose that much water
This is amazing. If a human accidentally being locked inside the fridge, he/she will become the nest frozen meat for eons of years!!!!
has less ice damage to the texture
Originally posted by foodpal:
This is amazing. If a human accidentally being locked inside the fridge, he/she will become the nest frozen meat for eons of years!!!!
Deep Freeze la
Fridge cannot Deep Freeze
And also they have found preserved bodies over centuries old buried in snow and ice so well preserved there is still flesh and sperm still active when defrosted
the discussion here seems to be different from another forum i visited in which they are flaming how lousy frozen meat is.
Originally posted by Gordonator:the discussion here seems to be different from another forum i visited in which they are flaming how lousy frozen meat is.
it all goes on how you thraw it
Originally posted by Gordonator:the discussion here seems to be different from another forum i visited in which they are flaming how lousy frozen meat is.
It's how you thaw the meat really
Put it this way, I have been buying Frozen USA duck before AVA made such a huge fuss about frozen meat
The quality is many times better than the local duck we get and taste better
If you dunk the duck in the microwave or water or just leave outside to thaw, the meat quality won't be there. I had to slow thaw it in the fridge for a few days.
Bear can attest to the flavour :)
do they cook at all?
i speak from experience ![]()
Actually it's really simple
Ask those that bitch about the quality of frozen food if they are guilty of buying fresh meat and then freezing them at home?
If they are already doing that, it is actually better to buy frozen meat than to buy fresh and freeze!!!
frozen meat?? we been eating that for so many yrs already.. why now then ask??? u think alot of meat out there is fresh one meh??![]()
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):frozen meat?? we been eating that for so many yrs already.. why now then ask??? u think alot of meat out there is fresh one meh??
I asked this question above too
Dunno what is the big deal about it also
the world's best beef come from cows that are bred in the artic
eat liao wil full can oladi.
i dunno what your gahmen says, but all my life, i've pretty much been eating frozen meat. unless buy oredi then that night cook. otherwise it all goes into the freezer. and my mom usually buys and handles the raw meat [washing/packing it into the freezer etc...] so once she had to go overseas for a few weeks and i was 'in charge' of things. and nbz it was so hard to tell what meat was in what bag in the freezer >< had to wait until it thawed when i came home after school and then see what the hell i had managed to pick. and if i picked something i didnt know what to do with or...just couldnt/didnt know how to cook, the rest of the family would have to go without meat for dinner that day. heehee
hee sort of like those animals that had been kept preserved in ice since ice age!!!!
Originally posted by udontknowme:i dunno what your gahmen says, but all my life, i've pretty much been eating frozen meat. unless buy oredi then that night cook. otherwise it all goes into the freezer. and my mom usually buys and handles the raw meat [washing/packing it into the freezer etc...] so once she had to go overseas for a few weeks and i was 'in charge' of things. and nbz it was so hard to tell what meat was in what bag in the freezer >< had to wait until it thawed when i came home after school and then see what the hell i had managed to pick. and if i picked something i didnt know what to do with or...just couldnt/didnt know how to cook, the rest of the family would have to go without meat for dinner that day. heehee
actually if your mum buys it raw then freeze, then it is not really 'frozen' meat.. but chilled meat that had been re-frozen.. and currently AVA encouraging us to eat meat that had been frozen ASAP after slaughter.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
actually if your mum buys it raw then freeze, then it is not really 'frozen' meat.. but chilled meat that had been re-frozen.. and currently AVA encouraging us to eat meat that had been frozen ASAP after slaughter.
and to me, it's actually fresher than chilled meat..